Toptal Reviews

Updated May 4, 2021

To filter reviews, or .
3.8
72%
Recommend to a Friend
65%
Approve of CEO
Toptal CEO, Co-Founder Taso DuVal
Taso DuVal
182 Ratings
Pros
  • "Great work-life balance through remote work(in 67 reviews)

  • "You can work from anywhere in the world(in 19 reviews)

  • Cons
  • "Remote work sometimes feel lonely(in 32 reviews)

  • "Work life balance is not clearly delineated(in 6 reviews)

  • More Pros and Cons
    Pros & Cons are excerpts from user reviews. They are not authored by Glassdoor.

    Ratings by Gender

    This rating reflects the overall rating of Toptal and is not affected by filters.

    Want more demographic options?
    1. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 1 year

      The positive reviews are REAL. Toptal is an awesome place to work.

      May 4, 2021 - Core Team Member 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      I have worked at Toptal for 1.5 years and LOVE it here. The people are great, the culture is great, the work-life balance is great. Do you see a pattern here? It is GREAT. Toptal is my favorite place that I have ever worked. I just spent some time reading some of our recent reviews, and it is my opinion that someone is trying to ruin our reputation by writing these negative reviews. 40% of our hires come from Employee Referrals. If everyone here was miserable, they wouldn't refer their friends to work here! Also - they write "after this negative review, you'll be see positive reviews, don't believe them." Give me a break. Anyone who is reading negative reviews, find a Toptaler on LinkedIn, and write them. See what they say. I am confident that they love it here, just like I do.

      Cons

      Remote work and our fast-paced, over-communicating culture isn't for everyone. But for those who thrive in this type of environment, you'll be able to make a huge impact, and will be appreciated for the work you do!

      Continue reading
      1 person found this review helpful
    2. 5.0
      Current Employee, less than 1 year

      The best employer I hadn't heard of ...

      Apr 1, 2021 - Copy Editor in Chicago, IL
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Some may be skeptical of glowing reviews but I honestly don't have a bad word to say about Toptal. Once upon a time, as a role was ending (for me and the rest of the company), my boss shared this advice: "Buy the people." The work we do is important, sure, but the people are what make or break a company. And on the people front, Toptal shines. I work with a great group of folks doing interesting work and I'm happy to work for a company that's innovative and always striving to be even better.

      Cons

      Toptal is remote by design and I joined the company during a pandemic so I wouldn't have in-person encounters regardless. If going to an office every day is important to you, you'll miss that with Toptal. But if you're keen to work remotely and meet up with colleagues who are local to get that in-person fix, Toptal's a great option.

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    3. 1.0
      Current Employee, more than 1 year

      Run away

      Jan 8, 2021 - Manager in Washington, DC
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Remote work Business model is interesting Lower level management is stellar Peers are very willing to learn from each other and are supportive

      Cons

      I am assuming that if you are reading through reviews of Toptal you are either a current employee, in the interview process, or considering applying. If you are in the process, let me implore you - do not accept a position at Toptal and save yourself and your mental health. When I took this job, I did my due diligence. I read these reviews, I researched the CEO and his terrible behaviour, and I even watched the horrifying 'this week in startups' podcast about the CEO and the company before accepting my offer. I thought to myself, "well, I am not reporting directly to the CEO, how bad can it be?" and..."these reviews are likely coming from those who don't have thick skin" and... "well, I think the benefits of remote work will outweigh the cons of a toxic CEO." I am here to tell you that I was very, very, very wrong. While being able to work remotely has been great, the amount of hostility, stress and abuse I have had to endure while working here does not outweigh the benefit. As others have suggested, please read the negative reviews - they are 100% accurate and are likely not coming from only disgruntled employees. Others have elaborated on the micromanagement , toxic CEO, the hiring and firing culture, lack of diversity and inclusion, bad HR practices, the over inflated ego and the comparatively low wages - I encourage you to read through those reviews as they extremely accurate. P.S - I can almost guarantee that after this review posts, you will see about 3-4 positive reviews follow on top of this in the days after.

      Continue reading
      80 people found this review helpful
    4. 1.0
      Former Employee, less than 1 year

      Blame and Fear

      Apr 21, 2021 - Core Team Member 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      * Good pay * Remote work * Somewhat Flexible

      Cons

      * Micromanaging * Toxic environment * Disrespectful team members * Managers have no leadership skills and will insult you if you disagree with them * Lot's of blame and finger-pointing when something goes wrong with no one taking responsibility * Roles are not defined, so your responsibilities change almost daily, many times not finding out it was "your responsibility" until after there's a problem Some of the people were helpful and knowledgeable, most were not and truly lacked leadership and communication skills. Onboarding is a joke and new team members are frequently blamed for mistakes made by older team members or managers. My manager told me to take good notes during meetings then told me I was the problem when I caught him in lies or mistakes. Take if you absolutely need a job, but keep looking because you do not want to stay here long.

      Continue reading
      10 people found this review helpful
    5. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 3 years

      Spend an hour or two with this team and form your own opinion about us

      Feb 5, 2021 - Director of Recruiting in Austin, TX
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      FULL DISCLAIMER: I'm a part of the recruiting team. I'm writing this review not because I've been asked to (I haven't), but because I'm tired of seeing negative reviews showing up on this page that are recycling years-old data points and painting an inaccurate picture for candidates of a team that I'm very proud to be a part of. Toptal is a rapidly-scaling start-up, and like many companies, we made mistakes and broke some things early on. It happens. If you're trying to truly move fast and innovate, breaking eggs is a necessary part of the early recipe. Change is necessary and sometimes painful, but as someone who has watched things evolve firsthand for the last four years, I believe the changes have been positive. They’ve helped a good company strive for greatness, and achieve it regularly in departments across the organization. For the last two+ years, the executive leadership and overall direction of the company have elevated dramatically, and it’s made this a great place to work. The company has become much more people-centric, and as a result, over 40% of our hires last year were Toptalers referring friends and former colleagues. The benefits and perks have improved. The internal mobility opportunities are fantastic for autonomous, responsible people who thrive in dynamic organizations. Our communication is direct and honest, always with the intention of trying to help people grow. The feedback we receive from candidates who interviewed with us but didn’t end up joining the team is nearly unanimous in its positivity, both relating to how they were treated as people and their overall enjoyment of their interview experience. I encourage anyone curious about joining us to throw their hat in the ring and meet with us for a few hours: regardless of the ultimate outcome, I’d be shocked if you didn’t have a good experience with us (and I’d personally want to hear about it so we can continue to get better).

      Cons

      Toptal isn't for everybody. The company has a very high bar and pushes its people, and most of our teammates are committed to each other at a "sisters-and-brothers-in-arms" level. We don’t want to let each other down. In that vein, we look for people we can rely on when things get tough (and in a 40%+ YOY growth organization, things do get tough). It stretches all of us outside of our comfort zones. Toptalers need to be open to direct, constructive criticism and be comfortable defending their viewpoints with data, not just intuition. If that doesn't sound like fun to you, it probably won't be.

      Continue reading
      18 people found this review helpful
    6. 1.0
      Former Employee, less than 1 year

      Toxic culture, no diversity, very toxic and naive management (plus CEO)

      Apr 1, 2021 - Software Developer 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Please note: A lot of positive reviews are fake reviews written by Toptal employees or Toptal community. - Remote culture - Possibility to work with experienced developers (depends on the team) - Some developers are helpful - Ambitious team and company goals

      Cons

      - Management, quite chaotic, they hire & fire people constantly which results in a lot of fluctation in the teams - Most of them have no or just very poor soft skills - Teams are restructured quite often - CEO Taso is sometimes quite naive (employees make jokes about him in private channels, there is no trust) - No support to improve your skills (they expect you do it all in your spare time) - There is a culture of blame and fear. If you make a mistake, people will shout at you. Please read the other low rated reviews to get an impression of how it is to work with the core team. For me, I would never recomment Toptal mainly because of the management and the CEO.

      Continue reading
      13 people found this review helpful
    7. 2.0
      Current Employee, more than 1 year

      It's a successful company but with a toxic culture

      Aug 30, 2020 - Anonymous Employee in Chicago, IL
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      - Joining a company that's succeeding it's always a big perk. Anyone who joins would be attaching themselves to the "story of success at Toptal" - Remote work can be life-changing for many, especially to those outside of the US - There are some areas in the company where you can learn from people who are the best in their field - for example, Growth Marketing and Enterprise Sales

      Cons

      - Please google "Toptal The Information" to read an article about the drama between the founders. It's a dramatic story that signals how toxic can be to work with the CEO. - If you want even more details, including testimonies of a former employee, please google "jason calacanis toptal" and you will see the famous investor Jason Calacanis going for over an hour about Toptal and its CEO. - The company has high employee churn, especially for a remote company. Some of the people that left were not great, of course. However, plenty of good leaders left too. I believe over 80% of the people who report to the CEO have joined in the last 12 months.

      89 people found this review helpful
    8. 1.0
      Current Employee, more than 1 year

      Don’t do it - terrible culture with incompetent leaders

      Apr 25, 2021 - Core Team Member in New York, NY
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Pay Remote Somewhat flexible Interesting model

      Cons

      Many posters have already said this, however, this place is filled with some of the most incompetent leaders I have ever seen across all teams - from HR to Legal to Sales. People are promoted randomly based on favoritism rather than proven ability. Anyone good has since left. If you’re any good, please don’t waste your time here. I’ll be out of here the second I find another job.

      Continue reading
      8 people found this review helpful
    9. 1.0
      Current Employee, less than 1 year

      Do yourself a favor, avoid this company

      Apr 27, 2021 - Senior Software Engineer in San Jose, CA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Work from anywhere maybe? But there are better companies with this style

      Cons

      - They micromanage you - They really think they own you - If you are not happy, that is your problem not theirs - Managers have can even insult you - Non defined roles - You actually work more than as employee in a company

      7 people found this review helpful
    10. 1.0
      Current Employee, less than 1 year

      Worst company I’ve ever worked at

      Dec 9, 2020 - Manager in Westport, CT
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      I wasn’t going to bother writing a review but couldn’t stand by as Toptal tries to yet again inflate its rating after another series of honest reviews. Honestly there’s very little that’s a pro of working here. Every month we get a nice group of new people but most leave pretty quickly.

      Cons

      Toptal has convinced itself that if you say you’re an amazing company enough times it will be true. This place is far from an elite tech company. It’s not actually even a tech company. Did you ever dream of working at any of the hundreds of temp agencies that already exist? Then this place is for you. The turnover here is atrocious. In the 2 years I’ve been here almost every executive position has turnovered 2-3 times. The HR team is the CEO’s personal secret police. No negative feedback is allowed. Every few months when the company ratings drop a round of requests go out to add positive reviews. We’re on year 3 of this endless cycle. People leaving are threatened to stay quiet. Several execs don’t leave bother to list Toptal on their profile because they hated it here so much. I could go on but just look at all the detailed negative reviews and compare them with the generic positive ones. This isn’t a company you want to join.

      Continue reading
      40 people found this review helpful
    Viewing 1 - 10 of 270 Reviews

    Popular Careers with Toptal Job Seekers

    Software Engineer
    Learn About the Job
    JobsSalariesInterviews

    Work at Toptal? Share Your Experiences

    or