KEY NOT FOUND: coverImgAlt
Logo

Top Hat

Is this your company?

Top Hat

Add a Review

Top Hat Employee Reviews about "high turnover"

Updated Oct 6, 2020

To filter reviews, or .

Found 17 of over 351 reviews

3.8
67%
Recommend to a Friend
77%
Approve of CEO
Top Hat CEO Joe Rohrlich
Joe Rohrlich
5 Ratings
Pros
  • "Free lunch parties great learnings(in 38 reviews)

  • "When it was in the office you had a catered lunch(in 29 reviews)

  • Cons
  • "Poor remote working structure, unorganized leadership and extremely high turnover rate(in 17 reviews)

  • "Very fast paced, not necessarily a bad thing but be ready to have a lot going on(in 12 reviews)

  • More Pros and Cons
    Pros & Cons are excerpts from user reviews. They are not authored by Glassdoor.

    Reviews about "high turnover"

    Return to all Reviews
    1. 3.0
      Current Employee, less than 1 year

      Great Experience, Tough to Last

      Jun 5, 2017 - Account Executive 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Have met some of the best people ever here that I can now call friends for life! For a first or second job, it is a great place to get good experience and make pretty decent money. You can move up pretty quick here as well. If you are ready for the grind, Top Hat can be a very good stepping stone in your career. As noted, I would recommend Top Hat to a friend, but I would be very transparent in what they should realistically expect...

      Cons

      While all the pros listed above are true, to be successful at Top Hat you need to play politics, get pretty lucky, and work very very hard. Targets for the sales team are extremely aggressive and many people come in and simply can't reach them with the territory they are given. This hurts the company culture with high turnover and an overly stressed sales floor. The company also tends to over promise and under deliver with their customers and employees. Example: Account Directors are told they will make 70K in their first year. Realistically thats just not true. Then, because the sales team is given such huge quotas and relatively small territory, they tend to be overly aggressive with clients and bend the rules to get sales.

      Continue reading
      9 people found this review helpful
    2. 1.0
      Former Employee, more than 1 year

      What I wish I knew before I accepted an offer here

      Nov 9, 2017 - Senior Account Director in Denver, CO
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      - An entry level job for people looking for SaaS sales experience - Your coworkers... Top Hat does an excellent job of recruiting people. This is their biggest strength. They focus on recruiting great talent like yourself. Unfortunately, their recruitment tactics are dishonest. Don't fall for it. Plenty of good people already have. Don't join them - Travel opportunities - This is a hybrid role of inside and outside sales. If you are looking to get out of just inside sales this is a good way to get some experience under your belt - If you survive the sink or swim environment you can succeed anywhere in sales

      Cons

      HIGH TURNOVER. average tenure is less than 6 months. Why you say... let me tell you: - Recruiting tactics are dishonest - Sorry, but you are not going to make what they say you are going to make. And no, 90% or people do not hit their goals. Try 25%. No one is going to be happy if they make less money than promised - Sales Tactics - Sales tactics here are lazy and spammy. The reputation of Top Hat is terrible at Universities. Because turnover is so high and sales goals are so aggressive. Most professors have been contacted hundreds of different times by different reps. They have also said please don't call again for a hundred times. I can't imagine them being excited to talk to you - The Product - I was really excited about the product when I started working there. Obviously the education industry needs change. However, this product is not good. It is a dime in a dozen. Engagement apps are only a good fit for certain courses and online textbooks are only good if you have legitimate authors. The education industry is all about prestige and reputation. You have an uphill battle here. Maybe they should hire less sales people and more developers? - Management - They have aggressive sales goals just like you. This creates a stressful environment where managers feel obligated to micromanage you - Sales Goals - You will be fired if you don't get to 50% of quota in 1-2 months. This isn't as easy as they make it sound. Do you really want to worry about being let go or fired for 1 bad month? Don't you want to work for a company that invests in you and doesn't just keep hiring new people to replace the people that quit or get fired? Have some self respect - Long term outlook - Not good. What is the best case scenario? I would be seriously shocked if they ever IPO. They pivoted from the engagement app over to online texts because the market is pretty much tapped out. They already have marketshare for engagement. Now what about their pivot to textbooks? It all comes back to if they can start recruiting better authors and hiring more developers. I don't think they have the resources to truly make that investment so they rely upon aggressive sales tactics. Unfortunately, Universities are all about prestige and reputation. They have burned way too many bridges for a quick win.

      Continue reading
      14 people found this review helpful

      Top Hat Response

      Thank you for your feedback. We agree with the pros of working here and value the concerns provided in your review. There are a number of items you mentioned that Top Hat is focusing on resolving; as any growth technology company, we have had bumps along the way. We are prioritizing improvements to our overall sales strategy and structure and continue to implement product roadmap that will continue to disrupt the education space. Our people are very important to us and are continuing to invest in people operations and training as part of our strategic vision, again we appreciate your advice.

    3. 1.0
      Current Employee, less than 1 year

      Toxic leadership

      Oct 6, 2020 - Software Engineer in Toronto, ON
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      office lunches used to be nice

      Cons

      Poor remote working structure, unorganized leadership and extremely high turnover rate. Some of the new leadership from Checkout 51 clearly have zero management or skills relevant skills. Its clear they were only brought on because of nepotism. They have quickly built a reputation for bullying the people they manage and openly mocks employees for continuing their educations. Really strange attitude to have at an Edu company if you ask me. At Top Hat you'll be competing with peers rather than empowering each other and you can expect to be thrown under the bus by someone trying to cover themselves. Sales strategy is nothing more than cold emailing professors.

      Continue reading
      7 people found this review helpful
    4. 1.0
      Former Employee, more than 1 year

      Not what it seems

      Mar 14, 2020 - Account Executive in Toronto, ON
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Good lunch program, snacks available, benefits are decent, interesting and intelligent co-workers.

      Cons

      Inexperienced management generally have no working experience outside of Top Hat. Environment is full of different cliques based on tenure in the company. Very repetitive and obnoxious sales process, you will be expected to call and mail merge the same group of professors another salesperson spammed weeks prior. Poor product that cannot be reliably demonstrated. High turnover! Poor pay and very unfair distribution of territory. Those who are popular will be handed fruitful prospects and others will be handed unqualified leads. Burnout and turnover is rampant. Management, especially the CEO is under the impression that the experience you gain working at a 5+ year old "startup" is the reason people come into work. Sales staff are employees not interns !

      Continue reading
      10 people found this review helpful

      Top Hat Response

      Chief Revenue Officer

      Thanks for the feedback. We believe strongly in our culture, and our focus on developing new and emerging leaders. Two quick points I’d like to clarify. We believe in developing talent from within - it’s one of the best ways to connect our people to our shared values, our customers and our mission. While we can always do better, we have a comprehensive onboarding and training program for all Top Hatters - including new leaders. Like any revenue organization, we tie compensation to the effort and impact made on our overall sales goals. While Top Hat isn’t for everyone, we have many successful sales reps who continue to invest in themselves to meet and exceed their sales targets and add to the family of Professors we support. While we are always looking to do more to position our team for success, as a company, we invest six weeks and thousands of dollars in training to ensure they can achieve the goals set out. I’m disappointed to read about your experience, and invite you to reach out to me directly at john dot hood at tophat dot com so that I may learn more about your unique experience.

    5. 1.0
      Former Employee, less than 1 year

      Stay Away!!

      Jun 17, 2020 - Account Executive in Toronto, ON
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      - Reasonable compensation structure - Location - Catered lunch - The product is unique and is the only thing keeping this company afloat

      Cons

      - Incredibly fake and deceiving attitude of majority of the staff - Explicit favouritism - A sales strategy that can be summed up by spam-mail - Little autonomy to strategize and use a different approach - Super High turnover - A fake and discouraging work environment

      20 people found this review helpful
    6. 2.0
      Current Employee, more than 1 year

      Good people, rough vision

      Jun 12, 2019 - Account Management in Toronto, ON
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Great people. Teams on the AM side were great, inclusive, energetic and helpful. Catered lunches were great and the building itself had a ton of amenities. Very smart individual contributors on the eng, and dev team.

      Cons

      Very confusing goals, very micrometric driven. This made it feel very robotic and nonstrategic. Constant change. Commission, targets, and company direction. High turnover

      Continue reading
      5 people found this review helpful
    7. 3.0
      Former Employee

      Account Director

      Feb 12, 2019 - Anonymous Employee 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      travel, great lunch, great benefits

      Cons

      products not closely aligned with market demand, over a month each year spent on data entry, high turnover at every level incl. VP/exec

      Continue reading
      6 people found this review helpful
    8. 1.0
      Former Employee, less than 1 year

      As a seasoned industry professional, I do not recommend working for Top Hat

      Nov 22, 2018 - Anonymous Employee in Toronto, ON
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      While free lunches, coffee/tea's, benefits and lifestyle accounts are common perks in the tech sector nowadays, those tangible items are not what's truly important to employees especially when there are a significant amount of other more meaningful things that make an employee stay with a company.

      Cons

      Retaining employees should be just as important to an organization as it is in acquiring them. I feel Top Hat does not do their due diligence in correcting issues that are frequently brought up by employees but more so, overlooking & avoiding them which has resulted in the org developing a fairly bad reputation in the tech community. If you're employees are indeed what matters most to you, then why not do right by them? Ego's need to be put aside at all levels within the organization. Top level down. During my time at Top Hat, I noticed a significant amount of politics, high turnover, inappropriate behaviour happening in meeting rooms between sales members and sales leaders being extremely disrespectful to applicants coming in for interviews. I noticed that if you had highly valuable skills, it intimidated others in roles above you, your ideas would be shot down because they did not come from those individuals. If you are hiring people for their expertise and experience, let them contribute. Create a safe place where employees can go when they are experience issues like this. HR has not been an honest, safe, experienced place at Top Hat in a very very long time. Inexperienced leaders ran this dpt until recently. I feel Top Hat has Managers in place leading teams with no one monitoring their work to see that they are not leading with the companies best interest in mind, yet their own. Leadership training for Managers + should be something the company invests in or completes surveys' from teams on their managers leadership style/skills. People don't leave companies, they leave managers. HR (at this time) had employees on a schedule to write positive glassdoor reviews in hopes to 'bury' the bad ones. Why not correct the problems being spoken about in these reviews vs 'burying' them? Is it because it's easier to do that than listen? The culture just is not one that is set up with employees first in mind. It is not trust based, no leadership and development, everyone is treated as they are disposable and as a working professional, you just do not have genuine support from leaders. It's a shame that no matter the amount of feedback given, the CEO does not strive to take this advice to make things better and at least start to slowly fix the culture and reputation of the org. You would naturally think this would be a priority to any leader running a company. Lastly, allow some autonomy in positions within the org. Micromanagement is not a good leadership tactic. You should be able to trust employees, if not - why did you hire them?

      Continue reading
      22 people found this review helpful
    9. 3.0
      Current Employee, less than 1 year

      Aggressive Growth

      Apr 15, 2017 - Account Director in Toronto, ON
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      -free lunch -snacks -fun colleagues -changing education for the better -travel -laid back environment -transparent about money and produce -great product/market fit: just show up and put in the hours and you'll see things happen!

      Cons

      -you do not make the money you are promised -original start-up "boys squad" persists: advancement is sort of an illusion, favouritism a reality -disorganized HR practices -aggressive recruitment tactics -not transparent about plans -high turnover: you will be stressed a lot about keeping your job

      Continue reading
      8 people found this review helpful
    10. 3.0
      Former Employee, less than 1 year

      Sales is good, management bad

      Sep 7, 2017 - Account Director in Toronto, ON
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      - Strong sales culture - Good training - Great place to start a sales career and learn the grind. Sales Managers are experienced and knowledgeable - Wonderful people/colleagues. Top salespeople are great and helpful - Environment did not feel like work - Catered lunch, benefits ($1500 lifestyle/year)

      Cons

      - High turnover of salespeople. Being there for 1 year is considered a long time on the sales floor - One of the Sales Managers micromanages a lot and regularly gives contradictory advice - Low transparency between management and salespeople - Management will add random rules/barriers before a sale is considered valid because a few people misled customers to hit their aggressive targets - Aggressive targets are good, though only a handful actually hit them - Employees feel easily disposable to management. They move people around constantly with little regard to what they want long term - Arbitrary emphasis on staying late

      Continue reading
      3 people found this review helpful
    Viewing 1 - 10 of 17 Reviews

    Popular Careers with Top Hat Job Seekers

    JobsSalariesInterviews

    Work at Top Hat? Share Your Experiences

    Top Hat logo
    or