KEY NOT FOUND: coverImgAlt
Logo

Tillys

Is this your company?

Tillys

Add a Review

Tillys Reviews

Updated Sep 26, 2022

To filter reviews, or .

Found 1,439 of over 1,474 reviews

3.4
55%
Recommend to a Friend
62%
Approve of CEO
Tillys Chief Executive Officer, President and Director Edmond Thomas
Edmond Thomas
241 Ratings

Top Review Highlights by Sentiment

Pros
Cons
  • "Low pay (if you are a female don't expect to get same salary as men)(in 174 reviews)
  • "They have such Bad Management(in 109 reviews)
  • "Rude managers and overall unorganized(in 77 reviews)
  • "I don't understand how you think we can afford that when we have no hours.(in 49 reviews)
  • "The pay was minimum wage which was horrendous for the amount of work that I was required to do.(in 29 reviews)
Pros & Cons are excerpts from user reviews. They are not authored by Glassdoor.

Ratings by Demographics

This rating reflects the overall rating of Tillys and is not affected by filters.

Want more demographic options?
  1. 5.0
    Current Employee

    Tillys

    Sep 25, 2022 - Sales Associate/Cashier 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    The company is so friendly , we work well together, communication is great, and it’s a loving environment!

    Cons

    There is always room for improvement but I think the company and management is great.

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  2. 3.0
    Current Employee, more than 5 years

    Lots of individual growth, needs growth as a company

    Sep 26, 2022 - Store Manager in San Marcos, TX
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    *able to get promoted quickly *get to try different areas in the business (merchandising, leads, management) *fun environment *dress code is very lenient *discount (sorta) *employee benefits

    Cons

    *no separation in work and social life *if you're below a management position, the pay is not worth it *not flexible with scheduling *KPIs will effect the day and mood *not a lot of care from higher ups, you can be heard but nothing is done.

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful
  3. 5.0
    Current Employee

    Best Job I’ve had

    Sep 23, 2022 - Sales Associate 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Great environment, great team, love my job

    Cons

    A lot of work for little pay

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful
  4. 2.0
    Former Employee, less than 1 year

    HORRIBLE MANAGEMENT

    Aug 24, 2022 - Assistant Manager in Wesley Chapel, FL
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    i guess the discount? benefits if you are fulltime management….. oh and if you bust your butt off meeting unrealistic goals, they send you snacks!!!! yippeee!

    Cons

    obviously everywhere you work, you are bound to have a bad seed but when i say my specific location had the worst upper management. to the point i had sales associates crying on a daily basis, threats to call HR weekly, a constant turnover on associates because everybody was afraid to stand up form themselves. when i finally had the chance to get out of that store, the promotion wasnt given to me because i need to learn to “get along with everyone” which basically meant stop sticking up for the bullying of the associates and be on the upper managements side. i couldn’t stand by and watch 16 years old go home crying bc they didnt fold a tshirt correctly and got chewed out by someone who truly wasnt trained properly to begin with. oh and the pay….HORRIBLE. i was an assistant manager and a cashier at mcdonalds makes more than me in my state.

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful
  5. 4.0
    Former Employee

    Really fun but your managers are just that - your managers.

    Sep 11, 2022 - In-Store Visual Merchandiser 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    super fun environment didn't have to interact with customers super easy job just taking deliveries, changing signs and mannequins and doing online orders.

    Cons

    get ready for an early morning shift! mine started at 6 overnight inventory from 5pm-5am your managers are gonna befriend you but they're just gonna take advantage of you by getting you to cover their shifts and it sucks lol you don't get manager pay for doing manager duties.

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  6. 5.0
    Former Employee, more than 3 years

    Great

    Sep 20, 2022 - Server 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Always worked with my school schedule since I was a student at university

    Cons

    Winter was not as busy. Business came in ways like most restaurants

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  7. 4.0
    Former Employee

    Fun growth

    Sep 21, 2022 - Co-Manager in Minneapolis, MN
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Lots of growth opportunity to move up and other sites

    Cons

    Work life balance isn’t there

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  8. 4.0
    Current Employee

    Great company

    Sep 18, 2022 - Company Store Supervisor 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    The company has multiple opportunities to grow

    Cons

    The pay could be a little higher

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  9. 3.0
    Former Employee, less than 1 year

    Fun young space

    Sep 26, 2022 - Sales Associate in Roseville, CA
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    good ad scheduling hours for hard workers

    Cons

    target oriented with no compensation for performance

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  10. 3.0
    Former Employee, more than 1 year

    Eh

    Sep 24, 2022 - Sales Associate 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    In-store staff was enthusiastic and fun Flexible hours

    Cons

    Rude district managers Pay is not good

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful
Viewing 1 - 10 of 1,439 Reviews

Tillys Reviews FAQs

Tillys has an overall rating of 3.4 out of 5, based on over 1,474 reviews left anonymously by employees. 55% of employees would recommend working at Tillys to a friend and 40% have a positive outlook for the business. This rating has decreased by -1% over the last 12 months.

According to anonymously submitted Glassdoor reviews, Tillys employees rate their compensation and benefits as 2.6 out of 5. Find out more about salaries and benefits at Tillys. This rating has improved by 7% over the last 12 months.

55% of Tillys employees would recommend working there to a friend based on Glassdoor reviews. Employees also rated Tillys 3.2 out of 5 for work life balance, 3.4 for culture and values and 3.1 for career opportunities.

According to reviews on Glassdoor, employees commonly mention the pros of working at Tillys to be career development, benefits, coworkers and the cons to be culture, management, compensation.

Popular Careers with Tillys Job Seekers

JobsSalariesInterviews

Work at Tillys? Share Your Experiences

or

Reviews by Job Title

Tillys Photos

+ Add Photo
Tillys photo of: Tillys Logo
Tillys photo of: Back to School
Tillys photo of: BTS
Tillys photo of: Pose
Tillys photo of: Accessories
Tillys photo of: Shady
Tillys photo of: Swim
See All Photos

Expert Career Advice

Guide to Getting Your First Job

Find a Great First Job to Jumpstart Your Career

How to Get a Job

Getting a Job Is Tough; This Guide Makes it Easier

How to Get a Promotion

Climb the Ladder With These Proven Promotion Tips

How to Negotiate Your Salary

A Guide to Negotiating the Salary You Deserve

How to Write a Resume

Write a Resume Recruiters Can't Resist

Tillys Job Seekers Also Viewed

Pacific Sunwear Logo
Pacific Sunwear

3.7

2,100 Reviews
Compare