KEY NOT FOUND: coverImgAlt
Logo

Tilted Kilt Pub & Eatery

Is this your company?

Tilted Kilt Pub & Eatery

Add a Review

Tilted Kilt Pub & Eatery Reviews

Updated Jul 20, 2021

To filter reviews, or .

Found 254 of over 259 reviews

3.8
73%
Recommend to a Friend
92%
Approve of CEO
Tilted Kilt Pub & Eatery CEO Richard Akam (no image)
Richard Akam
15 Ratings
Pros
  • "The girls, money was good SOMETIMES(in 28 reviews)

  • "good management, fun environment, good coworkers(in 26 reviews)

  • Cons
  • "Insanely long hours-sometimes you work 8 AM-2 AM in busy seasons and then you would have to go back to work the next morning at 8 AM(in 17 reviews)

  • "VERY POOR MANAGEMENT, managers don't care if men are being inappropriate with you, managers violate their employees sexually and verbally(in 5 reviews)

  • More Pros and Cons
    Pros & Cons are excerpts from user reviews. They are not authored by Glassdoor.
    1. 5.0
      Former Employee

      LOVE

      May 24, 2021 - Bartender/Waitress 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Clients, Coworkers, Management and atmosphere

      Cons

      No breaks but work went by very quick !

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    2. 4.0
      Former Employee, more than 3 years

      TK Skokie experience

      Jul 20, 2021 - Server/Bartender in Skokie, IL
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      -as a bartender it can be a fun environment when a good group of girls is working there and you can make some awesome friends, but only when there’s a good group of girls working at the time and it changes pretty constantly -regulars you get as a bartender can be really friendly and become friends that make work go by faster, tip well, some even bring you gifts -Although some people might say the uniform is objectifying, in my opinion it was empowering because as a woman I’m going to be objectified anyways so why not use it to my advantage? -It gives a great confidence boost to be chosen to wear this uniform and work at this place and then get constant positive attention from customers, and a lot of the time they’re complimenting your personality vs. looks which is especially nice to hear considering the kind of attention the uniform is meant to generate. The orientation handbook literally says “sex sells”. If you want to work here, just know that it’s a fast paced and competitive environment so it’ll only be ideal for you if you’re a very fast learner (like training to bartend, you’ll be expected to learn very fast), charismatic/personable (so you can get tipped well and get regulars to bring in business if it’s slow, as well as so you can get on management’s good side so they’ll give you opportunities), confident (so you’re comfortable in the uniform and can have the flirty and personal back and forth with customers which is what most of them come for and tip for), and a go getter who’s willing to push for the position you want. Obviously physically being attractive helps, but don’t sell yourself short before you try it because you’ll learn tons of tricks from coworkers about makeup, how to tie the uniform to look better, even bras/tricks to make your chest look better and the uniform is surprisingly flattering. The TK girls you see in pictures have all those strategies going on and you shouldn’t compare your average daily look to a made up and carefully adjusted “perfect” image.

      Cons

      -There can be some girls who are catty, rude, unstable, weirdly territorial over certain customers, and just drama issues like that and it can ruin the whole work experience with one bad apple. This kind of job can tend to attract some people that aren’t the best company to keep (but also some amazing ones, so don’t be too quick to judge!) I found out that if you just stay cool, be kind, and get to know them you can actually turn this around and make a friend but it can be stressful. -of course there might be customers who are rude or objectifying but I worked here for years as a teenager and as an adult later on and this was extremely rare. Most customers are really sweet -the owner of the place I worked couldn’t seem to keep employees. He would fire a girl over one mistake or silly things all the time or girls would quit over drama and other issues with him or management. He ignored all my calls and attempts to get my w2 and last check when I left the job and years later to this day I still haven’t gotten them. He’s since changed the location to a Texas Roadhouse (I think) -We had to do inventory every Sunday as bartenders which could take hours and we weren’t getting paid even the $4.95 hourly wage we got, let alone getting any tips but it was mandatory. If a girl refused to do this she’d definitely get fired. -the owner/management played favorites and to get the best position (bartender) and the best shifts (weekends, evenings) you had to work to get on their good side. Once you did you got great opportunities like getting paid to go to a golf outing in our uniforms as bartenders and get great tips and I did end up getting to enjoy that experience for a while but pretty much one wrong move and you’re out, and you never know what small thing might be “wrong” or could trigger an issue. Overall, I had tons of fun working here and I hold no ill will against management or the owner (he’s overall a great man who’s fun and encouraging) but it can be a competitive and tricky environment sometimes.

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    3. 2.0
      Current Employee, less than 1 year

      Yikes

      Jul 16, 2021 - Barback/Busser in Wilmington, NC
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      One of my bartenders became manager and did an unbelievable job I got to watch UFC and NBA during my shifts I got tipped out by the sleazy waitresses who were very good at pretending to be interested in order to raise the tips

      Cons

      Talk about a toxic workplace. Some of the waitresses refused to pre-buss tables assuming it was my job to take plates and glasses while customers dined. A couple of the bartenders were just rude fake people who were just looking to manipulate clients into paying more Like working with highschoolers. Cliques, manipulation, badmouthing other employees. Generally toxic After Hurricane Florence, everyone lost there job because the owner wasn't willing to fix anything so they took the insurance money and ran

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    4. 4.0
      Current Employee, more than 3 years

      Bar

      Jun 24, 2021 - Server/Bartender in San Diego, CA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Tk was an Awesome fun environment

      Cons

      Sometimes there’d be so many servers scheduled and I’d see people go home soon

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    5. 4.0
      Former Employee, less than 1 year

      Not bad

      Jun 5, 2021 - Entertainer 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Good for someone’s first job

      Cons

      They don’t give enough hours

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    6. 4.0
      Former Employee, more than 3 years

      Learn to Engage with Professionals

      Feb 25, 2021 - Hostess in Chicago, IL
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      This is a great place to start if you're not used to speaking with business professionals etc. The women you work with are usually in college and are ambitious which is also helpful if you need more lady power time, but it's not a social hour. I made some great friends here. I was offered many positions in the business world form here, only I was too naïve to know I could take the offers and still continue going to school. Diverse backgrounds (This might be dependent on location, but my branches were diverse)

      Cons

      There are some ladies who can be a bit more dramatic, but everyone has their own agenda and learning curve into the professional world. It's not everyone and every place has it.

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    7. 2.0
      Former Employee, more than 3 years

      Assistant GM

      Jun 23, 2021 - Restaurant Manager in Detroit, MI
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Great atmosphere. Discounts on food

      Cons

      Long hours. No room for growth

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    8. 2.0
      Former Employee

      Eh

      May 20, 2021 - Entertainer 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Money sometimes but not a lot

      Cons

      Management and customers are not nice

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    9. 4.0
      Former Employee, more than 1 year

      Tilted kilt

      Mar 3, 2021 - Server/Waiter in Chicago, IL
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Good money and easy hours

      Cons

      Be expected to be treated and talked to like an object and not a person

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    10. 2.0
      Former Employee

      OKay

      Apr 19, 2021 - Bartender 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      money, customers, outfits are not too bad

      Cons

      everything else is annoying depending on the location

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    Viewing 1 - 10 of 254 Reviews

    Popular Careers with Tilted Kilt Pub & Eatery Job Seekers

    JobsSalariesInterviews

    Work at Tilted Kilt Pub & Eatery? Share Your Experiences

    Tilted Kilt Pub & Eatery logo
    or