Top Hat "catered lunch" Reviews | Glassdoor

Top Hat Employee Reviews about "catered lunch"

Updated Jun 12, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

3.8
71%
Recommend to a Friend
74%
Approve of CEO
Top Hat CEO Mike Silagadze
Mike Silagadze
163 Ratings
Pros
  • "Free lunch is provided and there is always enough for everyone(in 33 reviews)

  • "Great benefits and perks including catered lunch every day(in 25 reviews)

Cons
  • "products not closely aligned with market demand, over a month each year spent on data entry, high turnover at every level incl(in 14 reviews)

  • "Company is growing and there is that potential to become corporate rather than start up environment(in 12 reviews)

More Pros and Cons

Reviews about "catered lunch"

Return to all Reviews
  1. Helpful (2)

    "Good people, rough vision"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Account Management in Toronto, ON
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Top Hat full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great people. Teams on the AM side were great, inclusive, energetic and helpful. Catered lunches were great and the building itself had a ton of amenities. Very smart individual contributors on the eng, and dev team.

    Cons

    Very confusing goals, very micrometric driven. This made it feel very robotic and nonstrategic. Constant change. Commission, targets, and company direction. High turnover

    Advice to Management

    Look at outside leadership with backgrounds similar to the CRO. This gives a fresh perspective from management that have implemented strategies that differ from the TH norm. Define clear career growth opportunities that don't always lead to team leads or management

    Top Hat2019-06-12
  2. Helpful (6)

    "Avoid this company unless you are desperate for work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Customer Service Representative in Toronto, ON

    I worked at Top Hat full-time

    Pros

    Good office place, good location, catered lunch

    Cons

    Avoid applying or working for this place if you identify as a poc or lgbt

    Advice to Management

    HR should go through some cultural sensitivity training and actually gain some perspective

    Top Hat2019-06-04
  3. Create your profile to get personalized information

  4. Helpful (3)

    "Great place to work. Not for the faint of heart."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Top Hat full-time

    Pros

    - It’s an exciting time for the company. The business has product/market fit and is ready to scale. - Smart, enthusiastic people to work with every day. Top Hat hiring is rigorous, but effective. - A big focus on the employee experience. Lots of opportunities to learn and grow. Catered lunch, great location, lots of social activities.

    Cons

    - Lots to do, lots to track, sometimes too much. If you’re not organized, you’ll have a bad time. Be prepared to work outside of your comfort zone. - “Sports team not a family” is a leadership principle. That says a lot about the culture here. If you're not winning, you're losing. - Smart people with strong personalities mean things sometimes get intense in a bad way. You need a thick skin and a positive attitude... to stay healthy.

    Show More
    Top Hat2019-04-10
  5. Helpful (4)

    "Awesome product, great atmosphere"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Toronto, ON
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Top Hat full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    - My work and achievements seem to really be appreciated here. Everyone is quite receptive of exchanging ideas and brainstorming to make the company better. - Challenging / meaningful work makes the day go by quickly. You'll find yourself asking where all the time in the day went. - There has been a really positive shift in the right direction over the last year, which is quite visible. This is especially the case... in my department (revenue/sales) and the executive leadership is really strong. - The people here are amazing! Plain and simple. - It seems as though HR is addressing concerns around career growth. I was in a presentation recently and the plan looks great. It's something we've needed for a long time now. - As trivial as this may sound, the daily catered lunches are amazing and it helps me save so much money! - Very diverse group of employees.

    Show More

    Cons

    - We're growing really fast and some of those growing pains can be seen in our day to day work. At times, it can seem disorganized. - Career pathing has been a problem in the past, but I did mention that it looks like it's being addressed. - There should be more of an emphasis on work / life balance and shutting off when it's time to go home. It seems like some people are working long hours. I'm not sure if that's... because they are not managing their time well or something else.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    - Some of the more senior "C-Level" execs should mentor the more junior "C-Level" execs so that communication and expectations are the same. There seems to be a disconnect there at times. - Continue to get feedback from all levels of the organization like you have been. A lot of great initiatives coming out seem to have came from employee feedback, which is refreshing. - Over the last couple of years, I've seen... a big shift which is great. It's important to continue creating a culture of belonging and work / life balance where people who are passionate about their work can thrive without feeling too much pressure. We all have Top Hat's best intentions in mind. - I think we're headed in the right direction!

    Show More
    Top Hat2019-03-19
  6. Helpful (5)

    "Amazing Place to Work - Not for Everyone!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Regional Sales Manager in Toronto, ON
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Top Hat full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Top Hat has an amazing product that actually matters, one of the best software executive teams (if not best) in Toronto, and a vibrant culture. Some other highlights include: * You are treated like an adult and given the freedom to do great work * Amazing compensation for sales if you do well * Constant Career opportunities * Catered lunches * Your colleagues are all young, driven, and passionate about our... product making a difference * Travel opportunities * Having a huge hand in building a Canadian Sucess Story

    Show More

    Cons

    Even though Top Hat is not a 'startup' anymore, it still has the same growing pains like any startup experiencing hyper growth. New products are constantly being delivered, strategy is being changed, and growth expectations are very high. If you can't handle a sometimes uncertain environment, then a big corporate company may be better fit for you. However, with these small downsides comes huge upside!

    Advice to Management

    Keep listening to your employees and keep thinking big!

    Top Hat2019-03-12
  7. Helpful (10)

    "A company (and team) driving positive change in the world"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Director, Communications & Events in Toronto, ON
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Top Hat full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    - Some of the smartest people I've ever worked with - A great Canadian technology success story with huge potential for global reach - Lots of work perks - beautiful office, great location, many amenities (catered lunch every day, snack walls on every floor, lots of social events, we use the latest tech for everything) - A customer base that actually loves our product, and what it helps them achieve - The impact... we're driving is real - student success rates are improving, and professors are more effective at teaching

    Show More

    Cons

    - If you're not used to a fast pace, or like rolling up your sleeves to get work done- you will struggle. Top Hat is for doers. - Some of the challenges you'd expect from a small, fast-growing company - for example: lots of great ideas and passion to do important things, not enough hours in the day to get it all done - Intense focus on metrics may be overwhelming to some

    Advice to Management

    Maintain the current intense focus on listening to employee feedback - and continue to equip managers to support their teams.

    Top Hat2019-02-12
  8. Helpful (20)

    "Thinking of joining MARKETING at Top Hat? DON'T."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Marketing 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Top Hat full-time

    Pros

    - The people. You will work with some of the smartest, most driven people around - Perks are good (catered lunch, great office space and location) - Some interesting projects

    Cons

    - Not dog friendly! - Vacation allowance could be better - Management is a disaster. The CMO, as a previous review stated, is condescending and unhelpful. In fact, he will overcomplicate your work to the point that you feel like giving the entire job up. If you make the team look bad to the rest of the company, game over. You can't make mistakes because they will be talked about in endless one on ones until you... feel inadequate and unable to improve. Count on questioning your intelligence at least once a day. - Management sets unrealistic targets that set the team up to fail and then are preoccupied with saving face in front of the company so count on making endless presentations for internal use instead of doing your actual work. - You will have meeting after meeting about lessons learned from the team's output but these lessons will never be applied - Talking about meetings, you will be forced to sit through at least 3-4 "mandatory" hour long meetings a week when you know you don't need to be there. You have no choice but to attend. - For a team of more than 20 people, the work generated is of subpar quality and unimaginative. This is because team members are handicapped by micromanagement and overworked with pointless busywork (like endless internal presentations) - Management hires incredibly intelligent and motivated professionals and saddles them with deadend work with no growth opportunities...so they leave. - Turnover is VERY high because the team's toxic culture does not inspire loyalty. - For the people doing most of the work on the team, count on not getting the resources you need. You will be encouraged to work evenings and weekends if necessary and be reachable all the time. - So many deadlines are made up and not really urgent but made to feel so. My entire time at Top Hat was full of pointless stress because I never felt like I was getting enough work done quickly or done right.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Stop treating your employees like they are only resources. Start giving them opportunities to grow. You are wasting time and money by hiring smart people, not taking their advice and then burning them out.

    Top Hat2019-01-09
  9. Helpful (4)

    "Top Hat is a really great place to work!!!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Software Developer in Toronto, ON
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Top Hat full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    - Excellent work culture! Everyone is so helpful and open to spending as much time as you need helping you if you have any questions or are stuck on something - Wonderful coworkers. Everyone is awesome and you get really close with your coworkers because we eat together (see catered lunches bellow!) and play board games, ping pong, and foosball with each other over lunch. Lots of time for good bonding :) -... Transparency from management. Through all hands meetings, you get to see what is motivating management and what impact your work has. It's very interesting to learn how a company works - Great work life balance! I've never had to work overtime. It's always 10-6 with an hour for lunch - Did I mention really good catered lunches! - Product listens to me. The developers get to work with product to decide what we want to be working on based on what we agree should be top priority. This is great to feel like I have a real impact not just in the actual implementation but also in the decisions. - I care about what I'm doing. Top Hat makes educational software that I believe is really helping professors engage their students and make the lives of students and professors easier. This matters to me and feels great to be part of something big. - The company cares about me and my career growth

    Show More

    Cons

    - Not enough women developers. As a women, it would be great for there to be more women as developers at the company and more diversity

    Advice to Management

    - There doesn't feel like enough focus on training so it would be great if we could be encouraged to take time during work hours to train and level up. I think it would make us more efficient in the long run

    Top Hat2018-08-30
  10. "Great culture and opportunities for growth"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Product Designer in Toronto, ON
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Top Hat full-time

    Pros

    -Great culture and an amazing group of people (highly intelligent and hard working). -Fast paced environment which is great for growth and learning opportunities. -Great benefits and perks including catered lunch every day.

    Cons

    -Growing very quickly and as a result we're still figuring out some processes. At the same time, because of this, you're given plenty of opportunity to have a say and impact on shaping these processes.

    Advice to Management

    -Continue to hire hard working and intelligent people

    Top Hat2018-02-09
  11. Helpful (2)

    "Hard-working people, great office culture"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Educational Project Manager in Toronto, ON
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Top Hat full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    - Young, intelligent, highly driven individuals - Fast-growing business - Amazing office space and office location - Catered lunches - Employee culture

    Cons

    - You will be working a lot of late nights at the office

    Top Hat2017-12-08
Found 25 reviews