Tile Reviews | Glassdoor

Tile Reviews

Updated May 28, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 40 reviews

4.1
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
78%
Recommend to a Friend
100%
Approve of CEO
Tile CEO CJ Prober
CJ Prober
6 Ratings
  1. Helpful (3)

    "A breath of fresh air"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Customer Service 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Tile full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Awesome people. Extremely friendly, collaborative environment with some of the smartest and most passionate people I've ever had the opportunity to work with. Huge growth potential — the product solves a universal need and is the clear leader in the category. This company is definitely going places.

    Cons

    Still a small company, so there's a lot to do without a commensurate number of people to do it all. This could easily be viewed as a pro, however for those who are hard working and determined to move up.

    Continue reading
    Tile2015-02-13
  2. Helpful (1)

    "Great Company, Amazing Product, Wonderful Envinronment"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Tile

    Pros

    Everyone is here is amazing to work with, they all have passion about what they are doing and it's always fun working with them. Food is provided for us 5 days a week, which is amazing. Environment is the best as it can be and everyone is so helpful. Great benefits as well.

    Cons

    Work hard, but it's a start up, that's expected. Everyone is passionate about their work, so it makes up for it because everyone wants to work hard.

    Continue reading
    Tile2015-02-13
  3. Helpful (1)

    "great startup to work with"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - QA Engineer in San Mateo, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Tile full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    fantastic culture and environment to work with. the people here are super professional and the CEO knows clearly where to go.

    Cons

    since the company is growing super past, you may need to focus more on work. but I would rather consider this as a precious learning opportunity instead of a cons.

    Continue reading
    Tile2015-02-13
  4. Helpful (4)

    "Great Culture, Great Product. Great Potential."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Social Media Manager 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Tile

    Pros

    Tile is an amazing place to work. The culture if fair, open, and balanced. The people are smart, and they very much respect each other. I am not only excited about where my personal growth is going here, but I am in awe of the people who I work with. Its not only a really good group of people, but everyone is working hard to make something happen. They give credit where it is due, and they are producing amazing results. Other things: Catered Lunches 3x a week. Free parking. Standing desks. You never end up losing your stuff ever again.

    Cons

    I don't really have any negative feedback at this time. I am very happy here and don't have any bad things to say. There are not too many places to eat close by - but you can find enough when you are hungry.

    Continue reading
    Tile2014-12-08
  5. Helpful (6)

    "Great Time to Join"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Tile full-time

    Pros

    One of the best reasons to work at Tile are that it has a great team with the ability to execute. As an employee this means that you get to work with people who can deliver, which is definitely not always the case with a company. This makes your job less stressful as bureaucracy doesn't get to play a hand in these decisions, and if you need help getting something done you won't face banal obstructions. Additionally, the product itself is pretty cool! The space is still pretty new so it's a breath of fresh air working on something that has so much potential and even now yields value for a lot of people. Being part of Tile, you'll get to see how some of the decisions that generate the product are made, which is fun since you may not be a product/ops person per se but still get to experience those events. Also Nick (CEO) and Mike (COO) are very approachable and do their best to provide employees with what they need. They have always been honest and forthcoming in my experience, something that started from the moment I met them, to when I got the offer, to now. Their past engineering work also gives them context, so I have yet to see them make a single unreasonable request in terms of the tech.

    Cons

    If you don't like working with tech that is new and therefore may be unreliable (I'm looking at you Bluetooth 4.0 spec), you may not want to work at Tile. There are some, but not a lot of products like Tile, with most of the ones similar having big limitations. This means that there is definitely a push to see what is possible, but that requires putting in effort and figuring things out that may not be so simple.

    Continue reading
    Tile2014-10-20
  6. Helpful (2)

    "Great Opportunity"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Customer/Technical Support in San Mateo, CA
    Recommends
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Tile full-time

    Pros

    The culture the company fosters is a unique one. Not only are the customer's feedback taken into consideration, but so are the employees' suggestions. Any idea or contribution for the company is hardly ever shot down. it's alway nice to be fed, but the company is always looking to improve the features and outlook of the product. It's an exciting company to be part of.

    Cons

    There isn't anything negative I can think of

    Continue reading
    Tile2014-07-28
  7. Helpful (3)

    "Great Place to Work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Business Development in San Mateo, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Tile full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    -Innovative product creating quite a stir! -Tile is loved by customers and the media with minimal marketing- great case study in how clever implementation of tech can help simplify peoples' lives -Exciting start up environment with lots of space to grow -Management team is dedicated, passionate, committed -Employees are friendly and were nice to me as I got settled into new role -Lunch twice a week (tasty food :) ) -Overall a great place to work if you like excitement, challenge and opportunity to help build a company from ground zero

    Cons

    - Office space is getting a bit cramped as we're hiring like crazy but it's being re-designed to house the big hiring drive!! - with 3 months under my belt, I don't see any cons yet :) will check back in later on

    Continue reading
    Tile2014-07-15
  8. Helpful (2)

    "Amazing StartUp"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Recruiting Coordinator in San Mateo, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Tile full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    - very culture based, everyone is very welcoming and genuine - company has so much potential and opportunities - flexible with hours - allows employees to expand outside of their job description - encourages employees to perform the best to our abilities - onsite gym (free) - weekly team lunches in which we gather twice a week, bond, and eat delicious food - company events (movie nights, go-karting, etc) - invests in you as much as you put into the company - small company so if you enjoy meeting and working with higher up execs, this is the place to be - co-founders are a pleasure to work with as well as everyone else at the company

    Cons

    - small space for the amount of people we look to hire, but we are redesigning soon so it should be quite cozy

    Continue reading
    Tile2014-07-17
  9. Helpful (24)

    "Stay Away!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in San Mateo, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook

    I worked at Tile

    Pros

    Tile on your resume will be a good talking point for future interviews.

    Cons

    Mentally abusive work environment, narcissist COO, lying and cheat CEO. Extremely untrustworthy management. Hostile work environment with extremely uncomfortable and awkward situations. It becomes difficult to maintain any sort of social life outside of work. This isn't your typical start up work environment. There is no care for company culture, values or employee satisfaction/happiness. Management doesn't care to put time into the people of its company.

    Continue reading
    Tile2014-06-19
  10. Helpful (1)

    "Great team and a company with huge potential"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Tile full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great people & great leadership team Product & software roadmap looks super impressive Very transparent with all employees Definitely a company to watch - could be the next big one...

    Cons

    Not much really - If you're willing to work hard then there is a great future to where Tile is heading

    Continue reading
    Tile2018-08-15

    Tile Response

    August 16, 2018VP, People

    Thank you so much for this positive review! Its great to hear you are having a great experience at Tile. We will keep up the good work!

    Continue reading
Found 40 reviews