Toast Inc Reviews | Glassdoor

Toast Inc Reviews

Updated Dec 11, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

4.0
79%
Recommend to a Friend
91%
Approve of CEO
Toast Inc CEO Chris Comparato
Chris Comparato
119 Ratings
  1. Helpful (3)

    "I Finally Like My Job"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Boston, MA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Toast Inc full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    I have never been at a job that truly cares about it's values and has such amazing upper management. The execs truly care about their employees and it is clear they want all employees to have a work/life balance. That being said, be prepared to work hard/play hard! If you like to keep busy and be challenged this is definitely the place for you. I have never felt such support. It's true Toast is 100% Sunday Scary... Free!

    Show More

    Cons

    Can't think of any. Just challenges consistent with a rapidly growing company but we are all in it together.

    Advice to Management

    So advice. Just thank you. After over a decade of job hopping and feeling like I'll never figure out where I belong... I have found Toast!

    Toast Inc2019-05-24
  2. Helpful (2)

    "Amazing culture"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Sales Associate in Boston, MA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Toast Inc full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    this company has been a blessing to work for. I think I can speak for myself and all of my colleagues on the sales floor when I say I actually like coming to work. When I applied, I was promised fast career progression, support, perks, and an overall great quality of life. That is exactly what I have been given. The managers here actually want to help and look out for the interest of their team. The culture cannot... be beat. Everyone is here to play as a team, and if you have an ego, you probably dont work here. This is a work hard, play hard environment, so come to work hungry to learn and achieve!

    Show More

    Cons

    Growing so fast i cant keep up!

    Advice to Management

    Keep supporting your team as a whole, treat all as equals, dont just say "do better" actually tell us how to do better, give examples of better talk tracks or actively show and tell us how to be better everyday.

    Toast Inc2019-05-15
  3. Helpful (1)

    "Fast paced, customer (restaurant) focused"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Operations in Boston, MA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Toast Inc full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Fast-paced quickly growing company means there's never a dull moment! Lots of exciting work to be done, challenges to tackle and problems to solve. Toast truly lives by it's " no ego" value. Founders and upper management are approachable, available and willing to get their hands dirty. There's very limited hierarchy here, which is refreshing! Many people come from hospitality industry backgrounds and are very... passionate about improving the restaurant industry.

    Show More

    Cons

    Scaling quickly and can, at times, feel chaotic. Many tasks come at you at once and it can be difficult to prioritize. Because Toast moves quickly, sometimes new programs and processes are not rolled out/executed as well as you'd expect for a company of this size. Not a good place for someone who wants a 9-5 M-F work week. Most departments have flexibility surrounding hours and working from home, but in return,... you need to be ok with your work/life balance tilting more towards the work side.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Focus more effort on effective change management and prioritization.

    Toast Inc2019-05-15
  4. Helpful (26)

    "The rocketship that just keeps on flying"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Software Engineer in Boston, MA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Toast Inc full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    I'm thrilled to be a part of the Toast family. Since starting here, I've seen the company evolve from bands of engineers to highly disciplined, cross-functional teams. The opportunity that we have to become the leader in the restaurant POS industry is the kind that you're lucky to see even once in your career. It remains a privilege to work alongside the incredibly talented team here. Things haven't always been... perfect. The last time I reviewed Toast, I had to include a few cons: that work/life balance could sometimes be stretched, that there was no 401k matching, and that compensation relative to the industry was a little on the low side. Management here listens, and the proof of that is that a little over a year later, all of those concerns have been addressed. Compensation, including equity, feels right for Boston. The 401K match was overdue, but is finally here. The hiring of additional engineering leadership has helped make individual teams function more efficiently and plan their workloads better. We do stupid things a lot less often. For those of us who have been around longer, we are even now also offered a "Toast sabbatical", a one-month long paid vacation provided in additional to your normal annual PTO.

    Show More

    Cons

    This is not the kind of workplace you can expect to perform the bare minimum in. Is that even a con?

    Advice to Management

    Keep up the great work! The time spent addressing employees concerns has not gone unnoticed.

    Toast Inc2019-02-15
  5. "Nothing but a positive"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Manager in Boston, MA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Toast Inc full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Open, honest, transparent, ethical and concerned

    Cons

    Sometimes rapid growth brings rapid change: some don’t like that

    Advice to Management

    Keep following your vision and keep sharing your vision.

    Toast Inc2019-05-06
  6. "Amazing company, growing like crazy!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Recruiter in Boston, MA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Toast Inc full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    The culture, people, opportunities for career progression, and management are unlike any other company. Such a wonderful atmosphere!

    Cons

    The company is growing SO quickly, and some of the organization surrounding accommodations can feel a bit wonky

    Toast Inc2019-05-03
  7. "Express Train to Success"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Toast Inc full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    -inclusive workplace -accessible leadership -awesome benefits -managers and teammates are super supportive and want you to succeed -fast moving train but so many opportunities to grow your career quickly -Toast Core values (Recipe of a Toaster) are highly considered

    Cons

    -Boston HQ is getting cramped as we grow in numbers. Luckily there are renovation plans in place to recreate our office and make room for our projected growth.

    Toast Inc2019-05-03
  8. "Awesome company, lots of room to grow."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Account Executive 

    I have been working at Toast Inc full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Work hard, play hard environment.

    Cons

    None that I can think of.

    Toast Inc2019-04-24
  9. "Amazing Experience!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Systems Analyst in Boston, MA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Toast Inc full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Growing company and great energy all around! Employees are engaged and committed to the success of the clients, the company and each other. The office atmosphere is relaxed and comfortable, very supportive leadership. A wonderful combination of fun perks and inclusive culture - and a truly innovative product!

    Cons

    None I can think of.

    Advice to Management

    Keep on growing!

    Toast Inc2019-04-25
  10. Helpful (3)

    "Great Career Move"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Territory Account Executive in San Diego, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Toast Inc full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    It's early in my career at Toast, but every once in a while you land somewhere and know immediately that it's something special. It's clear as day how much value the company places in the success (personal and professional) of each Toaster, whether in the home office or in the field. That's a rarity and is something to be proud of. I could very well end my career here as the company is growing in so many... directions and will present opportunities to contribute in a number of different areas in the future.

    Show More

    Cons

    I haven't personally experienced anything that could be considered a 'con' in my time at Toast.

    Advice to Management

    Keep doing what you're doing!

    Toast Inc2019-04-11
Found 172 reviews