KEY NOT FOUND: coverImgAlt
Logo

Toptal

Is this your company?

Toptal

Add a Review

Toptal Reviews

Updated May 20, 2022

To filter reviews, or .

Found 366 of over 569 reviews

4.3
83%
Recommend to a Friend
81%
Approve of CEO
Toptal CEO, Co-Founder Taso DuVal
Taso DuVal
243 Ratings

What people are saying about Toptal

Join the conversation on
Join the conversation on

Top Review Highlights by Sentiment

Pros
  • "People are great to workwith all over the world(in 33 reviews)
  • "The leader of my team is great!(in 23 reviews)
  • "Great culture and values.(in 22 reviews)
  • "You'll be working with top clients and global brands all over the world while earning a good pay.(in 21 reviews)
  • "Good salary;(in 20 reviews)
Cons
Pros & Cons are excerpts from user reviews. They are not authored by Glassdoor.

Ratings by Gender

This rating reflects the overall rating of Toptal and is not affected by filters.

Want more demographic options?
  1. 5.0
    Current Employee, more than 1 year

    Better than expected

    May 19, 2022 - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Toptal is growing exceptionally fast, has a strong culture and provides lots of career opportunities across the org.

    Cons

    Faster-paced organization than any you’ll ever work for

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  2. 5.0
    Current Employee

    Fully-Remote hypergrowth company with room for advancement

    May 17, 2022 - Partner Operations Manager 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Awesome team, work-life balance, remote culture, and plenty of cross-functional support opportunities. It's fun to be part of an organization that is disrupting the professional services market, and filling a really unique niche.

    Cons

    Can sometimes feel like we're building the plane as we're flying it, but if you can handle the pace, it's a great challenge.

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  3. 1.0
    Former Employee, more than 1 year

    Don't be tricked by the false advertising

    Mar 7, 2022 - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    100% remote. You can work from anywhere without needing approval.

    Cons

    I highly doubt many of these 5-star reviews are real. There's no way that many employees can find absolutely no cons of working here. There's absolutely no way 70% of employees think the CEO is doing a good job. My team had a 30% turnover rate and none of us thought this is a good company, let alone one with "no cons". I know many groups who are in the same situation we were. Their top 3% of talent slogan is incredibly misleading. Top tech companies have way lower offer rates than 3% so it’s not even something to brag about to begin with but also keep in mind that most top developers don't even bother looking at Toptal because they can make way more somewhere else. Toptal keeps the acceptance rate artificially low by having recruiters reach out to people that have no real shot at getting accepted and getting them to apply. Toptal has fallen behind a lot of similar companies that do pretty much the same thing. Those companies offer better benefits, culture, and pay. Many of them also have the backing of top VC firms.

    Continue reading
    56 people found this review helpful
  4. 1.0
    Former Employee, less than 1 year

    Toxic is an understatement

    May 18, 2022 - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    - Truly remote work. - Diverse group of coworkers from across the globe - Interesting work - Good pay

    Cons

    - Toxic company culture - Job description did not meet actual responsibilities.

    1 person found this review helpful
  5. 1.0
    Current Employee

    worst

    May 12, 2022 - Data Analyst 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    They are aligned company number for time they ask for your Facebook profile information and then steal it and they lie and they don't give it back not worth the time for etiquette

    Cons

    False leading need to be sued for hacking

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful
  6. 5.0
    Current Employee, less than 1 year

    Great company that is disruptively innovating the future of work and talent

    Apr 14, 2022 - Senior Recruiter 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Work-life balance, autonomy, and the company is bought into the importance of recruiting. Very good benefits, unlimited PTO, fully remote. Great leadership in place.

    Cons

    No cons at this point.

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful
  7. 5.0
    Current Employee, more than 3 years

    Growth, Growth, Growth

    Apr 18, 2022 - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    We're growing in so many ways. Our team is rapidly scaling, our revenues, our offerings, our training, and our scalability.

    Cons

    Rapidly changing and scaling. You have to move fast to keep up.

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  8. 1.0
    Former Employee, less than 1 year

    Joke of a job

    Apr 18, 2022 - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    My only pro is that I was able to work remotely.

    Cons

    You have to use your own laptop, the company does not provide one. So, if you're like me and have always used company-provided laptops, you have to go and purchase one. Total lack of work-life balance. There is not enough space for me to write out every con I experienced while working here. Oh, also, because it's a "global company", you do not get holidays off. You have to use your PTO to 'request' a holiday off, and if there aren't enough employees to work, you have to work the holiday. Absolute nonsense.

    16 people found this review helpful
  9. 5.0
    Current Employee

    Best talent company in the world

    Mar 26, 2022 - Senior Principal Engineer 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    - fully remote, work from almost anywhere in the world - full support in almost every endeavour inside and outside work - incredibly open and welcoming culture - a giant number of the most brilliant and talented people

    Cons

    - a lot of work, a lot of legacy code and an application that no one single person really understands in full - very high requirements for hardware (reimbursed)

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  10. 2.0
    Current Employee, more than 1 year

    Strange place; culture of fear

    Sep 30, 2021 - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    remote work, decent comp and benefits, successful hypergrowth company--not going anywhere anytime soon, a lot of opportunity to move up or move around within the company (but this is mostly because of turnover and constant pivots)

    Cons

    -unethical practices -zero DE&I policy/not a forward-thinking place - very political atmosphere, with lots of backstabbing and CYA - employee happiness surveys are mandatory to fill out, but not anonymous, leaving people fearful to share accurate feedback -it's a strange place--big smiles on the outside, but many people are terribly unhappy -multiple lawsuits vs former employees -unclear salary and promotion strategy that leads to uneven and inequitable pay differences -you are considered a "veteran" if you've been with the company more than six months b/c of such high turnover -"yes" men move up, people who challenge the status quo or are really smart seem to move on...!

    Continue reading
    71 people found this review helpful
Viewing 1 - 10 of 366 Reviews