Tigerspike Reviews | Glassdoor

Tigerspike Reviews

Updated Oct 13, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

4.5
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
91%
Recommend to a Friend
100%
Approve of CEO
Tigerspike CEO Doug Anderson (no image)
Doug Anderson
3 Ratings
Pros
  • "It's great to have colleagues worldwide to consult and learn from, and the opportunity to travel to and work for other offices is a real plus(in 18 reviews)

  • "Friday lunch where we all get together and eat(in 12 reviews)

Cons
  • "Getting people for a team can sometimes be tricky - growing pains(in 4 reviews)

  • "Pay below market rate (better benefits sort of make up for this)(in 3 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. Helpful (3)

    "Unique!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I have been working at Tigerspike full-time

    Pros

    I work at another office location, but being that it's a global company you have the opportunity to travel to other offices. And I had the opportunity to work with the Japan office. Because it's global, there is sense of familiarity, yet at the same time it's quite unique at the same time; the people, culture and space. I really enjoyed working with my coworkers there. Everyone was very professional with one... another. And you get a sense that you are cared for as an individual and not just for the work you output. I was able to learn a lot from the way our Japanese branch works and apply it back to my home branch.

    Show More

    Cons

    There were not any I could think of

    Tigerspike2019-01-23

    Tigerspike Response

    January 25, 2019CEO

    You call out some interesting points on the Tigerspike business. Thanks for the review, I really appreciate it. We have built a global business and identity, but we act local. That coupled with a genuine care factor in the business hopefully creates an environment for people to feel comfortable, thrive and learn. I’m pleased to hear this has been your experience to date. Cheers, Alex

    Show Less
  2. Helpful (1)

    "Revolving door"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Software Engineer in New York, NY
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Tigerspike full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Friday lunch. Good developers works here makes your day easy to work.

    Cons

    Extremely micro management who goes to deep into code to manage.

    Advice to Management

    Get some experienced people from New York.

    Tigerspike2019-01-17

    Tigerspike Response

    January 17, 2019CEO

    Thanks for the feedback. It saddens me that your Tigerspike America experience last year wasn't up to scratch and you felt you didn't get the right line management support. Your advice to management is spot on. It's important we look to get the right level of local experience coupled with Tigerspike best practice. This is the absolute focus for 2019. Cheers, Alex

    Show Less
  3. Create your profile to get personalized information

  4. "Global Company with Startup Spirit"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in San Francisco, CA
    Recommends
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Tigerspike full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    - It's great to have colleagues worldwide to consult and learn from, and the opportunity to travel to and work for other offices is a real plus. - You have a lot of control over your growth in the company if you seize the opportunities in front of you. - While the levels of hierarchy have increased over the years, managers and executives at all levels are very available and approachable, making it feel like a... small company.

    Show More

    Cons

    - The scrappy, can-do attitude of each office has resulted in different approaches to work that make it hard to align globally. - Goal-setting and steps for career growth aren't formalized, making the process of promotions confusing.

    Tigerspike2018-09-20

    Tigerspike Response

    September 21, 2018CEO

    Thanks so much for your positive review. Growing a business isn't easy and I'm pleased to hear you feel the team is very available and approachable, despite all the change over the years. This is important. Building a global business has its challenges. We must continue to Think Global and Act Local. We must continually look to improve our processes, way of working and provide the right structure for everyone. This is ever evolving and requires constant focus. Cheers, Alex

    Show Less
  5. "Great start to a career, not much more support after that"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Designer in New York, NY
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Tigerspike for more than 3 years

    Pros

    nice people, global offices mean lots of potential travel

    Cons

    low pay, company culture comes out of London , Singapore and Dubai - not a lot of things happening in the NYC office.

    Tigerspike2018-08-22

    Tigerspike Response

    August 26, 2018CEO

    Thanks for taking the time to provide this review. I'm happy to hear you felt Tigerspike was a great kick- start to your career. Running a global business of 11 offices provides lots of opportunity and I think we're doing a good job (and ever improving job) of encouraging the team to embrace the opportunities in other offices. Very unique for the company of our size. That said, it is a disappointing to hear you didn't feel we could support you beyond the 3 years. We continue to focus on nurturing both our people and culture through The Tigerspike Way and the Tigerspike Academy. More work to be done here. Cheers, Alex

    Show Less
  6. Helpful (1)

    "Great company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Tigerspike full-time

    Pros

    Culture is great. People are talented and friendly.

    Cons

    Management is not transparent sometimes.

    Tigerspike2017-08-10

    Tigerspike Response

    August 15, 2017CEO

    Thanks for your feedback and the heads up regarding transparency. It is important for us to be open and transparent so that we build trust with our team and our customers. We will look to improve in this area.

  7. Helpful (1)

    "Design Team"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Designer 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Tigerspike full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Culture is great. Support career development Support relocation

    Cons

    Until now, everything is great!

    Tigerspike2017-04-25

    Tigerspike Response

    May 9, 2017CEO

    Thanks for your feedback. We have really worked hard at creating a platform for career development in the business. It is nice to hear you have recognised this and people are seeing value in the Tigerspike Academy. Cheers, Alex

  8. Helpful (5)

    "A breath of fresh air!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in New York, NY
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Tigerspike full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Having worked at Tigerspike for 2 years, it has been refreshing to work with a group of people who are talented and passionate about their work, and want to work collectively as a team. You feel like you are a part of a global company as you are encouraged to build relationships with colleagues around the global offices, learning from one another. Opportunity to travel is a huge plus, along with the ability to... learn new things and constantly be challenged, in a good way.

    Show More

    Cons

    The company is still growing, so at times the work can be a bit overloaded.

    Advice to Management

    Continue to support the team to make sure everyone understands the company goals and how they can play a part in the company’s continued success.

    Tigerspike2017-03-07

    Tigerspike Response

    March 7, 2017CEO

    Great to get your feedback. I'm glad to hear you are enjoying the team environment. The advice to management is a good one. We must continue to share our business goals so that everyone is clear on how they can contribute. Cheers, Alex

  9. Helpful (4)

    "Amazing Growth Opportunities"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - XD Designer in New York, NY
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Tigerspike full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    This company provides awesome opportunities for its employees such as traveling to other offices in different countries and providing stipends for professional/ personal development. In addition, the company believes in fostering experts in the industry. It wants the employees to not only be i.e. XD designers but XD designers that specialized in i.e. interactions or information architect. If an employee is more... senior and wants to venture into writing or teaching opportunities, then the company will work with her to accomplish that goal. Overall, Tigerspike values prosperity in its employees, which reflects in the success with clients and the company's fast paced growth.

    Show More

    Cons

    • no on-boarding • work can be hectic at times

    Tigerspike2017-03-09

    Tigerspike Response

    May 1, 2017CEO

    I'm very proud that we have been able to encourage many of the Tigerspike Team to work in different offices around the globe. Over 10% of the team have actually moved to another office in their time at Tigerspike. I'm one. Moving from Tigerspike Sydney to Tigerspike Singapore last year. Thanks for your feedback.

    Show Less
  10. Helpful (13)

    "Toxic & Messy, Don't Bother (No Money/No Clients)"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Tigerspike full-time

    Pros

    - Slightly above average health insurance and vacation time - Global offices - Weekly company status meetings - Weekly lunches - Attempts at regular weekly team communications - Pseudo-start up environment

    Cons

    - Archaic and inefficient systems and processes; company has supposedly been around for more than 13 years and still lacking basic business operations and policies. Growing pains? Nice try. - No real on-boarding and no one answers questions - No training or exposure on products they've developed in-house and actively sell to clients - Not as many clients or projects as they claim to have or pointless low-rent... projects - Dirty, mismanaged office space, kitchen and bathrooms always a sticky, smelly, and a disgusting mess. No coffee, no ice and drinking water is often broken or out of order and temperature is constantly an issue. Internet goes out often. You might as well be camping. - Dated scratch-and-dent sale equipment or generally stingy about the basic needs of any creative as some bring their own personal supplies to do work. - Everything is designed by committee with people who are not on the team, don’t have the skill, and all trying to serve the same role, this is NOT collaboration, not even close. - They will throw you in the deep end with a project then interfere and unnecessarily complicate with misdirection, miscommunication, and actively pitting people against each other. You will be blamed for their gross mismanagement (see previous reviewer's comment of throwing people under the bus) - None of the projects are ever scoped correctly, they bow to every unreasonable client whim even if its out of scope (read: desperate) - Lack of accountability; ’not being in the weeds’ is code for you have no idea what is going on on any level, nor do you care - When you speak with recruiters who ask about your experiences and mention your company has been blacklisted for not paying their bills (hundreds of thousands of dollars). Pay very close attention to when they owe you money. **The People: Typically the one benefit of a smaller shop is working with really great, talented people. This place does not follow that premise. The people here are really ugly to each other, grossly inexperienced/unprofessional, and will joke about getting you fired. Passive aggressiveness aside, make no mistake, this is an actively and openly hostile environment. There are at least two walking lawsuits waiting to happen and a few that are definitely mentally/emotionally unstable. Management seems to continue to look the other way despite numerous incidents. Trying to collaborate on any client activity is a nightmare as they will go out of their way to make you look bad by purposefully ignoring/excluding, outright sabotaging your work before a presentation, or finding some other way to degrade your integrity in front of management or clients. Some cringey things witnessed include baby talk during client presentations, outright saying you know nothing about your clients’ needs or business during a client work sessions, or making statements to a client that defy the most basic usability, technical, or design fundamentals. Faking it only works for those that have some foundation for the discipline they are pretending to be a part of. The skill, experience, (and talent) is painfully lacking. Its as if it was set up as a design reject day care center, sponsored by GA. You can literally pluck any person off the street in NYC to do a better job of handling your digital business.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    The word vomit at the front door and the dusty foosball table does not make for a creative culture. Stop giving carte blanch to the toxic people you choose to keep on, pay attention to the revolving door pattern. Anyone worth their salt will not tolerate the nonsense. People (especially clients) notice these things and you can’t fake the skill and thinking when there is no foundation. Hire people that actually have... skills and experience and let them do their jobs! Weed out those that are threatened by skill and experience. Cheap unskilled labor is driving the business and it absolutely shows.

    Show More
    Tigerspike2017-01-11

    Tigerspike Response

    January 18, 2017CEO

    Hello, it is disappointing to read your review this morning. I'm sorry you feel so upset about your experience. I can assure you that is the last thing we want you to feel. You have raised the issue of the support structure we provide. This is something we are continually looking to evolve and improve every 90-days across the business. I believe the Tigerspike Academy will create the right platform for on-boarding, personal and professional growth for our team, but we clearly have more work to do here. You also raise the attitude and behaviours of the team. The Tigerspike Way underpins our business and drives the behaviours we expect from the team. Rest assured we will focus on this and course correct as our people are the lifeblood of the business. We aim to achieve delivery excellence across everything we do evidenced through data. An engaged, empowered, high performing team is critical to this. Cheers, Alex

    Show Less
  11. Helpful (1)

    "Good"

    StarStarStarStarStar
     

    I worked at Tigerspike

    Pros

    Good atmosphere, interesting work, fair management.

    Cons

    Can be hectic at times, not much high level development.

    Tigerspike2016-12-18

    Tigerspike Response

    December 19, 2016CEO

    Thanks for your feedback. Much appreciated. Project work can vary at times, so hopefully more challenging projects will be coming your way soon. We know this is important for our teams professional development.

Found 131 reviews