Tires Plus Technician Reviews | Glassdoor

Find jobs for Technician

Tires Plus Technician Reviews

Updated May 8, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 16 reviews

3.8
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
81%
Recommend to a Friend
100%
Approve of CEO
Tires Plus CEO Joe Venezia
Joe Venezia
2 Ratings
  1. "best career decision I've ever made"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Technician in Palm Bay, FL
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Tires Plus full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    tires plus is owned by bridgestone and is the best company I've ever worked for. Bridgestone offers all the benefits that you would need. the customer is our boss! That's how it goes day by day you can't ask for anything better!

    Cons

    working at Tires plus their really isn't any cons it's a great company to me

    Advice to Management

    Keep up the good work you guys have a great idea! The customer is the boss!

    Tires Plus2018-04-17
  2. "Great company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Technician in Longmont, CO
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Tires Plus full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great money Lots of hours

    Cons

    Lots of physical work and hours

    Tires Plus2019-05-08
  3. "Great place to learn the trade"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - General Service Technician in Macon, GA
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Tires Plus full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    If you have a strong well oiled team that helps you its not that bad. Remember team work makes the dream work. At the shop i worked at there were only males we had a decent coworker relationship and cracked a lot of jokes and had many laughs. Sometimes there would be barely anything to do for weeks and other times we would be slammed from open until closed. If you are looking to gain experience in the automotive field...

    Show More

    Cons

    There are time constraints that we as technicians are barely able to meet 30 minutes max for an oil change 59 minutes for a set of 4 tires. If you are completing these tasks by yourself one misplaced impact gun or oil filter wrench can send you over the short time limit easily. Not that it takes 30 minutes for a regular oil change but we have to inspect every vehicle and check tread dept air pressure brake fluid levels...

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    There are small things that might take you 30 seconds to do that will save technicians exponential time down the line like I said before team work makes the dream work. Also there is this new thing called splash guards that most modern cars have now which takes almost 4 minutes to uninstall and reinstall yet us technicians are still expected to maintain that under 30 minute oil change please lets be a little realistic.

    Tires Plus2017-06-03
  4. "Hard worker"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - General Service Technician in Reno, NV
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Tires Plus full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    I'm a hard worker and a very quick learner I love to learn new things and to exceed in the company I work for

    Cons

    It a long drive from home and I'm spending more than I can afford in gas

    Advice to Management

    My managers at the shop I currently work at are just amazing people

    Tires Plus2016-10-25
  5. "Decent Job"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Tire Technician in Kansas City, MO
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Tires Plus

    Pros

    Good job especially if you like to work with your hands. they teach you everything you need to know. If you like working on cars its a good job.

    Cons

    Fast paced job at times. Managers can be on you to get cars out. HR is not very helpful

    Tires Plus2016-03-22
  6. Helpful (2)

    "Stay away"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - ASE Certified Automotive Technician 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Tires Plus

    Pros

    Benefits are pretty good. Not much taken out of your paycheck every week.

    Cons

    No appreciation for your family life. Work you to the bone. Open long hours, even longer hours around holidays. Open almost all holidays. Pays more attention to the customers than their own employees.

    Advice to Management

    Value your employees more. Make it so they can have a better balance of work/family. Not work your managers so hard, and give them the support they need.

    Tires Plus2016-03-06
  7. "okay place to work, not so much as of late"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - ASE Certified Automotive Technician in Omaha, NE
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Tires Plus full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    decent pay and laid back work enviroment

    Cons

    corporate cares more about bottom line and company image than employees. they also keep making changes to equipment and consumables in the name of cost. managers are grossly overpaid work half days and sit around barking orders.

    Advice to Management

    you can't keep taking equipment away and expect us to do more service! you have to spend money to make it!

    Tires Plus2016-02-14
  8. "Auto Technician"

    StarStarStarStarStar
      Current Employee - Technician in Stone Mountain, GA

      I have been working at Tires Plus full-time for more than 8 years

      Pros

      great people to work with

      Cons

      Upper Management does not really care about us

      Tires Plus2015-08-16
    • Helpful (1)

      "You'll get less than what you put in."

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Automotive Technician in Atlanta, GA

      I have been working at Tires Plus for more than a year

      Pros

      It is a large, prestigious corporation (Bridgestone). But the shop operates like a small business. Very friendly and family vibe within the shop. There are no night or overnight shifts. Store hours vary, I'd imagine. But you will make it to dinner. Benefits are competitive. Good learning environment. They pay for your ASE tests, and you'll receive a bonus for passing them and re-certifying.

      Cons

      Summer heat can be brutal. Exposure to chemicals, hot oil, dust, debris (comes with the territory). Some shops are just a plain mess! This trade relies heavily on commission. The worst part is that you don't get commission on any warranty work even if it was someone else's work (even from another location!). You also don't get commission on any of the lifetime services either (alignments, wheel balance, etc.)....

      Show More

      Advice to Management

      Revise the commission system. And make the pay scale more clear cut. Technician pay vary wildly. You advertise you want to employ the best, yet you can't retain the best.

      Tires Plus2015-08-08
    • "Service Technician"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Service Technician in Reno, NV
      Recommends
      Positive Outlook
      Approves of CEO

      I have been working at Tires Plus full-time for more than a year

      Pros

      Good work, great benefits and great environment

      Cons

      low pay and only pays well if over 10 years experience.

      Advice to Management

      invest more in your employees that have been there a while and show determination and have the means to go up in ranks.

      Tires Plus2015-06-15
    Found 16 reviews