Tolmar Reviews | Glassdoor

Tolmar Reviews

Updated Oct 16, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

3.1
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
50%
Recommend to a Friend
37%
Approve of CEO
Tolmar CEO  (no image)
11 Ratings
  1. Helpful (15)

    "False reviews"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook

    I have been working at Tolmar full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    The pay and benefits are pretty good.

    Cons

    I swear that they must be paying people to post positive reviews because a bunch of positive reviews go up whenever there are too many negative ones. Turn over is a major problem. We are losing employees faster than we can replace them. HR is full of people with no HR background before Tolmar. They focus on perks like picnics but aren't fixing real problems like hostile and incompetent supervisors, managers,... and directoes. Anyone hired into management who tries to change things for the better gets fired. Employee morale is bad. Employees are unhappy and afraid to speak up. There is retribution for those who do and nothing changes so there is no reason to say anything.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    You need to get rid of a lot of the upper management. That might be you too.

    Tolmar2017-09-27
  2. Helpful (1)

    "What a great place to work!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Tolmar full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    -Excellent Benefits and pay -Family approach to the work environment -Team oriented management style -Local community supportive -Honesty and integrity amongst all employees is shared value and part of the corporate culture -Growing by leaps and bounds

    Cons

    Pressure to meet goals and objectives can be intense at times, if you cant handle pressure or multi-task this may not be the right place for you

    Advice to Management

    Keep up the good work! 100+ employees to 600+ in less than 10 years - you must be doing something right!!!

    Tolmar2017-09-05
  3. Helpful (7)

    "Hostile Work Environment"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Analyst in Fort Collins, CO
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook

    I have been working at Tolmar full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    The benefits are competitive with the industry.

    Cons

    Management is hostile towards their employees. Employees are promoted based on favoritism with little regard for work ethic. Employees are told not to work long hours, but the amount of work expected from them requires it (unless they're a management lap dog). Other employees are cruel to each other in order to get ahead. Management has no experience outside of Tolmar, and therefore have no idea what they are doing... in regards to following the Code of Federal Regulations. The director of quality is unqualified, unsympathetic, and makes rash decisions that have to be compensated for down the road.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Quit.

    Tolmar2017-09-01
  4. Helpful (1)

    "TOLMAR - Overall Great Company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Fort Collins, CO
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Tolmar full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Competitive salary, great benefits, more paid holidays than most companies, longevity of the management team, many opportunities for advancement with proven track record.

    Cons

    Keeping up with current technology as the company's growth has sky rocketed.

    Tolmar2017-07-28
  5. Helpful (3)

    "Packaging Tech I"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Packaging Technician in Windsor, CO

    I have been working at Tolmar

    Pros

    Insurance and hours. Company events and several holidays off paid. Seems to be growing a lot and have potential to be a positive place to be.

    Cons

    Can be hostile environment, manufacturing is not very friendly or positive place to work. To much negativity from senior employees.

    Advice to Management

    Moral needs to be increased.

    Tolmar2017-07-26
  6. Helpful (14)

    "Arrogant and Abusive Management!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Fort Collins, CO
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook

    I worked at Tolmar full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Can't think of any positives.

    Cons

    Tolmar's senior management has: 1. Created a caustic culture that is characterized by the use of only one motivational tool - fear. 2. Made really bad (bordering on incompetent) investment decisions that led to employees losing their jobs and whole business units being liquidated. All this without consequence for the senior leaders making the poor decisions.

    Advice to Management

    Advice to owners - clean out upper management or hold existing upper management accountable for their bad decisions (and then clean them out).

    Tolmar2017-06-16
  7. Helpful (8)

    "HR is as bad as they say"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook

    I worked at Tolmar full-time

    Pros

    They have a good 401K match after the first year. The company is growing. It is located in beautiful northern Colorado

    Cons

    As a professional, I was offered a job if I would take a pay cut. When I said no, they said they would pay me as a lateral move since this was a lateral job and HR got really upset when I said no. They finally came up a with a really great offer, but I knew that HR would punish me if I took the job

    Advice to Management

    HR is supposed to balance the needs of the company with the needs of the employees, who are a resource. HR should not be looking to screw employees to help the company. This is unwise long term

    Tolmar2017-05-22
  8. Helpful (1)

    "Current Employee, 10+ years"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Chemist in Fort Collins, CO
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Tolmar full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Tolmar is a progressive, positive working environment that has many opportunities to grow and expand on your career pathways. The benefits package alone rivals other companies in Fort Collins as well as in Northern Colorado. I enjoy going to work, I feel good about the product we are producing, and can support my family with my paycheck and insurance benefits.

    Cons

    Tolmar has progressed in the last 10 years to become a competitive pharmaceutical business. A con would be since we have see explosive growth, our buildings are already becoming too tight for the current staff to fit in!

    Advice to Management

    Keep up the great work at ensuring I have a company that I can retire from and be able to stay in Fort Collins (area) for the rest of my career!

    Tolmar2017-05-01
  9. Helpful (1)

    "Great Company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Microbiologist in Fort Collins, CO
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Tolmar full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Great benefits, good people to work with

    Cons

    Some growing pains with new facilities and schedules

    Tolmar2017-04-20
  10. Helpful (9)

    "Don't know why I ever stayed with this company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Tolmar full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    The benefits are solid. They have some great employees who work here, although everyone is unhappy. Company holiday party is a good time.

    Cons

    Management is pathetic, HR does whatever they want with no consequences. They enforce mandatory overtime with no additional pay because they can't get anyone hired.

    Advice to Management

    Show some loyalty to your employees. I have worked in many fields and have never seen management sabotage their employees as much as it happens here. Management is meant to be there for employees to come to with issues, concerns or ideas... Not here! Everyone is scared to get thrown under the bus by management or be put on their "naughty" list. And trust me, once you are on that list you might as well just quit... because they will hold everything and anything over your head. Except for a select few who somehow seem to get away with everything. For these people, they will sweep anything under the rug to keep them around. For example, a "lab tech" (glorified dishwasher) whom has been there for 7+ years cannot ever seem to do ANYTHING right but management "takes care of" all of his mistakes and acts as if he is the greatest employee! Quite comical if you ask me.

    Show More
    Tolmar2017-05-22
Found 91 reviews