Tidewater Marketing Group Reviews | Glassdoor

Tidewater Marketing Group Reviews

Updated Sep 29, 2017

To filter reviews, or .

Found 19 reviews

3.8
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
76%
Recommend to a Friend
100%
Approve of CEO
Tidewater Marketing Group CEO Xavier Gomez (no image)
Xavier Gomez
1 Ratings
  1. "Life at Tidewater"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Account Manager in Virginia Beach, VA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Tidewater Marketing Group full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    I love working at Tidewater Marketing. Although I haven't been here for too long, I already have a great support system. The management and trainers care about the employees a great deal and show it through how much time and energy they have invested in us. I have already grown so much in my short time here by being promoted to account manager! I cannot wait to begin training others so that I can carry on everything... I have learned.

    Show More

    Cons

    Although the work here is fun, it is still work. If you have a poor attitude or don't enjoy talking to people this is not the position for you.

    Advice to Management

    Continue to invest in your new employees. It has made me feel welcome and confident in the position because of your dedication. Thank you!

    Tidewater Marketing Group2017-04-13
  2. "Not Great"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I worked at Tidewater Marketing Group full-time

    Pros

    Compensation commensurate with your effort.

    Cons

    Not at all as advertised.

    Advice to Management

    Transparency

    Tidewater Marketing Group2017-09-29
  3. "Great environment and fun to work at!!!!!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Team Leader 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I worked at Tidewater Marketing Group full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Best place I have ever worked !!

    Cons

    Work a lot but it's worth putting in the work in.

    Tidewater Marketing Group2016-07-18
  4. Helpful (1)

    "Horrible place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
     

    I worked at Tidewater Marketing Group

    Pros

    Hourly and commission you get lots of hours

    Cons

    Not a stable job, you don't meet sales they will fire you without question expect every customer to say no nobody is coming in the store to buy cable , direct Tv.

    Tidewater Marketing Group2016-06-13

    Tidewater Marketing Group Response

    July 15, 2016HR Manager

    We are sorry you did not have a great experience with us, unfortunately we must be able to meet the clients standards. We set these standards so we can assure success further down the management training program. Best of luck in your endeavors.

  5. Helpful (3)

    "Okay job if you can handle sales"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Sales Representative in Virginia Beach, VA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook

    I worked at Tidewater Marketing Group for less than a year

    Pros

    Morning trainings with other sales team to boost moral and help you sell more always helped you feel confident before going out to your location, you always meet new people due to the constant change in employees

    Cons

    You do not get paid until your third week working, and you will be suspended from work if you do not make a sale within that week, sometimes you will be asked to drive far with little to no mileage compensation

    Advice to Management

    When entering the interview allow candidates to fully know what they will be doing and that they will not receive their first check until 3 weeks however those that do move on to management it's great for them

    Tidewater Marketing Group2016-06-15

    Tidewater Marketing Group Response

    July 15, 2016HR Manager

    Just like with many other businesses clocking hours worked is a process and we pay all employees for their work.

  6. Helpful (2)

    "I came here with nothing but a dream"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Account Manager in Virginia Beach, VA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Tidewater Marketing Group full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    I came here as a former college dropout, I had no idea what I wanted to do with my life. I can honestly say the staff took me under their wing and taught me everything I needed to know even though I had 0 sales experience. I am now the top sales person here for the 5th week in a row, making close to 60k a year. I do work hard and there are no handouts but I can honestly say it's all worth it and I have grown... tremendously as a person.

    Show More

    Cons

    Its hard work, it takes commitment but get over it!

    Advice to Management

    Offer benefits not only to management.

    Tidewater Marketing Group2016-04-04
  7. Helpful (3)

    "This company is so motivating and inspiring to work for!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Team Leader and Account Manager in Virginia Beach, VA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Tidewater Marketing Group full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    The best reasons to work here are because Xavier is an awesome and motivating owner, coworkers are super high energy, and the product we are marketing for is an awesome product!

    Cons

    A few cons of working here are convincing clients that they need this product and motivating new hires of the opportunity that is before them.

    Advice to Management

    Keep up what you're doing!

    Tidewater Marketing Group2016-02-23
  8. Helpful (3)

    "Great Experience"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    Current Employee - Entry Level Marketing Representative in Virginia Beach, VA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Tidewater Marketing Group full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Great pay, lots of promotion opportunities, and a very exciting environment with positive people.

    Cons

    You have to work 6 days a week with the only day off being wednesday and everyday that you work you have to go to the office first for a sales pep talk than from there you go to whatever store you are in for that week (ALOT of traveling and gas).

    Tidewater Marketing Group2015-12-31
  9. Helpful (2)

    "TideWaterMarketing"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Virginia Beach, VA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Tidewater Marketing Group full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    This isn't a job, it's a Management Training Program that awards those who are dedicated. While trained in sales and in-store marketing, you're earning with with no commissions cap.

    Cons

    You have to keep in mind this Training Program has the potential to change, not just yours but your family's, standard of living. The hours are demanding if you live with immediate family.

    Tidewater Marketing Group2015-10-30
  10. "great work place!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales Representative in Virginia Beach, VA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Tidewater Marketing Group full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    everyone has a great sense of humor and always positive

    Cons

    its overall a great work place and everyone is always overexcited

    Tidewater Marketing Group2015-10-26
Found 19 reviews