Tiger Oak Publications Reviews | Glassdoor

Tiger Oak Publications Reviews

Updated Nov 27, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

2.8
52%
Recommend to a Friend
43%
Approve of CEO
Tiger Oak Publications Owner Craig Bednar (no image)
Craig Bednar
21 Ratings
  1. Helpful (2)

    "Advertising"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     in Minneapolis, MN
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Tiger Oak Publications

    Pros

    Great company with a great way to show you're true strengths and skill set. Making you're own schedule is one of the perks, and being in control of you're own destiny - I have a great team that I love working with.

    Cons

    You have to be a self motivator in order to succeed here.

    Tiger Oak Publications2016-04-20
  2. "A new beginning"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Minneapolis, MN
    Recommends

    I have been working at Tiger Oak Publications full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    The owner has always allowed and trusted his managers to work and execute their positions at the highest level. Unfortunately, not all managers have deserved such freedom and have not performed adequately therefore turnover has been high.

    Cons

    Some negative employees who need to get behind the solution or leave

    Advice to Management

    Hold all employees to a high performance standard. Employees should be proactive as this company has an opportunity now to evolve into a great place to work.

    Tiger Oak Publications2019-11-27
  3. Helpful (3)

    "More Cons Than Pros"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Tiger Oak Publications full-time

    Pros

    •dog friendly •casual atmosphere (jeans every day is acceptable) •flexibility to work from home •creative freedom •full kitchen •not necessarily a 9-5 (some people prefer 7-3, 10-6, etc) •incredible, talented people •potlucks, company outings, bonding opportunities •beautiful magazines that are loved by community members

    Cons

    •parking costs are not covered •401K plan has no match •if starting entry level, no real stepping stones (you’re high or low on the ladder, there isn’t much in-between) •high turnover •financial struggles/insecurity (several instances of late paychecks, currently trying to climb out of bankruptcy) •investments have the wrong focus (lots of $$ is spent on employee travel but none is invested in our own... advertising. the publishing industry has become increasingly digital and we hardly invest any resources in that space) •moral/ethical dilemmas arise (example: you have to enforce that others must prepay and we will not work until we get money, yet we have been late on payments or have not paid at all in many instances) •many vendor relationships soured over lack of payment •huge gap between the Minneapolis and Seattle offices - different processes, foci, culture, and time zones •heavy gossip/rumor environment. new ideas will get you some support accompanied by lots of backlash •lack of communication from upper management until something is trivial •pay is much higher elsewhere for the same type of work •when someone leaves, you have to take over bits and pieces of their job - a replacement may or may not be hired •VERY low PTO your first two years •no adequate training - with 80-90% turnover this last year, it was impossible for everything to be passed on to the newbies, leaving gaps in important job duties & processes •each department has different goals, which is often divisive rather than creating a better overall product in the end

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    •Hire an Internal Communications Coordinator. Allow them to communicate things - big and small - so that employees know what is going on. Use this to bridge the gap between upper management and the rest of the company. A feedback loop could easily be created where management is aware of employee successes and struggles without it coming at a cost due to the middleman. •Invest in digital. When we look at companies... in our industry that have successfully emerged from Chapter 11 bankruptcy, it is because once they got right with creditors, every future financial decision was strategic. Create a 3, 5, and 10 year plan for the company. Have positions focus completely on the digital aspect of our magazines. Such beautiful products are not being properly pushed, promoted, and talked about overall. •Set processes in both offices so that there are clear expectations in terms of deadlines, events, brand standards, quarterly goals, etc. •Reassess the benefits and tweak them to actually benefit employees. 10 PTO days including vacation time, sick time, mental health days, and unforeseen events is just not enough.

    Show More
    Tiger Oak Publications2019-11-06
  4. Helpful (4)

    "Failing company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Advertising Sales 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Tiger Oak Publications full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Flexible hours for sales, and that’s it.

    Cons

    Upper management lacks in any type of communication and does not care about or respect employees, which after the 2 years invested I learned my lesson things will not change and to move myself forward.

    Advice to Management

    respond to your employers and pay them if you want to keep them

    Tiger Oak Publications2019-10-10
  5. Helpful (12)

    "Lots of Cons"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Tiger Oak Publications full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Some flexibility in work schedule

    Cons

    Tiger Oak Media is the worst place I’ve ever worked. Turnover is very high, especially in leadership, and most who stay wish they could afford to leave. They pay freelancers and vendors anywhere from 6 months to TWO YEARS late, they have been late making payroll more than 5 times in the past year, and often force employees to incur business expenses without reimbursing within a reasonable amount of time – in some... cases up to four months, which if put on a credit card, as you can imagine, can rack up quite a bit of interest (which of course is not paid back). In addition to all this, the accounting department rarely responds to employees regarding payment and almost never will they respond to freelancer/vendor inquiries, leaving other employees to bear the brunt of the nasty calls and emails demanding payment. Sometimes employees would even get letters from lawyers threatening a trip to small claims court or a full-on lawsuit, which, when passed along to the CEO, was replied to with a “Don’t worry about it, they won’t actually do anything.” Aside from finances, the company’s general office morale is terrible. Two C-suite leaders left without any notice. A 20-year company veteran was let go with one day to pack up and leave. Employees are often pitted against each other and encouraged to threaten each other or throw each other under the bus to save their own skin. Lastly, the CEO of the company is one of the greediest men I’ve ever had the displeasure of working for and has shown in many clear ways how little he cares about his employees. People who have some amazing qualifications and have made great strides for the company are passed over for promotions and raises, while attractive, young women sucking up to him have been promoted after presenting one idea that still, four months later, has not produced any actual profit. He has yelled in the office, slammed his fist on desks, and I have seen him literally throw trash on the ground for other people to pick up. Whenever an employee makes even a slight nod to low office morale/ways the company could improve, he says “Then why don’t you just leave?” Anyone getting some he-who-must-not-be-named orange Leader of the Free World vibes? I’ve looked through some of the Glassdoor reviews before and love his defensive remarks back to people, especially the line: “You can't stay in business that long by being rude, mean or unfair to people.” Well, you shouldn’t be able to stay in business paying people a year late and being millions of dollars in debt either, yet here we are. And these problems are all in addition to normal everyday office nonsense, i.e. employees are overworked and underpaid, costs are cut at the expense of the employees, horrible medical insurance, constant gossip, etc. I honestly would not recommend this company to anyone, even my enemies. Thoughts and prayers to the people still stuck there.

    Show More
    Tiger Oak Publications2019-08-26
  6. Helpful (6)

    "run for the hills"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Advertising in Seattle, WA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Tiger Oak Publications full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    there is some work flexibility

    Cons

    20 people have left in one year alone.. This is very verifiable! Pay checks are late to staff, free lancers lucky to get paid at all and morale is in the toilet. Owner hired a sales person with an existing non compete, so owner keeps the name of the employee off the masthead - great ethics!

    Tiger Oak Publications2019-07-17
  7. Helpful (1)

    "Pretty good place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Tiger Oak Publications full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Flexibility to work remotely Good management team

    Cons

    Office politics can be frustrating

    Tiger Oak Publications2019-05-21
  8. Helpful (2)

    "Meh"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Production 

    I worked at Tiger Oak Publications full-time

    Pros

    co-workers make it bearable to be there

    Cons

    very disorganized - no direction

    Tiger Oak Publications2019-05-31
  9. "Relaxed Workspace"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Production Coordinator 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Tiger Oak Publications full-time

    Pros

    Work with a lot of amazing people in a cool building. Decent benefits.

    Cons

    No direct deposit, have to pay daily for parking

    Tiger Oak Publications2019-04-02
  10. Helpful (1)

    "Worked here for one year"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Editor 

    I worked at Tiger Oak Publications full-time

    Pros

    Flexibility of schedule, location, employees

    Cons

    Pay, instability of company, upper management

    Tiger Oak Publications2019-04-10
Found 33 reviews