TicketCity Reviews

Updated Apr 13, 2021

To filter reviews, or .
4.2
85%
Recommend to a Friend
100%
Approve of CEO
TicketCity CEO Randy Cohen
Randy Cohen
12 Ratings
  1. 5.0
    Former Employee, more than 5 years

    Great people and passion

    Mar 5, 2021 - Director of Engineering in Austin, TX
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Ability to contribute and help build amazing customer products.

    Cons

    Benefits could be improved, specifically with PTO and health insurance.

    Be the first to find this review helpful

    TicketCity Response

    President

    Thank you for those contributions to our products. Noted on the benefits, that's always something we are pushing to make even better for our great team.

  2. 4.0
    Former Employee, more than 5 years

    Fantastic Experience, Limited Upside

    Apr 13, 2021 - Director of Strategy in Austin, TX
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    It is a fantastic experience to learn about a unique and challenging industry with a great opportunity to gain general business acumen do's/don'ts. Also, the culture is great for sports lovers.

    Cons

    Limited upward mobility due to top-heavy hierarchy. Within that hierarchy was a strong sense of complacency with a limited desire to push boundaries. I would only want to work under certain individuals within the organization, other managers provide little growth opportunity.

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful

    TicketCity Response

    President

    Great advice, thank you for sharing.

  3. 4.0
    Former Employee, more than 10 years

    Laid Back Work Environment

    Jan 16, 2021 - Purchasing Associate in Austin, TX
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Laid back, fun work environment, understanding of work/life balance, snacks during busy times, ability to go and work popular events, company credit to go to popular events, 401k with company match, compounding PTO, several healthcare plans - one of which company pays for in total

    Cons

    During the "busy season" we worked long hours sometimes for months in order to get all the inventory out; A lot of the longtime employees don't do work and managers don't seem to notice or care, leaving other people to do their jobs; Some event teams are never opened up to different employees

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful
  4. 5.0
    Former Employee, more than 1 year

    A rare company, where teammates feel like family

    Dec 5, 2018 - Anonymous Employee in Austin, TX
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    - I didn't know work environments could be so supportive until working with TicketCity. Culture is everything there, and through their years of business you can tell they've perfected finding the right people to join the team. - Everyone feels genuinely invested in seeing the company succeed. You feel ownership over your role, over your team's success, as well as rooting for everyone else to succeed. It makes for a very positive and responsive atmosphere. - I was regularly encouraged to collaborate with other teams to create ideas and find new solutions - Great benefits and perks - You get to talk sports and entertainment all day long!

    Cons

    - During busy seasons (think football, etc.) the days can get pretty long for some teams. Management is great with bringing in food and treats to keep people fed and happy. - The secondary ticket industry is a unique space to work. It's dynamic, where things can change rapidly without much (if any) warning. You and your team have to quickly adapt to keep ahead of the challenges. If you can understand the industry's nature and remain flexible, you'll do great.

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful

    TicketCity Response

    Manager of Talent

    Thank you for the feedback. It's always been our goal to make sure that everyone at TicketCity has a voice in the company. We will continue to try to find ways to make sure everyone feels comfortable sharing their thoughts.

  5. 5.0
    Current Employee, less than 1 year

    Great coworkers, fun company, amazing perks!

    Sep 11, 2014 - Anonymous Employee in Austin, TX
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    -I have never worked at a company with a better work environment. Everyone truly wants the company to succeed and works very hard to make this happen. I really appreciate how friendly and helpful each team member has been to be personally, but I always see people going out of their way to support and encourage fellow employees. -The leadership team is extremely open to new ideas which makes even new employees feel valued. -The benefits package is great! -Casual and fun work environment -In my job, I am able to participate in many areas of the company, which gives it a start up vibe, but because TicketCity is an established company, I don't need to worry about the business failing!

    Cons

    -There are some times of the year that are much busier than others and some departments tend to work longer hours to compensate. The management, however, buys food for those of us working extra or brings in lunch for the entire company. They also keep a bunch of awesome snacks in the kitchen and have other fun events, like ice cream socials, sno-cone trucks and happy hours, which are great ways to reward all of our hard work! -I wish the office itself showed the fun spirit of the company; we don't need slides or treehouses like some companies have, but I wish we could transition from a more cubicle-based office to an open and upbeat environment that made collaboration and creativity more of a priority.

    Continue reading
    1 person found this review helpful
  6. 4.0
    Former Employee, more than 3 years

    Fun Company to work for

    Apr 29, 2019 - Purchasing Associate in Austin, TX
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Lots of friendly people, office perks, games, food, and great location.

    Cons

    Hard to move "up". Upper management has been there a long time and doesn't seem to be going anywhere anytime soon.

    Be the first to find this review helpful

    TicketCity Response

    President

    Thanks for the feedback. Having fun is one our core values, so we make it part of our everyday culture. We do have a very tenured leadership team, but we also have some really talented people who have been here only a few years. Both are making a big impact on our business, and we're at our best when we are acting on ideas from everyone at TicketCity.

  7. 5.0
    Current Employee, more than 3 years

    It's all about the people; work doesn't feel like work when you are surrounded by great people!

    Jul 10, 2013 - Anonymous Employee in Austin, TX
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    -TicketCity really emphasizes culture and it shows in every aspect of the business. -I get to play a role in different areas of the company and the management really encourages everyone to speak up and share their opinions. -TicketCity is a very transparent company; the management team is very open about how the business is performing. -Great benefits; everything from free health insurance to free tickets!

    Cons

    -Very seasonal business which lends to very long days during busy times -It's a smaller company so there's no obvious path to advancement, you have to figure out on your own how to advance -Also because it's a smaller company people tend to wear several different hats. I actually enjoy that kind of environment but there are others who prefer a more defined role.

    Continue reading
    2 people found this review helpful
  8. 5.0
    Current Employee, less than 1 year

    Ticket City is a great place to work

    Feb 3, 2012 -  in Austin, TX
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    1) Fun job 2) Nice, smart co-workers 3) Everyone is loyal to company 4) Relaxed atmosphere 5) Casual dress code 5) Fun parties 6) Free tickets to events 7) Good benefits 8) Opportunities to travel 9) Company meetings let everyone speak 10) Profitable & successful business

    Cons

    - Very fast paced and a lot is expected of each person. Not the place to work if you can't juggle ten things at once. - Flat org chart - you have to make your own opportunities. - Some of the technology is dated.

    Continue reading
    4 people found this review helpful
  9. 5.0
    Former Employee, more than 1 year

    Client Relations/Client Order and Supply Specialist

    May 12, 2016 - Client Orders and Supply Specialist in Austin, TX
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    TicketCity has an amazing culture and genuinely cares about their employees. With over 26 years in the industry, it is an excellent environment in which to grow both professionally and personally, and I found it pretty easy to get along with just about everyone there. If you are willing to work hard, it will not go unnoticed, and you will be adequately compensated. One of the most rewarding aspects of working at TicketCity for me was helping people create memories that will last a lifetime, whether it was a mom taking her daughter to see Taylor Swift for her birthday or a dad taking his kids to their first baseball game. Also, keeping up with what is going on in the entertainment industry, whether you are into sports, concerts, comedy or theater, is not a bad perk either!

    Cons

    These are more inherent of the ticketing industry as a whole, however... Since there are always events going on and they are open 7 days a week, the scheduling can be pretty demanding, but as the company continues to grow that becomes less of an issue as the schedule can be more easily balanced with more employees. During the busy season, particularly bowl season, it can get stressful, but with adequate breaks and nourishment, it is manageable so don't forget to take care of yourself. After all, every day is a new day.

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful

    TicketCity Response

    Talent Acquisition Specialist

    Thank you for your honest review regarding working at TicketCity! We think TC is a great place to grow as well - We truly believe hard working employees should be recognized for their service. This is why we promote from within whenever we can! Almost our entire management team has been with the company since its inception and that is a testament to how important dedication and loyalty is to our company. As our industry is heavily influenced by major events (like football, March Madness, the Masters, the Kentucky Derby, US Open Tennis, etc), some times of year are busier than others which is why we reward our team with catered lunches, free snacks and fun surprises like Beer Friday/ice cream socials/wine and cheese parties/fun competitions/chair massages. Our monthly all hands meeting (TicketCity Hall Meeting) is one of our favorite times of the month as a company because it allows us all to catch up on what each department has been working on and every employee gets to shout out a fellow coworker on something great they have done in the past month. Our culture of appreciation is extremely important to us and we are so glad you enjoyed it during your time here. Best of luck in your new adventure! -Warm wishes, Caitlin Sullivan Talent Acquisition Specialist

  10. 5.0
    Current Employee, more than 10 years

    TicketCity's commitment to a positive work culture and it's steady growth make it an easy career choice.

    Jun 17, 2013 - Senior Management in Austin, TX
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    -Job involves tickets to the coolest events in the world -Company has 23 consecutive years of growth -TicketCity invests in it's employees development and has a very low turnover rate -Benefits package includes health coverage, event ticket allowance, retirement matching, maternity and paternity leave. -Family atmosphere -Fast paced, fun work environment

    Cons

    -Fast paced nature of the industry lends itself to stress

    Continue reading
    1 person found this review helpful
Viewing 1 - 10 of 16 Reviews

Work at TicketCity? Share Your Experiences

TicketCity logo
or