Tom's Truck Center Reviews | Glassdoor

Tom's Truck Center Reviews

17 reviews

Filter

Filter


3.8
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
Recommend to a friend
Approve of CEO
(no image)
K.C. Heidler
3 Ratings

Employee Reviews

Sort: PopularRatingDate

  1. "Parts Specialist"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Parts Specialist
    Current Employee - Parts Specialist
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Tom's Truck Center full-time (More than 10 years)

    Pros

    Tom's Truck Center is a great place to work, its a large company with several locations but still has the family atmosphere. Good pay with great benefits including insurance, 401K, paid vacation, and employee appreciation events.
    A lot of opportunities to grow with the company.

    Cons

    None other than only 3 weeks vacation max per year.

    Advice to Management

    Keep growing and doing what your doing.

    Tom's Truck Center Response

    Oct 31, 2017 – HR

    Always nice to hear we are doing a good job. Thanks for the feedback!


  2. Helpful (1)

    "Constant pay plan changes to keep you from earning anything"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Tom's Truck Center full-time

    Pros

    Lots of nice coworkers, hours are pretty decent. Reimburse expenses when you have any.

    Cons

    Total farce working there. Owner brags about how important he is. Can't believe anything he tells you. President has no idea what he is doing. Management runs around without any clue what to do. Shops are a dump. Worst buildings ever. All the good managers are gone.

    Advice to Management

    Get a clue

    Tom's Truck Center Response

    Sep 24, 2018 – HR

    We are sorry that you feel this way. The Tom's Organization works hard to provide a great place to work. Best to you.

  3. "Caring Company with great benefits"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Tom's Truck Center full-time

    Pros

    Management wants you to succeed
    Company offers great benefits
    The employees are really nice
    Everyone likes to have fun

    Cons

    There are a lot of meetings

    Tom's Truck Center Response

    Mar 28, 2017 – HR

    Great feedback. Continue having fun in those meetings :)


  4. "They really care..."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Assistant in Santa Ana, CA
    Current Employee - Assistant in Santa Ana, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Tom's Truck Center full-time (More than 3 years)

    Pros

    healthcare, employee functions, fun work environment

    Cons

    I haven't found a con yet!

    Tom's Truck Center Response

    Mar 15, 2017 – HR Director

    Thanks for the feedback. We promise to continue the fun!


  5. "great company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Santa Ana, CA
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Santa Ana, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Tom's Truck Center full-time (More than 10 years)

    Pros

    great people ,great management ,

    Cons

    fast paced ,your accountable for your success

    Advice to Management

    keep up the good work

    Tom's Truck Center Response

    Mar 15, 2017 – HR Director

    Thank you for your loyalty. We look forward to many more years!


  6. "Challenging and Rewarding"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Manager in Santa Ana, CA
    Current Employee - Manager in Santa Ana, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Tom's Truck Center full-time (More than a year)

    Pros

    There is always much to do but management has realistic expectations. They pay for performance, which is the way I like it!

    Cons

    Sometimes progress seems slow because there are so many things going on.

    Advice to Management

    Keep up the pay for performance model -- I love it!

    Tom's Truck Center Response

    Mar 10, 2017 – HR Director

    Thanks for the feedback. So glad you are challenged and enjoying what you do!


  7. Helpful (1)

    "A great organization and great people genuinely interested in your success"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Finance in Santa Ana, CA
    Current Employee - Finance in Santa Ana, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Tom's Truck Center full-time (More than 5 years)

    Pros

    I have worked with this organization since 2013 and I will probably work here until I retire. I am surrounded by people who have been with this organization for more than 10 and 20 years. I mean I am surrounded by them. There are not just a few here and there. They make up probably half of the organization that are over 10 years of employment. I have been here 4 going on 5 years and I am the new guy it seems most of the time. They value your contributions and your dedication to the company. It is a common expression here that we do everything we can to keep good people within the organization. It is a family owned company and you truly feel that you are part of it. The owner knows everyone's name and will always take the time to talk shop and even about the big game or maybe what you did over the weekend. Everyone here is supportive and genuinely interested in your success. They pay attention to your contributions and if you're a standout they will move you up swiftly into positions that you can flourish in. Your future growth and potential is limitless. I will never leave and they have my full dedication. I appreciate working here. It just doesn't get better.

    Cons

    I can not see any. If there are they are so small it would not be worth mentioning.

    Advice to Management

    Keep up the good work. I appreciate your passion in my success.

    Tom's Truck Center Response

    Mar 6, 2017 – HR Director

    Thank you for such kind words. We appreciate your dedication and loyalty. Keep up the good work!

  8. "I LOVE THIS PLACE!!!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Tom's Truck Center full-time (More than 10 years)

    Pros

    I have worked here well past 20 years and the opportunities I've seen are tremendous. We have grown into a large family owned/based business that still has the small business attitude. Benefits and pay are great. It is a fun and challenging environment. COME JOIN OUR TEAM!!!

    Cons

    I don't really have any cons

    Advice to Management

    Keep doing what you are doing

    Tom's Truck Center Response

    Mar 6, 2017 – HR Director

    Awesome! Thank you for your loyalty and for all you contribute to our organization!


  9. "Great people, great company!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Administrative in Garden Grove, CA
    Current Employee - Administrative in Garden Grove, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Tom's Truck Center full-time (More than 5 years)

    Pros

    Open communication, training, advancement opportunities, benefits package, knowledgeable supervisors/management

    Cons

    Multi locations, not clear on what all businesses do and all products/services offered

    Advice to Management

    Provide clear expectations and the necessary training to achieve them. Sometimes have to ask for support.

    Tom's Truck Center Response

    Mar 2, 2017 – HR Director

    Thanks for the feedback. We will continue our facilities tours so new hires get to see other areas of the business and learn how they are integrated. Please reach out to your manager or HR if you... More


  10. "Solid Company - Good Work/Life Balance"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Santa Ana, CA
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Santa Ana, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Tom's Truck Center full-time (More than 8 years)

    Pros

    Management knows everyone by name, you aren't just a number to them. Work/life balance is important, and the department I work for understands family commitments outside of work. Opportunities for growth have really opened up over the past few years. It's great to see loyal hard working employees, getting the opportunity to move up.

    Cons

    No cons at this time.

    Advice to Management

    "Happy employees = happy customers" I think management is doing a better job of focusing on employees and how valuable they truly are, with this year having a health & wellness focus.

    Tom's Truck Center Response

    Mar 2, 2017 – HR Director

    Thanks for the review! I am happy to hear that we are helping you balance the work and family life. We are very excited about our developing Wellness program and I hope you will participate and... More