Toast Inc Account Executive Reviews | Glassdoor

Create your profile to get personalized information

Toast Inc Account Executive Reviews

Updated Nov 21, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

4.4
84%
Recommend to a Friend
100%
Approve of CEO
Toast Inc CEO Chris Comparato
Chris Comparato
11 Ratings
  1. Helpful (3)

    "Best sales job in the country"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Territory Account Executive 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Toast Inc full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Honestly? Everything. Toast is an incredible company to work for. Almost all of the sales team I’m on (1/4 of the country) hits or beats quota every month. You also get to sell something you can believe in. I’ve had sales jobs selling snake oil, but when I call up my customers and ask how they’re doing, ALL of them are doing significantly better with Toast. Also, the commissions are insane. You can easily clear 100k, and the top reps are making 50% more than that.

    Cons

    Not much really. Toast is growing very quickly, so there are small changes every now and then, but management does a great job of minimizing the effects on the sales team.

    Continue reading
    Toast Inc2019-11-22
  2. Helpful (8)

    "So-So"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Account Executive 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Toast Inc full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    -Flexible but long hours -easy to get PTO -create own schedule and tactics

    Cons

    -no diversity (everyone is white) -management has a severe lack of experience with the product and most mangers never worked in lower level roles for this company (or others) -they are moving too quickly to keep quality in check

    Continue reading
    Toast Inc2019-08-06

    Toast Inc Response

    August 23, 2019Toast

    Thank you for this candid feedback. As we scale the sales org, we are always looking to strike a balance between growing our customer base and developing our teams. That’s why we’ve been putting a heavy emphasis on expanding our sales enablement and leadership development functions. Please continue to share this feedback through our weekly pulse surveying tool and don’t hesitate to reach out to me directly as well. I want to ensure that everyone feels like their voice is being heard. - Jonathan Vassil, SVP Sales

    Continue reading
  3. Helpful (1)

    "Good Growth"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Account Executive 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Toast Inc full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Will train you on sales strategies, and provides the product that reps actually believe in.

    Cons

    Micro-management from higher-ups in company

    Toast Inc2019-08-01
  4. Helpful (6)

    "Great company, high stress sales"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Account Executive 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Toast Inc full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great company culture that makes you feel like you are part of something important and special! If you have a passion for hospitality and technology this is the perfect job to consult restaurants. The product is high quality solutions for restaurant operators so you can stand behind it. The company puts a lot of effort into training and continued education on product and internal processes to assist in your success.

    Cons

    Stress! High pressure quota driven sales makes you feel like you are just a number and you are only as good as your last month. Extreme micromanagement happening in some cases. Expected to work round the clock so difficulty in work/life management aspect.

    Continue reading
    Toast Inc2019-05-20

    Toast Inc Response

    July 30, 2019Toast

    Thank you for sharing this candid feedback. As we grow and scale the sales org, this is definitely something that we will be working to improve. We want to ensure that the Toast experience is consistent for all sales reps. Please continue to share this feedback through our weekly pulse surveying tool and don’t hesitate to reach out to me directly as well. I appreciate all your hard work and contributions to the success of our team! - Jonathan Vassil, SVP Sales

    Continue reading
  5. "Awesome company, lots of room to grow."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Account Executive 

    I have been working at Toast Inc full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Work hard, play hard environment.

    Cons

    None that I can think of.

    Toast Inc2019-04-24
  6. Helpful (3)

    "Great Career Move"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Territory Account Executive in San Diego, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Toast Inc full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    It's early in my career at Toast, but every once in a while you land somewhere and know immediately that it's something special. It's clear as day how much value the company places in the success (personal and professional) of each Toaster, whether in the home office or in the field. That's a rarity and is something to be proud of. I could very well end my career here as the company is growing in so many directions and will present opportunities to contribute in a number of different areas in the future.

    Cons

    I haven't personally experienced anything that could be considered a 'con' in my time at Toast.

    Continue reading
    Toast Inc2019-04-11

    Toast Inc Response

    April 25, 2019Toast

    We’re so grateful to have you on the team! I look forward to supporting your growth and celebrating your success. Thank you for all that you do! - Jonathan Vassil, SVP, Sales

    Continue reading
  7. "Great place to grow and learn"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Account Executive in Boston, MA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Toast Inc full-time

    Pros

    Tons of opportunity to learn and grow

    Cons

    Growth was a bit insane

    Continue reading
    Toast Inc2019-04-02
  8. "Amazing Culture, Career Development, Comp., and Innovation"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Account Executive in Chicago, IL
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Toast Inc full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Innovative and rocket ship metrics. Competitive Compensation plans. A obsessed focus on customer and employee success. Matched 401k, full benefits, unlimited PTO, wellness stipend and much more employee benefits.

    Cons

    I have not been able to find any other than the predictable early stage road bumps a couple of years ago.

    Toast Inc2019-02-14

    Toast Inc Response

    February 21, 2019Employer Brand Manager

    Thank you for joining us on the rocket ship 3+ years ago! You've been such an integral part of our success story, and I'm looking forward to all that is to come! - JV, SVP, Sales

    Continue reading
  9. "Account Executive"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Account Executive in Los Angeles, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Toast Inc full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    The freedom of this job is unparalleled. If you have great work ethic and great time management skills you will literally be able to do anything you want at any time. The pay is also pretty good. The better you do the more you get paid.

    Cons

    Sometimes too much freedom and self accountability needed. It's easy to get lost in this job and overwhelmed. If you can prioritize level of importance and just keep hammering away from the top down on level of importance you will be fine.

    Continue reading
    Toast Inc2018-11-02

    Toast Inc Response

    November 27, 2018Employer Brand Manager

    I appreciate you taking the time to share this feedback! It's super valuable. I agree- the level of autonomy is unparalleled, but I can understand where this can also be a challenge. As we head into 2019, I promise that we're doing our best to improve communication between HQ and the field. - Jonathan Vassil, SVP, Sales

    Continue reading
  10. Helpful (32)

    "Amazing company doing everything right!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Territory Account Executive 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Toast Inc full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    From a business point of view, they are growing rapidly. This generates a feeling of excitement & optimism with opportunities to shine at every turn. From a product point of view, customers are in love. Toast is an amazing product and is being invested into heavily. You can be confident that what they have is truly game changing. From a culture point of view, Toast goes out of its way to ensure employee happiness as well as investing into communities.

    Cons

    Rapid growth = some pain points. Naturally. If you thrive in an upstart environment and can be flexible and resourceful, this is the place for you. If you need everything spell out clearly and refuse to do anything outside of your job description, this is not yet the company for you.

    Continue reading
    Toast Inc2018-06-22
Found 12 reviews