Thumbtack "work life balance" Reviews | Glassdoor

Thumbtack Employee Reviews about "work life balance"

Updated Feb 5, 2020

To filter reviews, or .

4.6
97%
Recommend to a Friend
99%
Approve of CEO
Thumbtack CEO Marco Zappacosta
Marco Zappacosta
230 Ratings
Pros
  • "Excellent vacation time with good work-life balance(in 29 reviews)

  • "The culinary team is amazing (3 homemade meals a day, can't beat it(in 21 reviews)

Cons
  • "There are little to no significant cons to working here, other than growing pains are causing parking to become an issue(in 25 reviews)

  • "They don't offer any 401K matching(in 17 reviews)

More Pros and Cons

Reviews about "work life balance"

Return to all Reviews
  1. "Best place I've ever worked for"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Product Analyst in San Francisco, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Thumbtack full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Culture, Career Opportunities/ Professional Development, Autonomy, Work-Life Balance. Plus they serve 3 meals a day! Amazing culinary staff and great food. You can really adjust your work hours to match the personal lifestyle that best suits your needs.

    Cons

    Could be more diverse, not as many URMs as other companies.

    Thumbtack2020-02-05

    Thumbtack Response

    February 6, 2020Social Media Support Manager

    What a great list of pros! These are some great call-outs about our company and its culture. We're lucky to have employees like you, and we're grateful for your honest feedback about the diversity, This is something we'll always be working at, and we appreciate you pointing it out and keeping it in mind. :)

    Continue reading
  2. "Wonderful people!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in San Francisco, CA
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Thumbtack full-time

    Pros

    - Authentic CEO who knows how to take care of people and also make tough business decisions (not one of the bombastic sociopaths you typically find in that role) - Best culinary team in the Bay Area tech scene - Almost all coworkers are nice to work with and worthy of making personal connections with - Excellent work-life balance. You can make time for life outside work and take generous time off to recharge, travel etc - Great office location in SF

    Cons

    - Frequent major product changes on professionals side make it confusing for both customers and employees - Slower revenue growth than desired - Rank-and-file need more confidence on path to long term success - Good but not magical product; low brand awareness

    Continue reading
    Thumbtack2019-12-01

    Thumbtack Response

    December 3, 2019Social Media Support Manager

    We really appreciate you leaving us this review! There's always room for improvement, and you gave some great feedback. We wish you the best in your future career. :)

    Continue reading
  3. "Great company and team"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Software Engineer 
    Recommends
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Thumbtack full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    - Amazing teammates - One of the best culinary teams - Plenty of opportunities for career growth - Great work-life balance

    Cons

    - Some teams are very low on headcount - The planning process is overkill. Either trim down the process or lower the frequency from every quarter to every trimester

    Continue reading
    Thumbtack2019-10-12

    Thumbtack Response

    October 22, 2019Social Media Support Manager

    We know how important a strong team is to the departments here at Thumbtack. We're working hard to grow that headcount! Thanks for keeping us accountable and working with us through this transitional time.

    Continue reading
  4. "Strong Company with a Great Culture"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Sales Team Lead in Draper, UT
    Recommends
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Thumbtack full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    - Great benefits - Culinary team that provides breakfast and lunch - Open environment that endorses interdepartmental communication - Opportunity for growth - Great team focused culture with a collaborative environment - Leaders are always looking out for their team members and doing all they can to make sure the individual finds success in the company - No "sales bro" environment , everyone works as a team and looks out for one another. No one is trying to go behind another's back to get the sale. Very honest and collaborative environment - Work life balance is great; when you're home you're home

    Cons

    - Thumbtack is always evolving and bettering their product, so you have to be able to adapt to new sales processes. If you are very strong willed and aren't open to changing your routine, then this might not be the job for you

    Thumbtack2019-10-09

    Thumbtack Response

    October 21, 2019Social Media Support Manager

    "Work life balance is great; when you're home you're home". This is what we work so hard for. We want people to enjoy themselves when they come to work ... and enjoy themselves when they get to go home! Thanks for the love.

    Continue reading
  5. "Awesome Place to work at!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Account Executive in Draper, UT
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Thumbtack full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Great Food Compensation Management Work Life Balance Career Advancement

    Cons

    Only downside is that you cannot work remotely

    Thumbtack2019-10-09

    Thumbtack Response

    October 21, 2019Social Media Support Manager

    We know working remotely is something you value. However, we hope making the office space enjoyable helps your work life here!

    Continue reading
  6. "I love Thumbtack!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Account Executive 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Thumbtack full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    best benefits (health, dental vision) I have ever had with a company. They feed us delicious, internally catered, breakfast and lunch every single day. They give a good amount of pto and encourage the use of it. They encourage a healthy work/life balance.

    Cons

    They offer a 401k but no match unfortunately.

    Thumbtack2019-10-09

    Thumbtack Response

    October 21, 2019Social Media Support Manager

    Thanks for your support! It's great to read. The 401k match has been a pain point for others too, we appreciate you sharing your thoughts on it too.

    Continue reading
  7. "Great place to work."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Sales Account Executive in Draper, UT
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Thumbtack full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Culture is excellent at Thumbtack. Management truly values feedback from its employees and makes changes quickly. Nice benefits, free lunch every day, 401K vision, dental, great facility. Excellent vacation time with good work-life balance.

    Cons

    Upward mobility is a bit tough but the company is addressing it.

    Thumbtack2019-10-09

    Thumbtack Response

    October 22, 2019Social Media Support Manager

    Thanks for sticking with us through all these changes! We're excited about where Thumbtack is headed and we hope all of our employees are too. Thanks for the 5-star love :)

    Continue reading
  8. "Best Company I've Ever Worked For"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Manager in Draper, UT
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Thumbtack full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Company Values - These are actually something that is lived and emulated from the top down. Thumbtack cares not only about their customers and Pros, but also cares greatly about the happenies and work-life balance of their employees. Benefits - The benefits are amazing! Comp - For B2B sales is very competitive. Growth - The sales team is growing with lots of opportunities to add value and grow into leadership roles Culture - It is not a cutthroat sales culture. The atmosphere is very competitive but also very collaborative. Managers - Those in management positions are servant leaders and care about their people

    Cons

    Growing Pains - As the company continues to grow, finding and adopting the right tools will be crucial to maintaining an efficient productive sales teams.

    Continue reading
    Thumbtack2019-10-09

    Thumbtack Response

    October 22, 2019Social Media Support Manager

    We love this insight you've shared! Thanks for your thoughts on the importance of management development, we couldn't agree with you more.

    Continue reading
  9. "Great Place to Be"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Strategic Account Executive in Salt Lake City, UT
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Thumbtack full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    A good work environment that supports a work/life balance. Management is supportive and always encouraging and helping you grow at the company. They have great benefits and leave you with the feeling that they really care about their employees.

    Cons

    Lots of growing pains. The company is growing fast so be ready to always be ready to adjust.

    Thumbtack2019-10-09

    Thumbtack Response

    October 10, 2019Social Media Support Manager

    Thank you for these wonderful words about your Thumbtack experience. We know changes aren't always easy but we hope we can help each other through any growing pains to continue to build a great platform!

    Continue reading
  10. "Great place to be"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Manager in San Francisco, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Thumbtack full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    - Passionate, collaborative, intelligent teammates! - Amazing food - Excellent work/life balance

    Cons

    None yet, I've had a great experience here!

    Thumbtack2019-07-22

    Thumbtack Response

    July 24, 2019Social Media Support Manager

    Yay! We love to see that your time with us has been wonderful.

    Continue reading

Choose a different language and keep reading other reviews.

Found 33 reviews