Tom's Truck Center Reviews

Updated Sep 9, 2019

To filter reviews, or .
3.8
72%
Recommend to a Friend
74%
Approve of CEO
Tom's Truck Center CEO K.C. Heidler (no image)
K.C. Heidler
4 Ratings
  1. "Parts Specialist"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Parts Specialist 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Tom's Truck Center full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Tom's Truck Center is a great place to work, its a large company with several locations but still has the family atmosphere. Good pay with great benefits including insurance, 401K, paid vacation, and employee appreciation events. A lot of opportunities to grow with the company.

    Cons

    None other than only 3 weeks vacation max per year.

    Continue reading

    Tom's Truck Center Response

    October 31, 2017HR

    Always nice to hear we are doing a good job. Thanks for the feedback!

  2. "Solid Company"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Tom's Truck Center full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    family owned business, very decent and fair company, well organized, great support and training.

    Cons

    Salaries are not competitive with the industry

    Continue reading
  3. Helpful (1)

    "Constant pay plan changes to keep you from earning anything"

    1.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Tom's Truck Center full-time

    Pros

    Lots of nice coworkers, hours are pretty decent. Reimburse expenses when you have any.

    Cons

    Total farce working there. Owner brags about how important he is. Can't believe anything he tells you. President has no idea what he is doing. Management runs around without any clue what to do. Shops are a dump. Worst buildings ever. All the good managers are gone.

    Continue reading

    Tom's Truck Center Response

    September 24, 2018HR

    We are sorry that you feel this way. The Tom's Organization works hard to provide a great place to work. Best to you.

  4. "Caring Company with great benefits"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Tom's Truck Center full-time

    Pros

    Management wants you to succeed Company offers great benefits The employees are really nice Everyone likes to have fun

    Cons

    There are a lot of meetings

    Tom's Truck Center Response

    March 28, 2017HR

    Great feedback. Continue having fun in those meetings :)

  5. "They really care..."

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Assistant in Santa Ana, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Tom's Truck Center full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    healthcare, employee functions, fun work environment

    Cons

    I haven't found a con yet!

    Tom's Truck Center Response

    March 15, 2017HR Director

    Thanks for the feedback. We promise to continue the fun!

  6. "great company"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Santa Ana, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Tom's Truck Center full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    great people ,great management ,

    Cons

    fast paced ,your accountable for your success

    Continue reading

    Tom's Truck Center Response

    March 15, 2017HR Director

    Thank you for your loyalty. We look forward to many more years!

  7. "Challenging and Rewarding"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Manager in Santa Ana, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Tom's Truck Center full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    There is always much to do but management has realistic expectations. They pay for performance, which is the way I like it!

    Cons

    Sometimes progress seems slow because there are so many things going on.

    Continue reading

    Tom's Truck Center Response

    March 10, 2017HR Director

    Thanks for the feedback. So glad you are challenged and enjoying what you do!

  8. Helpful (1)

    "A great organization and great people genuinely interested in your success"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Finance in Santa Ana, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Tom's Truck Center full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    I have worked with this organization since 2013 and I will probably work here until I retire. I am surrounded by people who have been with this organization for more than 10 and 20 years. I mean I am surrounded by them. There are not just a few here and there. They make up probably half of the organization that are over 10 years of employment. I have been here 4 going on 5 years and I am the new guy it seems most of the time. They value your contributions and your dedication to the company. It is a common expression here that we do everything we can to keep good people within the organization. It is a family owned company and you truly feel that you are part of it. The owner knows everyone's name and will always take the time to talk shop and even about the big game or maybe what you did over the weekend. Everyone here is supportive and genuinely interested in your success. They pay attention to your contributions and if you're a standout they will move you up swiftly into positions that you can flourish in. Your future growth and potential is limitless. I will never leave and they have my full dedication. I appreciate working here. It just doesn't get better.

    Cons

    I can not see any. If there are they are so small it would not be worth mentioning.

    Continue reading

    Tom's Truck Center Response

    March 6, 2017HR Director

    Thank you for such kind words. We appreciate your dedication and loyalty. Keep up the good work!

  9. "I LOVE THIS PLACE!!!"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Tom's Truck Center full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    I have worked here well past 20 years and the opportunities I've seen are tremendous. We have grown into a large family owned/based business that still has the small business attitude. Benefits and pay are great. It is a fun and challenging environment. COME JOIN OUR TEAM!!!

    Cons

    I don't really have any cons

    Continue reading

    Tom's Truck Center Response

    March 6, 2017HR Director

    Awesome! Thank you for your loyalty and for all you contribute to our organization!

  10. "Great people, great company!"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Administrative in Garden Grove, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Tom's Truck Center full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Open communication, training, advancement opportunities, benefits package, knowledgeable supervisors/management

    Cons

    Multi locations, not clear on what all businesses do and all products/services offered

    Continue reading

    Tom's Truck Center Response

    March 2, 2017HR Director

    Thanks for the feedback. We will continue our facilities tours so new hires get to see other areas of the business and learn how they are integrated. Please reach out to your manager or HR if you wish to be included on the next tour or if you have specific questions regarding one of our locations. Continue to seek expectations and training in your bimonthly Performance Feedback Reviews!

Found 18 reviews