Tipico Reviews | Glassdoor

Tipico Reviews

Updated March 16, 2019
83 reviews

Filter

Filter


3.6
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
Recommend to a friend
Approve of CEO
Tipico CEO Joachim Baca
Joachim Baca
24 Ratings

Employee Reviews

Sort: PopularRatingDate

Pros
  • "Tipico has a wonderful location, and very nice offices in the Portomaso Tower" (in 6 reviews)

  • "attention to work life balance and your welfare" (in 3 reviews)

Cons
More Pros and Cons

  1. Featured Review

    Helpful (1)

    "Great Company Values and Culture"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Tipico full-time (More than 3 years)

    Pros

    The company values and the company culture you see advertised is actually true. C level and head of departments are the ones who push and lead by example of these values. Being part of Tipico means you need to work hard, but in return not only do you get benefits, you get personal growth and a chance to improve yourself everyday.
    Communication is good and management is always trying to ensure that the level of good communication is sustained.

    Cons

    Different departments need to work better together. However, this is common in most companies .

    Tipico Response

    Jan 16, 2019 – HR Marketing Manager

    Thank you for taking the time to leave your review of your experience with us.
    We really appreciate your constructive feedback. Thanks!


  2. Helpful (3)

    "It's a good company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Malta, MT
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Malta, MT
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Tipico full-time

    Pros

    - great people
    - good possibilites
    - good managment
    - very good location and benefits
    - much more pros than cons and better organised than most gaming companies

    Cons

    - changes could be communicated better
    - company is spread over different not directly connecting floors

    Advice to Management

    Just make sure that the talent stays with the company

    Tipico Response

    Jan 16, 2019 – HR Marketing Manager

    Thank you so much for taking the time to leave your review of your experience with us.
    We really appreciate your constructive feedback. Thanks!

  3. Helpful (2)

    "Stay away"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Payments and Fraud Analyst in Malta, MT
    Former Employee - Payments and Fraud Analyst in Malta, MT
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Tipico (Less than a year)

    Pros

    -Good benefits
    -Free ice-creams and fruits
    -Big bonus

    Cons

    -Constantly understaffed
    -Bad management
    -No proper training, no clear procedures
    -Lack of communication
    -Bad work-life balance (aweful shifts)
    -high turn over, so the knowledge doesn't stay

    Advice to Management

    Listen to the employees, stop micromanaging, hire more people, work on your people skills


  4. Helpful (3)

    "Salary"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Malta, NY
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Malta, NY
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Tipico full-time (More than 3 years)

    Pros

    Great office space and friendly colleagues

    Cons

    Prospects of career progression are not available as in other companies especially for locals and there are constant changes in organisational structure and direction.

    Tipico Response

    Mar 25, 2019 – Group Talent Acquisition Manager

    Thanks for taking the time to leave us a review. We appreciate your feedback.

    Tipico is in a very high growth phase and, in this industry, it means we should adapt our structures to stay... More


  5. "Employee"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee

    I have been working at Tipico full-time

    Pros

    Offices are in Central Location

    Cons

    We can always communication I believe

    Tipico Response

    Mar 25, 2019 – Group Talent Acquisition Manager

    Dear colleague,
    Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review!
    Indeed, communication is an area where we continue to focus on. As for the offices, things are going to get even more awesome... More


  6. "great company used to be better, things are changing"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Tipico full-time (More than a year)

    Pros

    great bonuses
    The xmas bonus is unique

    Cons

    micro management
    difficult to communicate with managers

    Tipico Response

    Mar 25, 2019 – Group Talent Acquisition Manager

    Thank you for taking the time to send in this review. I appreciate the transparent feedback; if you'd like to connect offline to talk further about your recommendations and ideas, I'd welcome a... More


  7. Helpful (1)

    "Horrible environment, detrimental to career"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - KYC Analyst in San Ġiljan (Malta)
    Former Employee - KYC Analyst in San Ġiljan (Malta)
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Tipico full-time (More than a year)

    Pros

    - If you can keep your head down, you can get away with browsing social media and the web for about 2 hours a day, this is not really a pro.
    - Paycheck is on time, but too low, Renting a studio apartment sets you back55-60% of your salary, good luck with that

    Cons

    - Everything, really, high staff turnover, Team leaders last 3 months on average
    - No procedures, whatever procedures are written down is minimalist, god forbid you run into an edge case and have to ask
    - Training does not deserve to be called training
    - Abusive team leader, verbally, be prepared to face roll-eyes expression when asking reasonable questions
    - Culture of fear and absolute micro management
    - The verification procedure and the UI are disfunctional, compared to modern apps, this is unbelievable outdated. Same issues are never fixed
    - Almost permanent mandated overtime aka management failure
    - Desperately understaffed, try to take holidays while another co worker has holidays and see how that goes
    - Upper management detached from the reality and severeness of technical debt, the workflow is very inefficient, the blame always goes to the innocent staffers.
    - Mobbing by management in collaboration with HR, there are 2 honorable exceptions.
    - Culture of backstabbing and throwing "friends" under the bus, the higher the job title, the more pronounced this issue shows
    - Over-promising on training, totally under-delivering, you will not learn much here, you will do repetitive "monkey tasks" and do patchwork for the non functional software
    - Minimalist behavior on assigned tasks by many, the motivated people will be fixing the mistakes of others and then turn minimalist themselves
    - You suggest improvements, you will be greeted with hostility or inactivity, sometimes your ideas could be presented as someone elses.
    - The minimalist attitude could have the root in an unrewarding salary(rumour has it, the new people get less salary!) or unrealistic KPIs
    - I would never recommend this place to a friend
    - No handshake , no eye contact on the day of leaving, after 2 years in the company.

    Advice to Management

    The management has exceptionally poor feedback handling, to the point that most of the staff avoids to even suggest improvements. If the management would know how the staff talks in private, they would fall out of their chairs. The point is, the management does not want any true feedback outside their comfort zone, they believe they know what they are doing. I strongly object.

    Advice to HR, please stop posting fake 4 and 5 stars reviews, try to get to the root of the candid and horrendous reviews.

    Tipico Response

    Mar 27, 2019 – Group Human Resources Director

    Thank you for taking the time to write a review. Whilst we appreciate that there have been some challenges over the last couple of years, there are however already a number of improvements which have... More

  8. Helpful (2)

    "Full of politics and people without knowledge"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Doesn't Recommend

    I worked at Tipico full-time

    Pros

    benefits, environment location and salary

    Cons

    full of politics and people without knowledge in crucial positions

    Tipico Response

    Mar 25, 2019 – Group Talent Acquisition Manager

    Thank you for sharing your experience with us.

    I am sorry to hear that it didn’t work out the way you expected. As we did undergo some big changes and expansion over the past years, we are doing... More


  9. "Good company overall"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Recommends
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Tipico full-time

    Pros

    Many pros, Tipico is a leading company with very serious intensions. I love working there!

    Cons

    Not too many..system is a bit old but very stable, some perks can be for free instead of discounted.

    Tipico Response

    Sep 10, 2018 – Group Talent Acquisition Manager

    Hi,
    thank you so much for taking the time to leave your review of your career with us.
    We really appreciate all of your constructive comments. Thanks!


  10. Helpful (3)

    "good experience overall"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Software Developer in Sliema (Malta)
    Former Employee - Software Developer in Sliema (Malta)
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Tipico full-time (More than 3 years)

    Pros

    Latest technology is embraced. Time given to improve your skills and training is provided. Good end of year bonus. Flexible hours

    Cons

    Teams are constantly being restructured and sometimes you are not sure where you fit in the overall picture. HR department has been unprofessional on several occasions

    Advice to Management

    Too many employees reporting to one manager/director. HR has a lot to improve and should be involved in employee career objectives

    Tipico Response

    Aug 29, 2018 – Group Talent Acquisition Manager

    Hello,
    thanks for providing us with your feedback.
    We really value your opinion, and it's great to hear you enjoyed the culture here - however I read with concern some of the issues you have... More