Tolmar "upper management" Reviews | Glassdoor

Tolmar Employee Reviews about "upper management"

Updated Oct 16, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

3.1
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
50%
Recommend to a Friend
37%
Approve of CEO
Tolmar CEO  (no image)
11 Ratings
Pros
  • "Great benefits and 401k matching(in 7 reviews)

  • "Good benefits and hard workers in manufacturing and research/development(in 6 reviews)

Cons
More Pros and Cons

Reviews about "upper management"

Return to all Reviews
  1. "Unprofessional"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Fort Collins, CO
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Tolmar full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    The only pro this company has are its benefits.

    Cons

    Unprofessional, unfair wages, favoritism. Every department here is unprofessional. They are rude, they disrupt you while you’re talking, and don’t acknowledge what you are saying. When there are problems, rather than solving them, they brush it under the mat with hopes of it disappearing. Problems are hidden from the FDA and from the auditors—which is very concerning for a pharmaceutical company. HR hires people... who are unqualified for their position which leads to another team member picking up their slack to avoid working overtime. Favoritism is a major problem at this company; if you are liked by your coworkers/upper management, you could get away with anything but if you are disliked, then you will have the worst time of your life here. Overall company culture is horrible and team morale is low.

    Show More
    Tolmar2019-10-13
  2. Helpful (5)

    "Avoid unless last option"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Fort Collins, CO
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook

    I worked at Tolmar full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    They pay minimal money, but you do get paid

    Cons

    The worst working environment I have ever been in. Continuously shaft workers so that upper management can get bonuses. Overtime all the time due to poor planning. No training available for mechanics No budget for maintenance Always hide problems from FDA and customers Promote buddies to management positions regardless of ability No desire to improve Everything that is wrong with pharmaceutical companies is... treasured here.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Learn how to actually run a business and treat your employees as more than functional monkeys

    Tolmar2018-08-30
  3. Helpful (19)

    "An Incredibly Dysfunctional Company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Fort Collins, CO
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook

    I have been working at Tolmar full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    -Benefits, 401K Employer Match -Paid Birthday Holiday and full week off around Christmas -(depending on whether you're hourly or not) a lot of overtime

    Cons

    Although it's had different names, the main facility and departments at TOLMAR have been around for roughly 25 years. You would think this would be enough time for a company to come up with procedures and systems for adequate training, handling growth, and adopting a culture of quality. You couldn't be more wrong. In my three years working here I have seen a lot of promising individuals come and go once they... realized how the big the problems are, and how unlikely they're going to be fixed. It is very difficult for this company to retain talent. With that, what you have left is people in leadership positions who lack experience and maturity. Many employees and reviews I'm seeing say the company has "growing pains." That would count if the company had some kind of plan for growth in the first place. The truth is all decisions are made in haste, without thinking things through, and without consideration for the repercussions downstream. This is our expansion the two new facilities in Fort Collins and Windsor in a nutshell. There is no culture of quality here, but rather that of fear, a "just get it done" attitude, and a lot of office politics. There is a skeleton crew in every department and unreasonably tight budget constraints, to the point where it interferes with departments doing the most basic projects. With the lack of structure, your way up depends on who you're related to or how well you cozy up with supervisors. On top of that, the pay is low - and saying "below market rate" misses the point. This is the only pharmaceutical company in the area, for now TOLMAR owns the market. I would like to think this company has potential, but it doesn't exist with our current leadership, not until they hold themselves accountable for the sustainsble growth of this company, promote based on demontrated performance, keep the cronyism in-check, invest in their employees, and operate with integrity. Other pharmaceutical companies will show up in Northern Colorado, and TOLMAR will lose employees fast when that happens. -Frequent Restructuring in Upper Management -Lacking in Training -No Work-Life Balance -Poor Compensation -Inept Supervisors/Managers -Favoritism/Cronyism -Toxic Environment in some departments

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    I have very little faith in any kind of change happening, but: -Hold leadership accountable -Stop pushing for manufacturing suites to operate when you're dealing with the main equipment breaking down daily -Ease off unreasonable budget constraints -Invest in personnel -Communiticate, not only from department head to department head, but to the individuals directly impacted -Lead with honesty and respect... towards employees

    Show More
    Tolmar2018-02-27

    Tolmar Response

    March 21, 2018Human Resources Coordinator

    Thank you for sharing your feedback - we are sorry to hear that you feel this way. Since you are a current employee, we would also be happy to address your concerns through the direct avenues available to you so that you could provide more specifics in support of a constructive process toward resolution. Although it is true that our company has been in existence in different forms for over 25 years, we have only existed in our current structure as Tolmar since 2007. Before Tolmar, we were part of a Canadian company, QLT, and prior to that we were Atrix Laboratories. During the time that we have been established as Tolmar, we have experienced exponential growth - expanding from 134 employees in 2007 to the 652 employees we have today. As you mention, this type of rapid expansion does not come without its challenges, which we have weathered in the most feasible ways possible given the dynamics of change. Two years ago, we evaluated areas of our operations that needed improvements and determined, as you mentioned, that our training process had tremendous room for improvement. Since this discovery we have formed a Learning and Development team that is dedicated to revamping and improving our approach to training, including training on leadership development. This has been an extensive undertaking and is being rolled out in phases by department, with 2 of our largest departments currently implementing these processes. Every attempt is made to ensure our employees are able to experience a positive work/life balance. One of the ways we ensure this is through our generous benefits package, which provides employees with 3 weeks of paid time off annually, an additional week of sick pay each year, and a holiday closure in December which allows them to spend a week or more with their families without using any vacation time, and other personal leave opportunities as a qualifying need arises. Additionally, we offer a very generous 401(k) match in order to help prepare our employees financially for a future beyond their tenure with the company. Another demonstration of our respect for our employees’ lives outside of work is our commitment to limiting our expansion to facilities located in Northern Colorado. While a more centralized “campus” may have made our expansion easier logistically, our interest in focusing on new facilities in the geographic area where the majority of our employees live was intentional to avoid a company move to the Denver metro area. Employee compensation is evaluated at a minimum on an annual basis, utilizing validated salary data detailing comparable pay practices in the pharmaceutical industry as well as in Northern Colorado. Through these routine verifications, we are continually ensuring that employees are paid at or above current market averages. Finally, we strive to put quality at the forefront of everything we do. Our commitment to quality can be seen in our audit history, having never received any warning letters and being audited by multiple regulatory agencies on a regular basis. We also make every effort to keep employees as up to date as possible on quality training initiatives. All employees receive annual cGMP training and supplemental trainings throughout the year related to quality practices. We pride ourselves on transparency and would appreciate the opportunity to respond personally to your valued feedback.

    Show Less
  4. Helpful (6)

    "you got to kidding"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Windsor, CO
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Tolmar full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    they are located in Colorado

    Cons

    company makes money and upper management brag's about it. nothing ever trickles down to the working staff. Management stands on top of employees and berates and intimidates staff. no personal time they want you to answer to them 24/7 yes Holidays included. They have GOLDEN EMPLOYEES that do no wrong even when proven they were at Fault . H.R cares only about management and management protection.

    Advice to Management

    start treating employees with the respect they deserve. Christmas parties and Picnics do not make up for being treated like animals the rest of the year.

    Tolmar2017-12-12
  5. Helpful (6)

    "Disorganized, mismanaged mess, yet proud of itself nonetheless"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook

    I worked at Tolmar full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Good 401k program, good health benefits.

    Cons

    These positive reviews are not realistic, not normal for most people. Fictitious. Anyway, the cons are: poor planning, horrifyingly unappreciative and disgustingly condescending upper management, which is intrinsically flawed too to bottom (you know what rolls downhill), most departments can't hold on to good employees. They are as bad or worse than these other reviews, depending on which department you are in.... Manufacturing? Awful morale, many lazy employees (and some supervisors), some shifts carry others. Witch hunts and favoritism common. Lots of finger pointing. Management wants you turn straw into gold. You will spend hours tracking down equipment, batch records, issues materials, supervisor sign offs, bulk and material release, etc. QA? Overworked, overstressed, underpaid, underappreciated. QC/micro? Revolving door of employees. High expectations for a super quick turnaround on test results for production..nearly impossibly due to new untrained staff, old crappy equipment, impossible turnaround demands. Thankless job. HR? Worst department of all. Self serving, political, drama queens, unprofessional, treats employees like just a number. Pushes injured employees to return to work before the doctors release them. You can only take off days that you have earned PTO for. Harsh penalties for being a minute late a few times. Can't trust this HR, best to avoid them altogether. Best to avoid this whole company if you want to feel good about your life. By the way, because of inadequate staffing, most departments have to work mandatory overtime, which they claim is temporary, but has been unchanged for a long time, with no end in sight.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Pearls before swine. No thanks. They wouldn't listen anyway, too proud, too narrow minded, Noses in the air, and they just don't care.

    Tolmar2017-04-20
  6. Helpful (15)

    "Tolmar is only a job."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     in Windsor, CO
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook

    I worked at Tolmar

    Pros

    There are a few good people left but the smart ones are leaving quickly. The 401k match is above average. The week off for Christmas is nice if management doesn't require you to work it. For salaried employees there is no extra pay, no bonus and no comp days.

    Cons

    All of the cons posted in prior reviews are true i.e... Unrealistic expectations from upper management, employees are treated as if they are disposable, very little promotional opportunities, low pay for pharma, the list goes on and on. Bonus is only paid out to director level and above and all upper management cares about is the payout of their bonus. Corners are cut and falsifying of validation and other... documentation occurs to meet unrealistic timelines. Most long term employees are poor performers with bad habits. Instead of addressing these long term poor performers management piles on more work and responsibilities onto the employees who try to make a difference and actually take pride in their work. The engineering group including management is worthless. They will throw anyone under the bus to protect their image and in turn their bonus. If you are unemployed then Tolmar can be a job but that is all it is and will ever be.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Respect your employees! Reward the top performers and get rid of the dead weight.

    Tolmar2016-08-12
  7. Helpful (20)

    "Troubled company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Fort Collins, CO
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook

    I worked at Tolmar full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Medical, dental and 401K benefits. There are a lot of very good employees who are helpful, caring and devoted. The company is growing, layoffs are not a problem.

    Cons

    Tolmar is heading for trouble due to poor upper management decisions. Quality is slipping due to a “we want it done right now” attitude taking precedence over “we want it done right”. Setting unrealistic deadlines that are impossible to meet and then blaming and punishing the employees who bend over backwards to try to reach those deadlines is driving good people out of the company. Politics, favoritism towards... the worst in management and blame is the new norm. They do not invest in their employees- they have slashed all training budgets so there is minimal training and absolutely no concern for employee goals or professional development. The computer systems are so out of date that many of the software programs required for daily business are not upgradable, and no longer supported. Employees need to work with antiquated sample tracking and trending, inadequate and outdated training programs and systems. Current employees beware- HR is not your friend, they are not on your side. Also, you will get paid more to go to a different company.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Advice to management- why bother? It would not be heeded even if anyone in HR or upper management roles actually did read these reviews, don’t confuse them with the facts, their minds are already made up. They continually drive out the best management and bring in hostile, disrespecting managers to replace them. They want “yes” men and pedigreed yet woefully inexperienced people to head up the important stuff,... and then wonder why they are facing the mass exodus of highly experienced SMEs in 2016. Advancement and promotions for internal employees is laughable. The hard work and ambition shown by truly great employees is rewarded with no bonus, few and far between promotions and eventually the door if you aren’t careful.

    Show More
    Tolmar2016-05-20
  8. Helpful (11)

    "A cozy prison feel"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Packaging Tech I in Fort Collins, CO
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Tolmar full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Very easy job to learn, a hand full of decent people to work with on all three shifts. Company is good about reimbersing you for work related expenses. Good benefits, but they have been getting stingier every year.

    Cons

    All upper management and HR staff are condescending and heartless. Supervisors play on favoritism. Supervisors will smell like alcohol, but you will be under the scope for turning them in. They say they promote within - false. They ask you to share your goals in moving up, but then will avoid offering your desired position to you. They have no sympathy or understanding for your personal lives. No tolerance for even... a minute tardiness while being located in the middle of busy Fort Collins, in the middle of constant construction. All of the "fun" contests and give aways just turn into a whining session between shifts, and HR ends up rewarding the biggest whiners. You can't find one satisfied employee out of everyone with seniority, they all bad talk the company. Constantly out of supplies, management can't find records so that you can start a process, all machines are ancient and are constantly malfunctioning. The company refuses to replace anything, instead they blame everything on operator error. Expect a lot of right ups and scoldings. When numbers decline, instead of giving examples of how to improve you will literally get yelled at by management. They treat the entire staff of manufacturing like a bunch of kids getting grounded. To boost moral they offer a pizza party.... Ooooo yay. They make 9 million dollars over what was expected in a year and instead of handing out bonuses, they throw all of it in a bank account ... and tell you it will be just in case anything happens to the company.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Replace your old broken machines with all of that money you have. Don't look for any microscopic reason to fire hard workers just because you're bored. Appreciate your little guys more, everyone is unhappy and hate working there. Don't lie to people to trick them into a position that they will be stuck in and forced to work overtime.

    Tolmar2016-06-09
  9. Helpful (4)

    "Some Pros and Some Cons"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Fort Collins, CO
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook

    I have been working at Tolmar full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    The work is rewarding. The pay is good. The majority people are kind, helpful and productive. There are varieties of things to work on. The benefits are way above average. The Holiday's are way above average. My boss is probably the best human being I've ever met. Low turnover in the department I work. Smart people.

    Cons

    There is a lot of finger pointing when things go wrong, especially by top leaders of the company. There is A LOT of fear of upper management. I've been told the CEO leads by intimidation and fear. I've been told he yells and use profanities instead of helping solve problems. I've also heard this happen a few times, so I tend to believe the rumors.

    Advice to Management

    Overall, management is doing a good job and everyone has their problems. Stop blaming eachother when things go wrong and work together. You have good people and everyone is working hard towards the same goals. Trust that your people truly want the company to be successful. The company is so so so close to being a huge success if you just lead and stop blaming people. Encourage people to solve problems. You would... hear this from most of your people if they didn't fear you. You have some of the most amazing people working for you that I have met! Trust them! Continue to give people what they need within reason. Take risks and try to get perspectives from different viewpoints. Tell your people they are doing a good job. Love your people and remember you should be doing everything you can for them. Overall, your doing a pretty good job and you probably don't hear that enough.

    Show More
    Tolmar2015-09-22
  10. Helpful (8)

    "Process Operator"

    StarStarStarStarStar
     

    I have been working at Tolmar

    Pros

    Fast paced work environment with the ability to build skills.

    Cons

    Management lies and covers up multiple failed lots. One upper management personnel has issues with sexual harassment..he's still there. Supervisors are unskilled and bullies. Documentation is pushed to be real time and accurate but than altered to fit specs, regulations or deadlines.

    Advice to Management

    Hire educated skilled supervisors and managers that can lead by example. Create a positive environment versus the hostile work environment that exist.

    Tolmar2014-11-21
Found 91 reviews