Torrey Pines Bank Reviews | Glassdoor

Torrey Pines Bank Reviews

Updated Jun 13, 2018

To filter reviews, or .

2.9
46%
Recommend to a Friend
Torrey Pines Bank Division CEO John Maguire (no image)
John Maguire
0 Rating
  1. Helpful (1)

    "Great opportunities here!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in San Diego, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Torrey Pines Bank full-time

    Pros

    I have had a great experience working at Torrey Pines Bank thus far. It has been my experience that my mangers and HR want to see employees grow. I've seen many employees promoted from within their own departments or promoted to higher positions on neighboring teams, myself included. I have also enjoyed becoming a member of the Women's Alliance and participating in meetings to network with my peers and those women in executive positions. Overall, I would recommend Torrey Pines as an employer to my network.

    Show More

    Cons

    Individual teams/departments organize their own employee recognition efforts, but it would be great if Torrey could do something on a more consistent basis across all teams.

    Advice to Management

    My advice to management would be to continue to support programs such as the Women's Alliance and to incorporate more employee recognition programs. My co-workers and I love to participate in these opportunities for professional growth and I think it would go a long way to recognize employees more often for the great things they do at Torrey.

    Torrey Pines Bank2018-06-13
  2. "Credit Analyst Intern"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Intern - Anonymous Intern 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I worked at Torrey Pines Bank

    Pros

    Great exposure and opportunity for those who want to learn

    Cons

    Very corporate culture and unexciting workplace environment

    Advice to Management

    Push employees more

    Torrey Pines Bank2018-02-06
  3. Create your profile to get personalized information

  4. "Decent"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Bank Teller in San Diego, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook

    I worked at Torrey Pines Bank full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Getting the basic health and dental insurance, okay pay, distance was decent from my house. It is not anything extraordinary but it helped pay bills.

    Cons

    Low morale due to some of the staffing that do not always act professional as they should be within a business environment

    Advice to Management

    To listen to their employees about how operations works versus only how they see it as a macro view. Listening to employees gives management better view on how to conduct policies and everyday work situations,

    Torrey Pines Bank2017-12-11
  5. "Stay away from this place"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Customer Service Representative in San Diego, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook

    I worked at Torrey Pines Bank for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Bonus incentives, holiday parties, customers

    Cons

    Lack of leadership, HR is a joke, bullied employees by management, lack of pay

    Advice to Management

    Clean house starting with management.

    Torrey Pines Bank2017-01-03
  6. "Terrible place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook

    I worked at Torrey Pines Bank full-time

    Pros

    no pros. just work for humble paycheck.

    Cons

    employees are unhappy and live in fear. hostile working environment.

    Advice to Management

    communication

    Torrey Pines Bank2016-06-15
  7. Helpful (1)

    "Vice President, Corporate"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Vice President, Corporate in San Diego, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I worked at Torrey Pines Bank for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Good lending institution. This is the "new Torrey Pines Bank", the original being sold to Wells Fargo in 1989

    Cons

    Focus on differentiation from competitors, and, targeting specific verticals would bring greater focus and value to the brand

    Torrey Pines Bank2016-04-18
  8. "Empty promises"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Loan Officer in San Diego, CA
    Doesn't Recommend

    I have been working at Torrey Pines Bank full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Hours are reasonable; nice building/work environment

    Cons

    no growth once you're hired, pay is below market unless you've been in banking for years and have jumped bank to bank to get raises. The systems are very rudimentary, making the job much more difficult than it needs to be. Senior management is out of touch with the needs of their employees; it's a revolving door and some of the best employees happily accept jobs at competitors.

    Advice to Management

    Reward those that have been loyal to the Bank instead of putting all focus on new hires who are offered salaries twice the amount of the counterparts expected to train them.

    Torrey Pines Bank2015-11-17
  9. Helpful (3)

    "Credit/Loan"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Los Angeles, CA

    I worked at Torrey Pines Bank full-time

    Pros

    The vacation benefits were decent

    Cons

    Management shows favoritism, doesn't appreciate their employees, hires people too young to handle their titles; immature management

    Advice to Management

    Recognize the employees that you currently have so that they don't end up leaving the company because of how management treats their employees. Especially the downtown LA office after all the turnovers that happened.

    Torrey Pines Bank2015-04-10
  10. Helpful (1)

    "No Structure, no training, very disorganized"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Commercial Loan Processor in San Diego, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook

    I have been working at Torrey Pines Bank full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Fellow coworkers are nice and helpful

    Cons

    Management. How in the world do these people get and keep their jobs. They are clueless in this industry. So many things need to be changed, yet you can't voice your opinion. For the people who have, it just goes unnoticed.

    Advice to Management

    Implement change, listen to what employees have to say.

    Torrey Pines Bank2015-03-24
  11. Helpful (3)

    "Excellent"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Officer in San Diego, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Torrey Pines Bank

    Pros

    In growth mode, awesome people with a lot of banking experience

    Cons

    Technology is limited (as with all community banks)

    Advice to Management

    Allocate everything to technology, train managers to mentor future leaders

    Torrey Pines Bank2014-12-28
Found 10 reviews