Tidewater Reviews | Glassdoor

Tidewater Reviews

Updated Oct 9, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

3.4
54%
Recommend to a Friend
72%
Approve of CEO
Tidewater CEO Jeff Platt
Jeff Platt
10 Ratings
  1. "Good Company to work for"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    OSV Chief Engineer in Morgan City, LA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Tidewater

    Pros

    Once you can gain employment, you control your own destiny and the sky is the limited. without any marine background you will start at the bottom, but you have wonderful advantages of moving up to either a chief engineer, or a vessel captain. I started as a wiper and within 4 years I made chief. the further you advance, the more money you earn. I started out making $100.00/day, and when I left twelve years later, I... was making $600.00/day. Hard work, great pay.

    Show More

    Cons

    You must be willing to work a 28 day on duty, 14 day off schedule. Lots of heavy lifting, working in the gulf of mexico on a supply vessel servicing oil rigs. Real hard work, but the benefits are second to none.

    Advice to Management

    Great management.

    Tidewater2015-11-25
  2. "Mate/DPO"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I have been working at Tidewater full-time

    Pros

    A lot of experienced and good people. Boats are fairly new. Opportunities to see the world.

    Cons

    Low pay, no 401k match, and you pay for your own flights to NOLA.

    Advice to Management

    More pay, bring back 401k matching, and up the travel subsidy.

    Tidewater2019-01-12
  3. "Collections"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Collector in Hendersonville, TN
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Tidewater part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Good Benefits, 40lk, Medial and Dental

    Cons

    Employees always complaining on the floor, seem very unhappy

    Advice to Management

    Need better moral on the floor

    Tidewater2018-02-06
  4. "Blah"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Debt Collector in Henderson, NV
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Tidewater full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Nice co-workers and very small operation

    Cons

    Dead End job, they promote outside the company

    Tidewater2017-03-05
  5. "Pilot tech"

    StarStarStarStarStar
     

    I worked at Tidewater

    Pros

    Great opportunities and room for improvement

    Cons

    Travel plans could be set up better

    Tidewater2017-01-17
  6. "Tidewater difficult times to stick to outdated core principles"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Regulatory Engineer in New Orleans, LA
    Recommends
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Tidewater full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Worldwide market leader, excellent managers, strong traditions

    Cons

    Poor financial planning with a lack of contingency options

    Advice to Management

    Retain focus on marine operations

    Tidewater2017-01-24
  7. Helpful (1)

    "OSV Engineer"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Second ENGINEER in Port Fourchon, LA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook

    I have been working at Tidewater full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Good Pay for the most part.

    Cons

    Horrible shoreside support personnel. Total lack of professionalism and courtesy in the workplace.

    Advice to Management

    Needs new management.

    Tidewater2016-10-25
  8. "Typical Boat Company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Freeport, ME
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook

    I have been working at Tidewater full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Laid back atmosphere depending on what boat you are on. Office personnel are pretty good with working with you schedule wise.

    Cons

    They are on the verge of bankruptcy. Very limited communication as far as what the plans are for the boats.

    Advice to Management

    More transparency in the communication of what the plans are for the boats. It's always a guessing game as to what is going to happen next.

    Tidewater2016-09-17
  9. "Good company, but small at the time I was there."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in San Antonio, TX
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Tidewater full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Excellent leadership, good team committed to everyone's success.

    Cons

    Loss of a major contract led to layoffs, as a result of insufficient backlog.

    Tidewater2016-04-05
  10. "Tidewater in Egypt"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    New Jersey in Old Bridge, NJ
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Tidewater

    Pros

    Have a lot of people working their on the vessels for almost 40 years, no turnovers.

    Cons

    need more arrangements in management

    Tidewater2015-06-17
Found 25 reviews