Toast Inc Reviews | Glassdoor

Toast Inc Reviews

Updated Dec 11, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

4.0
79%
Recommend to a Friend
91%
Approve of CEO
Toast Inc CEO Chris Comparato
Chris Comparato
119 Ratings
  1. "Love the Team"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - PAYMENTS in Boston, MA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Toast Inc full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great team, intelligent coworkers, motivated to make an impact

    Cons

    Typical start-up woes when the company is growing fast

    Advice to Management

    Growth above all else can come at a cost occasionally. I don't have any advice on how to manage better

    Toast Inc2019-09-12
  2. Helpful (4)

    "Still a lot of growing to do"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Customer Support in Boston, MA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Toast Inc full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    The people at Toast are great! Not a bad apple in the bunch! It was fun interacting with them on a daily basis.

    Cons

    The work is VERY stressful, especially in Support. There was a LOT of turnover. Also, there didn't seem to be an interest from management to make a better product. Rather, the focus seemed to be on "going public," which means making a product just good enough to sell, but not spending a lot of effort making it better. Sales were more important.

    Advice to Management

    The advantage Toast had was its cheapness. Once (if) Toast becomes a major player in the POS market, it will have to shift from sales to quality. Support is a big part of that. Better invest in it now, than suffer the repercussions later.

    Toast Inc2019-09-17
  3. Create your profile to get personalized information

  4. "Innovative and growing company that cares about it's employees"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - G&A in Boston, MA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Toast Inc full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Employee Benefits: Time-off, 401k match People and Culture: No Ego. Fun events. Tech stack: Using the best of breed tools

    Cons

    Fast-paced environment that is changing rapidly

    Toast Inc2019-09-03
  5. "Great Company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Field Engineer 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Toast Inc part-time

    Pros

    GREAT COMPANY TO WORK FOR

    Cons

    None At this time for now

    Advice to Management

    Great

    Toast Inc2019-09-01
  6. "Awesome Environment and Rewarding"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Sales Associate in Boston, MA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Toast Inc full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Love coming to work every day. Unlimited PTO is real as long as your putting in work to deserve it. Fast track to growth and great office environment

    Cons

    Unclear metrics, the hiring spree seems disorganized and not correlated well to ensure every team is well equipped.

    Advice to Management

    N/A

    Toast Inc2019-08-28
  7. "NONE"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Customer Service Specialist 
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Toast Inc full-time

    Pros

    Unlimited PTO was the best for wanting time off

    Cons

    Weird hours for awhile but changed after two years

    Advice to Management

    They were always helpful towards me

    Toast Inc2019-08-11
  8. Helpful (8)

    "So-So"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Account Executive 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Toast Inc full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    -Flexible but long hours -easy to get PTO -create own schedule and tactics

    Cons

    -no diversity (everyone is white) -management has a severe lack of experience with the product and most mangers never worked in lower level roles for this company (or others) -they are moving too quickly to keep quality in check

    Advice to Management

    listen to your employees when they tell you what is wrong LEAD by EXAMPLE

    Toast Inc2019-08-06
  9. Helpful (1)

    "Good Growth"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Account Executive 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Toast Inc full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Will train you on sales strategies, and provides the product that reps actually believe in.

    Cons

    Micro-management from higher-ups in company

    Toast Inc2019-08-01
  10. Helpful (1)

    "The best company to begin your sales career!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Sales Associate in Boston, MA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Toast Inc full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    I started my sales career at Toast 6 months after graduating from college and I couldn't have picked a better company. I am most grateful for the effort Toast makes in helping entry-level employees grow their careers - helping us develop key, lasting, and transferable sales qualities. As a Sales Associate (SA), you are given all the tools and resources to succeed. Your direct manager, Sales Enablement and senior... players are all here to refine your skills. I cannot speak highly enough of the opportunities for career progression at Toast. If you perform, show you are a hard worker, and have the fire in your belly to advance, there will always be opportunities for promotions. This past week, after being 120% over quota for 6 months, 40 of us were rewarded with a 4-day, all expenses paid vacation to Iceland. Talk about motivation to perform! This trip was planned to a tee and all 40 of us had the time of our lives exploring a country and city that most of us had never been too. Thank you Toast.

    Show More

    Cons

    Due to Toast growing so rapidly, the first 2 months I was here the commission plan was very unclear. At the moment it was frustrating, but senior management continued to be transparent as they worked out final details, and 7 months later nobody on the sales floor would have a bad thing to say about our commission structure.

    Advice to Management

    Keep doing what you are doing!! Be transparent as the program grows, which you have been doing, and continue to offer office hours. I love that if I needed to I could put time on someone's calendar like Adam Mavrikos (VP of Sales), which I have done before.

    Toast Inc2019-07-30
  11. Helpful (2)

    "Best Place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Technical Support in Omaha, NE
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Toast Inc full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Toast values their customers and their employees beyond any company I've ever had the opportunity to work for.

    Cons

    It takes dedication and a lot of desire to learn and grow as the company grows.

    Advice to Management

    Become a little bit more open to hiring individuals who have a work hostory that shows longevity. Mid-aged applicant= longevity = dedication = loyalty

    Toast Inc2019-07-25
Found 172 reviews