Tier 1 Event Management Reviews | Glassdoor

Tier 1 Event Management Reviews

Updated Jun 20, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 22 reviews

3.6
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
62%
Recommend to a Friend
  1. "Great Opportunity for Growth"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Campaign Manager in Sacramento, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I worked at Tier 1 Event Management full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    energetic and positive work environment, great team culture. you learn a lot.

    Cons

    work life balance. be prepared to sacrifice you weekends.

    Tier 1 Event Management2019-06-20
  2. "A bit misleading"

    StarStarStarStarStar
     

    I worked at Tier 1 Event Management

    Pros

    Has a career path clearly laid out for you, great potential to earn lots of money. Quick advancement opportunities for the right person.

    Cons

    Schedule comes out a day before the work week. Plan to have little to no life during the first two months. (Not sure how it works beyond this) This is a sales job, they will require very strenuous morning meetings where you have to memorize sales pitches verbatim. This is something that wasn’t disclosed to me and was additional studying i was required to do outside the job that i wasn’t payed for. Make sure you are... memorizing EVERYTHING because you are required to write these down on a white board in front of your peers. If you like high pressure sales, this job is for you! I just couldn’t hang.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Be transparent about the scheduling. I was told we needed flexibility, but had no idea that the schedule came out on Sunday when the week starts Monday. Explain the morning meetings and training processes. Let people know they will need to spend several hours a week studying to get pitches exactly right. I think you could weed out people who aren’t dedicated before hey accept this job.

    Tier 1 Event Management2019-04-11
  3. Helpful (3)

    "Its a scam through and through!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     

    I worked at Tier 1 Event Management

    Pros

    you can talk to people

    Cons

    you are basically selling products at sams club or costco. if you have ever been to a trade show and you see people holding products in their hands and demonstrating how to use it and then trying to sell it to you...thats basically what you will be doing

    Advice to Management

    just stop scamming young, innocent college students, this is no internship, this is even worst than pryamid schemes

    Tier 1 Event Management2019-02-12

    Tier 1 Event Management Response

    February 20, 2019President

    Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We appreciate the feedback and we would like to address some of your claims. Everything that we do here at Tier 1 is discussed prior to hiring any interviewee. We offer a seasonal internship which is designed to help college students ...

    Show More
  4. Helpful (1)

    "A Good Chance for Development and Career, But Hard Work/Life Balance"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Brand Ambassador in Sacramento, CA
    Doesn't Recommend

    I have been working at Tier 1 Event Management full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Leadership wants to help you develop and improve. Opportunities to make good money.

    Cons

    Lots of driving and long hours make it hard to keep a work life balance. Even on my days off, I still had to prepare for next show, make calls, and send emails, which means it's hard to completely turn off and enjoy your days off.

    Advice to Management

    Work with employees to help them figure out a good balance. This kind of work requires a person to invest a lot of themselves into promoting/selling products and services. This can lead to burnout and people not feeling like it's worth the work they're putting in.

    Tier 1 Event Management2018-12-20

    Tier 1 Event Management Response

    December 28, 2018President

    We are very happy that you enjoyed your time at Tier 1. We work very hard to provide leadership training that fosters growth within our company. We also agree that our growth incentives and compensation plans allow people to move up in our company and do very well for themselves. ...

    Show More
  5. Helpful (6)

    "All Smoke And Mirrors - Don't Waste Your Time"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - PR Assistant in Sacramento, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook

    I worked at Tier 1 Event Management full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    If you like having no social life, no money, and no long term career opportunities this is the place for you!

    Cons

    Work 6-7 days a week for 8-12 hours every week. Are paid minimum wage unless you are able to sell enough hair irons or pillows in Sam's Club or Costco to meet the requirement for earning commissions on your sales Applied for a PR Assistant job and they had me standing in Sam's club trying to sell flat irons No benefits offered at any time (even if you do somehow get to management) They tell their employees to... post positive reviews to combat the negative ones (in case you were wondering why there are so many good reviews) They say promoted to Account Manager in 6-8 months, but have only ever promoted one manager and it took over 2 years Have to hire your own "team" of people in order to get promoted

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Stop lying to people

    Tier 1 Event Management2018-11-20

    Tier 1 Event Management Response

    November 26, 2018President

    We're very sorry to hear that you found no pros to working with Tier 1 Management. However, there are a few items we'd like to address. We offer a variety of compensation plans vary on experience and skills, all compensation is discussed prior to joining our team. Tier 1 Management ...

    Show More
  6. Helpful (2)

    "Assistant Manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Director of Marketing in Sacramento, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Tier 1 Event Management full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    The thing I love the most is the growth within the company, within less than a year I was able to get promoted into more of a director role. The leadership within the office is so supportive and the culture is very upbeat team based and because of that I have become the person I am today.

    Cons

    Its face paced so being able to time manage personal and professional but with the proper support I was able to overcome that challenge.

    Tier 1 Event Management2018-08-06
  7. Helpful (2)

    "HR Administrator/ Recruiter"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Human Resources Administrator in Sacramento, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Tier 1 Event Management full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Tier1 is GREAT! Very motivational to all new hires, outgoing, team oriented and make the office a fun environment for all employees. The best part is they are always looking to promote within the company first!

    Cons

    Have not come across any cons yet, been here for a couple months now and it is honestly the best company I have ever worked for thus far.

    Tier 1 Event Management2018-06-29
  8. Helpful (2)

    "Campaign Manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Campaign Manager in Sacramento, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Tier 1 Event Management full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    So much opportunity for growth, if you don't push yourself you wont go anywhere. This place has changed me for the better, you learn so many skillsets that you can apply to this industry and others. I have gotten to travel all over the United States and learn so much I would never change it.

    Cons

    You have to study alot.

    Advice to Management

    None your flawless!

    Tier 1 Event Management2018-05-30
  9. Helpful (5)

    "Marketing manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Tier 1 Event Management full-time

    Pros

    I've worked at this company for a while. It's super professional and shaped me into the best person I could ever be. I've had the opportunity to travel, go to conference's, and built great business relationships that I'll carry on beyond my work years. There's so much growth and opportunity available for those who want to work hard and hit their personal and professional goals. Hard work pays off. It's not... designed for people who just want a job or to skate by with a bare minimum work ethic or a bad attitude. It's for people who want to take control of their career a build something outta their lifestyle and future

    Show More

    Cons

    I will preempt- if you're just looking for a basic job where you have to do minimal work this is the opposite! Do not apply if you are not passionate about growing, putting in the work to reep the rewards, lead others by being the example, and striving to be the best person you are for yourself and your crew!

    Advice to Management

    If you're not early you're late. Study. Ask for help. Be different

    Tier 1 Event Management2017-12-24
  10. Helpful (17)

    "Scam"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Tier 1 Event Management

    Pros

    None. It's a sales job where you have to push products onto people that stop at your booth.

    Cons

    It's selling knifes and such at Costco and Sam's club.

    Tier 1 Event Management2017-06-24

    Tier 1 Event Management Response

    December 11, 2018President

    We are very sorry that you had a negative experience at our company. We pride ourselves on having a dedicated training program that gives real-world business experience to individuals who otherwise would not have been given the opportunity. It is because of this that many of our team ...

    Show More
Found 22 reviews