Toptal Reviews | Glassdoor

Toptal Reviews

Updated 16 Aug 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 177 reviews

3.9
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
74%
Recommend to a Friend
70%
Approve of CEO
Toptal CEO Taso DuVal
Taso DuVal
118 Ratings
  1. Helpful (4)

    "Great work experience, set me up for the future"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Manager in Dallas, TX
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Toptal full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Being in startup mode I was allowed to work on projects that were essentially out of my job scope helping me gain valuable knowledge and experience. There is never a shortage of projects to work on it just requires being observant of what's going on around the company and asking to be involved. There is a strong openness and transparency across the organization which is refreshing but can be confronting for newbies...

    Show More

    Cons

    Remote isn't for everyone, you don't have ad-hoc meetups like in an office so it does require everyone to take initiative to engage with others and ask questions. The company does run lean so be expected to not just "show up" but be asked to do things above and beyond regularly - this isn't a big con but people should be ready to work! When I was there, there were holes in management which caused communication problems...

    Show More
    Toptal2019-08-08
  2. Helpful (6)

    "A break down.."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Recruiter in Oklahoma City, OK
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Toptal full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    During the interview process I worried this would be too good to be true. Well, it's the real deal. I'm grateful to be a part of a successful and growing company that's an industry-leader bringing inventive and disrupting ideas. It's dedicated towards constant self-improvement and has a thoughtful growth plan. ✔ PEOPLE: Being fully remote I was shocked at the relationships I quickly built and continue to develop across...

    Show More

    Cons

    ✘ Toptal isn't for everyone. If you just show up to work just for a paycheck you won't succeed or like it here. Toptal is for people that care about what they do, are driven for a greater purpose, and want to have impact. ✘ Remote work requires someone that is a self starter and passionate so they can stay on the ball. It also requires a strong ability to communicate proactively.

    Advice to Management

    ✵ There are people here that really care and appreciate the proactive and fresh ideas you're bringing to the table. The new initiatives to further our culture and company are thoughtful and inventive. Thank you! ✵

    Toptal2019-08-08
  3. Helpful (5)

    "Great Company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Toptal full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    - The amazing team members who are all working toward the same goal. - Ability to work from anywhere in the world. - Good Benefits

    Cons

    I don't have any but working from home is not for all.

    Advice to Management

    Keep doing what you doing and thanks for providing good benefit options this year.

    Toptal2019-07-29
  4. Helpful (7)

    "Toptal is the company that I was always looking for!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Director 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Toptal full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    At Toptal you really feel like you are part of the next big thing. You get to work with people from different cultures all over the world. Everyone is extremely smart, self-motivated and strive for excellence. You really feel like your individual work is contributing to the mission. Leadership is down-to-earth, understanding and supportive. Toptal is a transparent environment where you are encouraged to bring up possible...

    Show More

    Cons

    I am disappointed by the few negative reviews I see here. Toptal's culture is built for and by high performers. There is a misconception that a remote job means, "easy". If you love to roll up your sleeves and be part of building something that has never been built before, then this is a place for you. If you prefer the "everything handled for you" corporate environment, then this company would not be a fit.

    Advice to Management

    Keep pushing! The company has made so many positive changes in the last year. The sky is the limit if we keep going in this direction.

    Toptal2019-07-23
  5. Helpful (6)

    "Excellent Culture!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Sales Engineer in Remote, OR
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Toptal full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Very collaborative team, management is very accessible.

    Cons

    Long hours since you help clients in all time zones.

    Toptal2019-01-06
  6. Helpful (4)

    "Great Flexibility"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Software Engineer in San Francisco, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Toptal for more than a year

    Pros

    I can take as many vacation days as I like. I can work from anywhere in the world. I get to work on different projects with different companies.

    Cons

    I don't get healthcare benefits.

    Toptal2018-09-25
  7. Helpful (5)

    "A company that lives its values"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Toptal full-time

    Pros

    There are a lot of things that make working at Toptal great, but the top three are: 1. Leadership focus on values isn't just talk. It drives day-to-day operations. 2. The company hires really, really smart people, so which motivates me to raise the bar for myself, every day. 3. I can work from anywhere, which is amazing

    Cons

    Working remotely isn't for everyone; good communication takes more work and commitment. If you're not a good communicator already, this might not be the place for you.

    Advice to Management

    Keep up the honest and direct communication and focus on core values.

    Toptal2018-09-24
  8. Helpful (5)

    "Great work from home. Lots of gigs to take. Love the clients"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Software Engineer in San Francisco, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Toptal for less than a year

    Pros

    Treated like an actual human being in this. I am very well respected. I get paid three times more than my previous job (My previous job located in Canada)

    Cons

    Hard to pass the interview.

    Toptal2018-07-18
  9. Helpful (6)

    "A hidden unicorn (with plenty of career growth opportunities)"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Toptal full-time

    Pros

    - Continous learning (you will never get bored) - Remote work - Toptal has incredible product-market fit - Focus on sustainable hyper-growth - Global workforce - Making history as the first large fully distributed company

    Cons

    - Culture is officially very direct, yet that is understood differently depending on country of origin and team - Toptal grew really fast. Thera are several growth pains that require attention

    Advice to Management

    You are making good changes to improve culture, communication, and organizational structure. Don't stop.

    Toptal2018-05-25
  10. Helpful (6)

    "Great place to work!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Sales Engineer 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Toptal full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Remote working. Great company culture. Continued education and support. Fun environment. Ability to advance and transition to different roles within the company.

    Cons

    No cons, Toptal is a great place to work.

    Advice to Management

    Keep it up!

    Toptal2017-10-26
Found 177 reviews