KEY NOT FOUND: coverImgAlt
Logo

Top Hat

Is this your company?

Top Hat

Add a Review

Top Hat Employee Reviews about "catered lunch"

Updated Jul 31, 2020

To filter reviews, or .

Found 29 of over 350 reviews

3.8
69%
Recommend to a Friend
85%
Approve of CEO
Top Hat CEO Joe Rohrlich
Joe Rohrlich
7 Ratings
Pros
  • "Free lunch parties great learnings(in 38 reviews)

  • "When it was in the office you had a catered lunch(in 29 reviews)

  • Cons
  • "Poor remote working structure, unorganized leadership and extremely high turnover rate(in 17 reviews)

  • "Very fast paced, not necessarily a bad thing but be ready to have a lot going on(in 12 reviews)

  • More Pros and Cons
    Pros & Cons are excerpts from user reviews. They are not authored by Glassdoor.

    Reviews about "catered lunch"

    Return to all Reviews
    1. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 1 year

      Great place to learn and grow

      Apr 29, 2020 - Talent Specialist in Toronto, ON
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      - Top Hat is small enough that I get to see the impact of my role to business objectives but also not big enough to feel like a bank - I've grown tremendously during my time at Top Hat (2+ years) - I've worked on and led projects I never thought I would be able to touch so early in my career - Everyone at Top Hat is extremely receptive to feedback and collaboration, a lot of cross functional opportunities - Office culture is very friendly and open - Company perks are amazing for my lifestyle. Catered lunches are a huge time saver and lifestyle spending accounts really support my mental status

      Cons

      - Things move really fast at Top Hat and you can get lost in the fray - Professional development is still a bit in the air in terms of formalized programs. It's there, it's just difficult to find at times and that onus is on you most of the time. - Long term planning could be improved. I've seen several go-to-market strategies and hiring plans come and go in my time at Top Hat.

      Continue reading
      2 people found this review helpful
    2. 5.0
      Former Employee, less than 1 year

      Great Experience

      Mar 9, 2020 - Full Stack Developer in Toronto, ON
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      tldr: I really enjoyed my time at Top Hat and the work experience was great. I would absolutely recommend it to anyone who is looking for a more established company and values work life balance. I liked the tech stack: Django (drf), mysql on the backend and react on the frontend. The cood code quality compared to other companies I've worked at Documentation was pretty good. Tech leads emphasize on documentation after projects. We had a lot of good dev scripts. Our local environments worked 99% of the time. Engineering processes were very good. We had a good deploy process (mostly automated). We had a good observability/logging on the backend to debug issues. Coworkers were all great. Very little egos and there were a lot of experienced people. Everyone was approachable and if you were stuck on something, someone was always willing to help or pair on it. My manager was really good. The entire engineering management team genuinely cared about growth and wanted to promote a learning environment. Catered lunch is obviously an amazing perk. Weekly work from home days were nice. It increased productivity by a significant amount even if you choose to come into the office because meetings are not to be scheduled. Office was awesome. We had 4 floors. 1 library where it's silent. Meditation/wellness rooms in case you need to close your eyes for a bit. Yorkville is a great area to work in. Insurance benefits were really good. Engineering meetings were usually very concise so we didn't have to waste a bunch of time on random meetings like other companies do. The company was willing to purchase anything increases productivity. I felt like I was set up for success. Plenty of celebrations and team outings

      Cons

      Work was dull at times. I wish I was learning at a faster pace. Food portions were a little small at times.

      3 people found this review helpful
    3. 2.0
      Former Employee, more than 1 year

      A real disconnect

      Jul 31, 2020 - Account Executive in Toronto, ON
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      -When it was in the office you had a catered lunch -Location was great -Great benefits

      Cons

      -No actual sales strategy. They claim to have a strategic approach but more just spam email every professor - Little autonomy to strategize and use a different approach -A real disconnect between "sales floor" and upper management -If you are not one of the "favorites" you will not succeed

      9 people found this review helpful
    4. 5.0
      Current Employee, less than 1 year

      A company (and team) driving positive change in the world

      Feb 12, 2019 - Director, Communications & Events in Toronto, ON
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      - Some of the smartest people I've ever worked with - A great Canadian technology success story with huge potential for global reach - Lots of work perks - beautiful office, great location, many amenities (catered lunch every day, snack walls on every floor, lots of social events, we use the latest tech for everything) - A customer base that actually loves our product, and what it helps them achieve - The impact we're driving is real - student success rates are improving, and professors are more effective at teaching

      Cons

      - If you're not used to a fast pace, or like rolling up your sleeves to get work done- you will struggle. Top Hat is for doers. - Some of the challenges you'd expect from a small, fast-growing company - for example: lots of great ideas and passion to do important things, not enough hours in the day to get it all done - Intense focus on metrics may be overwhelming to some

      Continue reading
      13 people found this review helpful
    5. 1.0
      Former Employee, less than 1 year

      Stay Away!!

      Jun 17, 2020 - Account Executive in Toronto, ON
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      - Reasonable compensation structure - Location - Catered lunch - The product is unique and is the only thing keeping this company afloat

      Cons

      - Incredibly fake and deceiving attitude of majority of the staff - Explicit favouritism - A sales strategy that can be summed up by spam-mail - Little autonomy to strategize and use a different approach - Super High turnover - A fake and discouraging work environment

      20 people found this review helpful
    6. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 5 years

      Amazing Place to Work - Not for Everyone!

      Mar 12, 2019 - Regional Sales Manager in Toronto, ON
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Top Hat has an amazing product that actually matters, one of the best software executive teams (if not best) in Toronto, and a vibrant culture. Some other highlights include: * You are treated like an adult and given the freedom to do great work * Amazing compensation for sales if you do well * Constant Career opportunities * Catered lunches * Your colleagues are all young, driven, and passionate about our product making a difference * Travel opportunities * Having a huge hand in building a Canadian Sucess Story

      Cons

      Even though Top Hat is not a 'startup' anymore, it still has the same growing pains like any startup experiencing hyper growth. New products are constantly being delivered, strategy is being changed, and growth expectations are very high. If you can't handle a sometimes uncertain environment, then a big corporate company may be better fit for you. However, with these small downsides comes huge upside!

      Continue reading
      6 people found this review helpful
    7. 5.0
      Current Employee

      Great place to work. Not for the faint of heart.

      Apr 10, 2019 - Anonymous Employee 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      - It’s an exciting time for the company. The business has product/market fit and is ready to scale. - Smart, enthusiastic people to work with every day. Top Hat hiring is rigorous, but effective. - A big focus on the employee experience. Lots of opportunities to learn and grow. Catered lunch, great location, lots of social activities.

      Cons

      - Lots to do, lots to track, sometimes too much. If you’re not organized, you’ll have a bad time. Be prepared to work outside of your comfort zone. - “Sports team not a family” is a leadership principle. That says a lot about the culture here. If you're not winning, you're losing. - Smart people with strong personalities mean things sometimes get intense in a bad way. You need a thick skin and a positive attitude to stay healthy.

      4 people found this review helpful

      Top Hat Response

      Director, Talent

      We really appreciate the time you took to write this review and provide constructive feedback. Please feel free to come to us at any time to give feedback and suggestions.

    8. 1.0
      Former Employee

      Toxic work environment

      Feb 20, 2020 -  in Toronto, ON
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Catered lunch, open work space, happy hour on Friday

      Cons

      Glorified call centre with cliquey, judgemental culture. Could be cool if you’re looking to extend your college frat life experiences. Small percentage of reps actually fully attain quota and there’s turnover every 6 months.

      Continue reading
      13 people found this review helpful
    9. 2.0
      Current Employee, more than 1 year

      Good people, rough vision

      Jun 12, 2019 - Account Management in Toronto, ON
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Great people. Teams on the AM side were great, inclusive, energetic and helpful. Catered lunches were great and the building itself had a ton of amenities. Very smart individual contributors on the eng, and dev team.

      Cons

      Very confusing goals, very micrometric driven. This made it feel very robotic and nonstrategic. Constant change. Commission, targets, and company direction. High turnover

      Continue reading
      5 people found this review helpful
    10. 2.0
      Former Employee

      Thinking of joining MARKETING at Top Hat? DON'T.

      Jan 8, 2019 - Marketing 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      - The people. You will work with some of the smartest, most driven people around - Perks are good (catered lunch, great office space and location) - Some interesting projects

      Cons

      - Not dog friendly! - Vacation allowance could be better - Management is a disaster. The CMO, as a previous review stated, is condescending and unhelpful. In fact, he will overcomplicate your work to the point that you feel like giving the entire job up. If you make the team look bad to the rest of the company, game over. You can't make mistakes because they will be talked about in endless one on ones until you feel inadequate and unable to improve. Count on questioning your intelligence at least once a day. - Management sets unrealistic targets that set the team up to fail and then are preoccupied with saving face in front of the company so count on making endless presentations for internal use instead of doing your actual work. - You will have meeting after meeting about lessons learned from the team's output but these lessons will never be applied - Talking about meetings, you will be forced to sit through at least 3-4 "mandatory" hour long meetings a week when you know you don't need to be there. You have no choice but to attend. - For a team of more than 20 people, the work generated is of subpar quality and unimaginative. This is because team members are handicapped by micromanagement and overworked with pointless busywork (like endless internal presentations) - Management hires incredibly intelligent and motivated professionals and saddles them with deadend work with no growth opportunities...so they leave. - Turnover is VERY high because the team's toxic culture does not inspire loyalty. - For the people doing most of the work on the team, count on not getting the resources you need. You will be encouraged to work evenings and weekends if necessary and be reachable all the time. - So many deadlines are made up and not really urgent but made to feel so. My entire time at Top Hat was full of pointless stress because I never felt like I was getting enough work done quickly or done right.

      Continue reading
      23 people found this review helpful

      Top Hat Response

      Chief Marketing Officer

      Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback on your experience. Top Hat is a high-growth company (indeed, Aggressive Growth is one of our four company values) and as a result is not an environment for everyone. As with any high-growth, fast-paced workplace, hard work comes with the job. That said, having a life outside of work is not only possible, it's encouraged. I'm proud to have many working parents on the Marketing team, and they know they can leave work in the middle of the day to watch their daughter's school play or take their son to a medical appointment. When the team is at work, it is essential they feel they have a forum — a safe space — to share their concerns. To that end, I devote 10+ hours of my time each week to meet with members of the marketing team 1:1 for them to share candid feedback and discuss how I can help them build their career at Top Hat. It's unfortunate you didn't feel comfortable during your time at the company to take advantage of that opportunity. I wish you the best in your future endeavours and thank you for your contributions to the team. PS. As much as we'd love to have canine co-workers, our lease currently prevents that from happening.

    Viewing 1 - 10 of 29 Reviews

    Popular Careers with Top Hat Job Seekers

    JobsSalariesInterviews

    Work at Top Hat? Share Your Experiences

    Top Hat logo
    or