Tix Corporation Reviews

Updated Sep 19, 2017

To filter reviews, or .
2.6
33%
Recommend to a Friend
35%
Approve of CEO
Tix Corporation Chairman, President, CEO, and CFO Mitch Francis (no image)
Mitch Francis
7 Ratings
  1. 5.0
    Current Employee, more than 1 year

    Great job! Great opportunity!

    Feb 21, 2017 - Management in Las Vegas, NV
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    I started at Tix more than two years ago. Unlike many other staff members that moved their way up in the company, I came in to management from the outside. One of my favorite aspects of this company is the training program. I came with sales and management experience but I was entering a completely “new to me” area of retail sales in Entertainment. It astounds me how much time and consideration has gone into developing a training program that gives employees an incredible foundation to be successful. I was very fortunate to be considered from the outside as the company makes every effort to train and develop staff to give them the potential to succeed and promote within. I was looking for a career that would offer me the opportunity to grow, be challenged, and use a variety of skills. I have the opportunity to wear many hats at Tix. We get to help customers each day that are genuinely HAPPY to save money while being entertained in Vegas. We are not a standard retail company selling an unwanted product, we are offering great savings to people that would purchase the product regardless but when they come to us they are saving money, saving time, and given assistance with their entertainment arrangements. I always feel like I have done my guests a service that I can feel good about. I get to sell, I get to operationally run locations, I get to coach, train, and motivate staff, I get to participate in developing and executing training programs, I get to be creative, I get to write, and I get to have fun. This Company IS a team atmosphere. It is fun to come to work, it is fun to participate as a group attaining goals that benefit staff; unlike other jobs with an environment of commission based sales where staff are cut-throat and deceptive just trying to oversell customers products they don't want or need. I would recommend the Company to anyone.

    Cons

    All jobs have drawbacks, no one has ever worked and been 100% happy 100% of the time but you can get pretty close. It is disheartening to read some of the commentaries about our company and employees. Comments made about the management team that I was accepted into are ridiculous. When a previous employee makes harsh and unpleasant comments about our Executive leadership it makes me think they were unhappy about a particular policy and want to take it out on the Leaders that created those policies. Especially the policies that pertained to the previous employee's reason for departing from their job. I am also repeatedly shocked at the amount of people that take a position at a company that pays VERY well with amazing benefits and then are shocked when they are expected to show up on time and not call out often. It's too bad many of the "disgruntled" employees walked away from a great paying job with tons of opportunity for growth and felt the need to blame it on anything or anyone but their inability to have a good work ethic. Because one absolute I can say about TIX is the Company rewards and appreciates employees with a good work ethic. So my con would be if you take a job at TIX please come with a fun, positive attitude and expect to work. Individuals that are used to work environments where they didn't genuinely care about their job or it didn't matter if they showed up on time or at all, or don't generally get along well with people are not going to be a good fit.

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  2. 3.0
    Former Employee, more than 3 years

    Fun Job for the most part...

    Oct 24, 2014 - Anonymous Employee in Las Vegas, NV
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Leadership tries. Sometimes too hard. I watched this company grow through the years and I stuck it out through good and bad. Company values their employees. But there is so much work to be done still. Like any growing company they have their faults. I could write a lot of things wrong, but they have already been written here. There is favoritism in management. I have seen that first hand. I have watched people work their buns off and get no where. Then others do one thing, get noticed and then rise to the top. They do have great benefits. Some of the best in the business. I think because of this and the easiness of the job is the whole reason I stayed so long.

    Cons

    - Extreme weather/environment- although they try to make it comfortable and give you hydration packs, cold drinks, ice vests. These still cannot comfort you in that heat. Then winter comes and some days you freeze. - You can go 4 yrs without a pay raise, relying only on bonuses, which doesn't happen too often in the recent years.

    2 people found this review helpful
  3. 2.0
    Former Employee, less than 1 year

    Fun job, bad management

    Mar 30, 2015 -  
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Working in various locations on the Vegas strip, selling a great product that people get excited about. As the only discount ticket place on the strip that's not attached to a real estate scheme, they have a monopoly. There is no competition. Starting pay about a dollar per hour above average retail job. See shows for free. High energy workplace. Some positive and hard-working people in middle management and the "top dog" sales team. These positions are available if you are a good seller with perfect attendance (and get your peers to write recommendation letters for you)

    Cons

    It is my opinion that, having a monopoly, this company operates successfully in spite of weak upper management. Executive managers act very unprofessionally. One was a total diva quick to badmouth employees verbally and over email, which was left visible on the POS screen multiple times when i was there. Very high turnover. When your retail operations staff is about 150 and someone gets fired every week, that's a high turnover rate. Lots of gossip and pettiness, especially amongst the tenured staff. Favoritism runs rampant. They'll write you up if you're a minute late even one time, meanwhile the favorites and some management treat the job like it's a joke.

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful
  4. 3.0
    Former Employee, less than 1 year

    Honest Review... Expect no career just a way to get by...

    Jul 8, 2014 - Shift Manager in Las Vegas, NV
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    This company has a lot of potential to become a serious employer in the Las Vegas area. As an upscale ticket broker for around 90% of the shows on the Las Vegas strip, they are able to offer you several good benefits for being employed with this company: * Good Health Vision and Dental Benefits * Pretty good bonus structure based on overall company performance not just location or personal performance. *Employees are different in their own way which all bring some excitement and fun to the working environment. * Great starting pay for a lot of cashiers and floor people, good pay for management *Free shows and discounts to dining based on a really thought out comp system. *Policies are very well put together for reduced loss prevention aspect

    Cons

    To be with this company your whole mindset must not be a "I can build a career out of this". This company is for those who want to stay in the "JOB" aspect. This com pay was not made for those who want a longterm goal career driven life. Here are some examples of the cons for this company: *Structure for locations, schedules, and team... you will notice when you work here how often they do not have teams set up for locations. You will be sent to any of the 11 locations some within a couple hundred feet from each other. *Dirty Locations: some locations are so disgusting and dirty your working environments do not feel safe, back rooms or break areas are hidden in little closets under escalators, some are just run down kiosks with unsanitary working conditions, every location is unorganized with many different inventory items, some locations are so small that having 6-9 people working in that one small trailer (yes your location maybe a trailer put on the side of the strip) it just feels too small to even feel relaxed and comfortable. *ALOT, ALOT, ALOT, AND I MEAN ALOT OF TURNOVER in employees... These mostly due to unhappy work environments, unhappy staff, tardiness, and also GOSSIP. Be prepared to be written up for anything and everything. But don't be surprised if others are not getting written up for their mistakes. You will notice favoritism in many different ways and also a sense of hypocrisy... -Ive seen to where one rep will arrive an hour to 2 hours later because of an unfortunate event such as tire being blown on the freeway or car not operable, these people will get written up instantly, then you get those other ones who arrive late the same amount of time for other reasons and the upper management will just say "oh we were slow so it didn't effect our business performance, we will just say you were to start when you came in because of slow of business" and no write up will be written. -They recently had a meeting for all employees on how to follow policies correctly, how to treat each other correctly and how to do things that are acceptable and not acceptable, A couple of days after this meeting I saw an Executive manager sitting at Planet Hollywoods Bar lounge area smoking a cigarette and also taking a nap in uniform. This Executive manager was in charge of 3 nearby locations and is known to disappear for several moments at a time and cannot be reached. While I was on lunch witnessed this Manager for longer than an hour take a nap in this lounge area, and being awaken by security. Not only does this violate numerous company policies but also sets the wrong example of how this companies leadership works. *Expect your upper leaders in management to find every excuse in the book to leave locations early and say they are going to the main office. *Expect a lot of office administrators to hound you if have them do more work than they have to. Such as additional paperwork they may have to do because of your accidental mistake will be turned into what they may make it seems like a disaster. They also are completely lazy, don't expect anything more than the bare minimum done by them. -An administrator there had the duty to drop off ice to all locations, our location was super busy and i was the manager of the location trying to make sure all customers were being helped and taken care of, she drops the ice off to our location and says "bring this to the other location down the street, this is as far as I'm willing to go for you guys... do it before the ice melts".... *Weather, the hot weather, a lot of the locations are outside on the strip and during those hot weather months it can be extremely unbearable and although the company does what they can to make your experience less unbearable you are still expected to put up with it and be sure your are out on the sales floor a all times.

    Continue reading
    2 people found this review helpful
  5. 3.0
    Current Employee, less than 1 year

    Good for the short term

    Apr 29, 2012 -  in Las Vegas, NV
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Great benefits package. Opportunity to see all the shows in Vegas for free. Fast paced environment. with customers from all over the world.

    Cons

    Extremely difficult to get time off.Even earned vacation can be a pain to get approved. Pressure to upsell to guests who have no interest in anything more than a show ticket.

    Continue reading
    1 person found this review helpful
  6. 1.0
    Former Employee, less than 1 year

    RUN for your life...DON'T work for this company!

    Sep 18, 2013 - Manager in Las Vegas, NV
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Free shows, nose bleed seats, but free.

    Cons

    The company is run by a CEO that is sexist. (When setting up interviews for his assistant, he specifically told me he wanted a good looking woman)...when their were plenty of qualified men that applied. Kim Simon, COO believes in NO work/life balance. She is also very controlling and a micro manager. She "spies" on her employees, even her upper management employees. She "looks" for anything questionable to let someone go, without good cause. Be prepared to drop everything you are doing to serve her, and expect to work extremely long hours because she doesn't know what a work/life balance is. The company has such great potential, and they have such a great product, they just aren't good at managing people. Work for their competitor...they know how to treat their people.

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful
  7. 5.0
    Current Employee, less than 1 year

    Great Company!

    May 10, 2016 -  
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Awesome benefits. Great pay. The Company really cares about the employees wellbeing. They continually try to find ways to make the job easier.

    Cons

    As some others have said it's hard to do the job in the weather. But everyone is told that during the interview process so I don't understand why people are complaining.

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  8. 1.0
    Current Employee, less than 1 year

    Please Please RUN AWAY FROM THIS COMPANY

    Oct 4, 2015 - Shift Manager in Las Vegas, NV
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Pay is okay, Free Shows but you have too see the crappy shows before you get to see the good ones.

    Cons

    Too Many to List basically everything, this is the worst company i have ever worked for, Executive Managers are horrible, Admin Office reaks of animals disgusting work environment, Everyone is so fake its not even funny. GOSSIP every is two faced. High Pressure sales will be expected of you. no vacation for a year, cant be late even 1 minute or write up, strict uniform, lying to customers its sad there not really saving any money.

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful
  9. 2.0
    Current Employee, less than 1 year

    cons far outweight pros

    May 6, 2015 -  
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    You get free shows, and the pay is okay, and they also promote often from within. Most managers are people who started from the bottom.

    Cons

    I haven't had to much interaction w/the COO Kim Simon, but when I have it has all been negative. I believe she is the soul problem behind all of the bad behind this company. I've been invited to a few events where she shows up and pressures people to drink. If you are not a drinker she will straight up call you out in front of everyone and call you boring and lame. I usually just a glass of wine to have in my hand so she doesn't pick on me. Then one day I was invited to a lunch with her and all she wanted was for me to share any gossip or trash talk my coworkers,a nd when I wouldn't, I could see the disappointment in her face. She also pressures you to adopt her animals that she rescues and that is how people get promoted in the company. At least one time a week HR will call you at the store and ask if you can foster or adopt one of her animals. I respect what she is doing for the animals and I love animals, but it's just not right the way they force it on you. At the stores, the managers who are her favorites are tasked to spy and anyone who doesn't jump at her beck and call are immediately looked down upon and no longer invited to those drink parties, which I'm fine wtih because last thing i want to do is have to party with my bosses. It's funny though because even the managers who are her favorites, I have heard they only kiss up to her because they are scared. That's another thing, all of the drama and gossip among coworkers and management. You hear a lot of crazy things about everyone, all the way up to the COO and CEO. If everyone would just focus on doing their jobs, the work environment would be much more enjoyable. Also, getting promoted doesn't mean you've made it. In fact, I've heard more than one manager or top dog say that they wish they hadn't been promoted because now they are expected to go way above and beyond reasonable expecations like working 6 days a week, or volunteering their time at the animal shelter. Once you are in the spotlight, there is no going back. Once they have their eye on you, you can never say no to any demands they make of you. Your life goes badly and most get fired. It's sad because the job is actually fun. I jsut keep my head down and that's the only way I keep enjoying what I'm doing.

    Continue reading
    1 person found this review helpful
  10. 3.0
    Former Employee, more than 3 years

    Good money, tough environment

    Jul 22, 2013 - Anonymous Employee in Las Vegas, NV
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Good money for the job. Good benefits for the industry.

    Cons

    Outdoors in extreme weather. Disconnect between upper management and reality of daily operations. Distrust of all employees.

    Be the first to find this review helpful
Viewing 1 - 10 of 13 Reviews

Work at Tix Corporation? Share Your Experiences

Tix Corporation logo
or