Toptal Reviews

Updated May 27, 2020

To filter reviews, or .
4.0
76%
Recommend to a Friend
70%
Approve of CEO
Toptal CEO, Co-Founder Taso DuVal
Taso DuVal
145 Ratings
Pros
Cons
  • "Remote work sounds nice for most people but in reality there are many people out there who are not made for this kind of work(in 28 reviews)

  • "After almost 2 years of experience here at Toptal I have no cons to list whatsoever(in 8 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. Featured Review
    Helpful (6)

    "This is the place to be!"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Product Designer in San Francisco, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Toptal full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    I am so proud to call Toptal home. Here are my top 5 reasons why I love working at Toptal in no particular order. 1. Great work-life balance through remote work. 2. Autonomy to be creative and entrepreneurial. 3. I am working on product features that are both challenging and exciting, but most importantly, these product features can help improve the lives of its users. 4. Leadership and management team are attentive and caring - they ensure that your voice is heard and provide plenty of opportunities to contribute to the overall success of the company. 5. Great impactful opportunities. If you like to be continuously challenged, execute against goals, and have an impact, then this is the place to be

    Cons

    Traditional growing pains that companies have in growth mode. However, growing pains are useful and vital to the company's growth and success.

    Continue reading
    Toptal2019-09-04
  2. "Great Culture, Top Talent, Highly Recommend!"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Core Team in New York, NY
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Toptal full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    - Smart, talented co-workers, who work very hard but are also very kind and down to earth - Exciting space to be in, everyone is very motivated and teams are highly collaborative - Great culture - A lot of room for advancement

    Cons

    None that I can think of

    Continue reading
    Toptal2020-05-27
  3. Helpful (69)

    "A break down.."

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Recruiter in Oklahoma City, OK
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Toptal full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    During the interview process I worried this would be too good to be true. Well, it's the real deal. I'm grateful to be a part of a successful and growing company that's an industry-leader bringing inventive and disrupting ideas. It's dedicated towards constant self-improvement and has a thoughtful growth plan. ✔ PEOPLE: Being fully remote I was shocked at the relationships I quickly built and continue to develop across my team and the organization. Everyone is readily available and willing to help each other. My team communicates very well and help each other out wherever it is needed. *Toptal is FILLED with people that truly care about their work and come up with impressive, innovative ways to better the environment, our goals, our processes, and any other area they can envision. ✔ CEO: He's not yachting or making decisions from the golf course. He's on the ground, contributing daily. He's involved and cares about this place. He's very intelligent, passionate, and strategic. He is a very direct communicator, but without direct communication you'd be left with ambiguity and inefficiency. ✔ CULTURE: Quickly reinforced what I was told during the interview process. This is a culture of collaborative and driven individuals. We show up and work hard while building relationships along the way. A very straightforward and blunt communication style which contributes to an open, "carefrontation", and efficient work environment. We have team outings so you get in-person with your team and occasional virtual happy-hours too! ✔ WORK: The job descriptions are purposefully created to lay out a lot of what pertains to a job, but what they don't tell you... because of all the innovative ideas and strategies you get to do a lot of interesting work. You're driven to think of things from new angles and contribute to conversation driving improvements in processes, strategy, and innovation. You'll be challenged here. ✔ FLEXIBILITY: I can work from where I want. Some days I need the quiet concentration of my home office and other days I enjoy sitting at a local cafe. I have coworkers that enjoy working on their patios and others that travel the world full time. *The PTO? I thought my last employer was generous and lax about time off, but Toptal proved that wrong. When I recently took time off I mentioned that I'd check-in on slack and was told "NO, enjoy your time off. It's YOURS." The PTO is the real deal.

    Cons

    ✘ Toptal isn't for everyone. If you just show up to work just for a paycheck you won't succeed or like it here. Toptal is for people that care about what they do, are driven for a greater purpose, and want to have impact. ✘ Remote work requires someone that is a self starter and passionate so they can stay on the ball. It also requires a strong ability to communicate proactively.

    Continue reading
    Toptal2019-08-08
  4. Helpful (2)

    "Fast moving company changing the staffing & consulting space forever"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Client Partner in New York, NY
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Toptal full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Toptal's model is very innovative and we are passionate about changing the way in which we clients all over the world are able to access elite talent. Seeing this in action is very exciting and personally fulfilling. Leadership is committed to our success with hands-on, real-time feedback. The trajectory is compelling for what the future holds for our business.

    Cons

    We move and mobilize very quickly which for some might be a hard adjustment. Demand from clients and internal stakeholders means that this is not a typical 9 - 5 job. Work life balance is not clearly delineated. While not a con to all, we have a very direct culture.

    Continue reading
    Toptal2020-03-20
  5. Helpful (1)

    "Overall, a fun and fast journey"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Enterprise Sales 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Toptal full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Working fully remote has been life changing. Not only for my family, but for my own well being. The people at Toptal are some of the most intelligent, thoughtful, and motivated people I've ever worked with. The global exposure and experience has given me newfound appreciation for how close and interconnected we all are, despite the geographic distance.

    Cons

    Not all companies are ready for distributed teams, although I think that is quickly changing.

    Toptal2020-03-17
  6. Helpful (1)

    "Super High Growth Company"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Client Partner 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Toptal full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Tons of autonomy, they hire very smart people and let them figure out problems Lots of opportunities to move up or horizontally due to high growth Leadership does a fantastic job of pushing people and giving them the tools to be successful Toptal is fully remote and ahead of the curve when it comes to infrastructure and processes for a remote company

    Cons

    Mild growing pains- processes are changing to keep up with demand, this is very normal for a hyper-growth company

    Continue reading
    Toptal2020-03-13
  7. Helpful (20)

    "Has Potential"

    2.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Toptal full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    remote work unlimited pto great vision

    Cons

    toxic culture creating policy for everything everyone is overworked no work life balance

    Continue reading
    Toptal2020-02-25
  8. Helpful (30)

    "Would not recommend "

    1.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Toptal full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Some groups are more shielded from the overall company and leadership issues. Also ability to work remote. 

    Cons

    Huge turnover problem. Every year about 40% of the execs leave. Most of that is because the CEO is difficult to work with and extremely unpopular (see articles about him hoarding equity if you want more details). Toptal likes to hype itself up as a company that's "changing the future of work" but in reality it's just a typical staffing agency acting as a middle man. There's nothing game changing here so don't be fooled into thinking this is some amazing tech company. If you join, expect to spend needlessly long hours on completely unimportant tasks. Also don't be tricked by the "unlimited vacation" policy. It's far from that. There's actually literally no official company holidays. You have to request days off even for New Years, Thanksgiving, and Christmas. 

    Continue reading
    Toptal2020-03-23
  9. Helpful (1)

    "Amazing team members!"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Toptal full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    The business model is solid and the future outlook is great. Team members are eager to jump in and help solve complicated issues. Working from home will be how the majority of the work force operates in the next few decades and I happy to working with a company that is leading the way in this area.

    Cons

    There is no 401K matching.

    Toptal2020-02-21
  10. Helpful (35)

    "Watch out for fake reviews."

    1.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Toptal full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Job seekers: you should assume that many of these positive reviews are falsified or inaccurate. Read the negative ones carefully and ask direct questions in your interviews.

    Cons

    Shockingly bad people/HR practices... some of the worst I've seen in my career. - mediocre pay - no bonuses - no options - no professional development offered or funded - no equipment budget: you supply your own computer, desk, and any other gear out of your own pocket - no employee retreats, travel budget and so forth - no anniversaries or birthdays observed - no diversity & inclusion. The CEO is anti-diversity. - no confidential feedback: the People team will share anything you tell them with whomever they feel should see it - no fun! Employee happiness is tracked using a pulse NPS survey which is not anonymous. If you answer with anything lower than a positive score, you have to then take a meeting with the People team where instead of hearing your concerns, they push back against all of them and take nothing into account. Massive brain drain is happening now. Anyone smart is leaving for greener pastures and lots of other remote companies are offering much better benefits.

    Continue reading
    Toptal2020-03-06
Found 210 reviews