Tokio Marine HCC Reviews

Updated May 7, 2021

To filter reviews, or .
3.7
67%
Recommend to a Friend
88%
Approve of CEO
Tokio Marine HCC CEO Susan Rivera (no image)
Susan Rivera
36 Ratings
Pros
  • "The company makes its best effort to provide a stable environment and good benefits for all(in 12 reviews)

  • "Excellent leadership, great growth opportunities, work/life balance(in 11 reviews)

  • Cons
  • "I would like to see a formal work from home program(in 9 reviews)

  • "Static career with no room for growth(in 4 reviews)

  • More Pros and Cons
    Pros & Cons are excerpts from user reviews. They are not authored by Glassdoor.
    1. 5.0
      Current Employee, less than 1 year
      Featured Review

      Terrific place to work

      Jul 13, 2020 - Product Manager in Encino, CA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      The IT/Dev team provides a supportive environment that provides plenty of training and guidance, yet allows you to contribute in meaningful ways and take the initiative to lead. A friendly team with interesting work.

      Cons

      Can sometimes be hard to discern priorities, but that is fairly common across the industry.

      4 people found this review helpful
    2. 5.0
      Current Employee

      People ask me why I like working for Tokio Marine HCC

      Mar 28, 2021 - Anonymous Employee 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Compared to previous companies I've worked at, I've found TMHCC to be a truly collaborative environment, where efforts are made to always make things better. Regardless of whether it's workflows, communication, business relationships, systems, benefits, etc., there's a strong spirit of exploration, innovation, commitment and collaboration with each other.

      Cons

      Continuous emphasis to be better - but I don't know how that's necessarily a bad thing.

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    3. 1.0
      Former Employee, more than 8 years

      Avoid after acquisition.

      Apr 15, 2021 - Claims Examiner 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      The only pro is the temporary work from home, which was only available due to the pandemic. All other pros of this company were sold with the acquisition.

      Cons

      The management team is completely inefficient. Turnover is astronomical and the work takes a long time learn, so your mountain will just grow ever higher. Management will tell you it is okay to drown, you won't get in trouble, just ask for help. No help will be given, you will get in trouble, and you will just continue to acquire work from the people lucky enough to leave for greener pastures. Favoritism abounds in this company - do not expect fair or equal treatment. If the director likes you, you will be given all sorts of perks. If the director does not like you, you will float along a river of massive work and never be promoted or rewarded fairly.

      Continue reading
      3 people found this review helpful
    4. 4.0
      Current Employee

      Good company

      Apr 21, 2021 - Other 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Kind, family-oriented people Flexible and great work-life balance

      Cons

      run finances very tight & slow to technological change

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    5. 1.0
      Current Employee, more than 5 years

      Save yourself! Save your mental, emotional, and physical health

      Apr 15, 2021 - Internal Auditor in Houston, TX
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Some of the people throughout Corporate and the company are great to work with. Nice charity support. Interesting company/product offerings.

      Cons

      Management will micromanage all you do and insist you prioritize work over personal obligations. They have no empathy and are demeaning, degrading, and disrespectful. They pressure you until you just don’t care anymore. Few opportunities for advancement. Not family or working mom friendly. They have lost many GREAT employees due to mistreatment during the pandemic. Top talent gone! This is pervasive in many departments.

      Continue reading
      2 people found this review helpful
    6. 4.0
      Current Employee

      Good place to work

      Apr 9, 2021 - Insurance Advisor in Detroit, MI
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Company culture is great and pay is fair.

      Cons

      Lots of changes which is causing confusion for employees.

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    7. 1.0
      Former Employee

      The most challenging in my career, but not in a good way.

      May 5, 2021 - Underwriter 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      None that could me to mind

      Cons

      Hostile work environment and poor local management. Leadership professes excellent field leadership which is far from the truth.

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    8. 4.0
      Current Employee, more than 3 years

      Flexible - 60% Work From Home - Easy

      Apr 6, 2021 - Medical Underwriting Assistant in Minnetonka, MN
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Flexible, Autonomous, Benefits, Overtime, Growth Focused

      Cons

      Hourly, Corporate, Sr. Management Differences

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    9. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 3 years

      Amazing Company

      Feb 19, 2021 - Associate Business Systems Analyst in New York, NY
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Culture is very friendly. Nobody high up in the company is too out of reach. There are many days that I find myself working with C suite executives. Very rewarding work with extremely high visibility. Also, you get overtime pay!

      Cons

      Sometimes if you are juggling many technical projects you can find yourself working longer hours, but management heavily encourages work life balance. When you do work long hours you are compensated extra for anything over 40 hours (at an increased pay rate)

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    10. 5.0
      Current Employee

      Great company

      Nov 2, 2020 - Intern in Houston, TX
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      In my experience with TMHCC, they have entrusted me with many opportunities for learning and growth. I feel like it's possible to move up within this organization. As long as you are willing to put in the work, the sky is the limit. Social awareness and sensitivity is always something I look for in any company I work for, and especially in the social climate we're in right now, it's more important than ever. I've been very impressed by the measures TMHCC has taken to address any inequities that exist and fix them. This company doesn't just talk the talk, they walk the walk. For the first time I've seen every employee as a whole exhibit genuine concern and a commitment to become educated and take action. It's a refreshing change from other companies that distribute some generic compliance training and call it a day. The work environment here is pretty laid back. I feel motivated and encouraged to work rather than pressured and stressed. Overall, my experience here has been great, and I can't recommend TMHCC enough.

      Cons

      None that I can think of.

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    Viewing 1 - 10 of 145 Reviews

    Popular Careers with Tokio Marine HCC Job Seekers

    Underwriter
    Learn About the Job
    JobsSalariesInterviews
    Human Resources Assistant - Temp
    Learn About the Job
    IT Desktop Support Specialist
    Learn About the Job
    Corporate Compliance Manager
    Learn About the Job

    Work at Tokio Marine HCC? Share Your Experiences

    Tokio Marine HCC logo
    or