Towergate Insurance Reviews | Glassdoor

Towergate Insurance Reviews

Updated 14 Nov 2019

To filter reviews, or .

2.5
39%
Recommend to a Friend
59%
Approve of CEO
Towergate Insurance CEO David Ross  (no image)
David Ross
21 Ratings
  1. "AWFUL"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Account Executive 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Towergate Insurance full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    The IMPACT Friday's where we would finish early and have lunch provided for you.

    Cons

    Everything else. No support, no proper training. Dropped in at the deep-end and expected to know what you are doing, even with no previous experience. Was lied to during the interview stages. Job role was completely different to what I was told I would be doing. Left due to serious depression brought on by this job.

    Advice to Management

    Take more care of your employees!

    Towergate Insurance2019-11-14
  2. "Terrible place to work."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Stevenage, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Towergate Insurance full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Absolutely nothing everything is terrible

    Cons

    Unprofessional in every capacity. One of the manager talks to her staff like they are dirt. No matter how many times this was brought to the attention of the MD he did nothing about it. I would rather be homeless for the rest of my life than to ever even consider working here again. Truly, hell on earth.

    Advice to Management

    Direct to the MD, you need to sit down with every team member, people are being treated terribly, you need to know about it and do something!!!

    Towergate Insurance2019-10-29
  3. "I wouldn't Go Back"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Account Handler in Telford, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Towergate Insurance full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Its OK for a starter job but not a long term career

    Cons

    A lot of back stabbing and throwing people under the proverbial bus High turnover of staff which doesn't go unnoticed by other members of staff Constructive feedback is not given, no praise for when things are done well but closed door meetings when mistakes are made

    Advice to Management

    Look at staff like humans and not so much as numbers which then may help with staff retention Praise staff instead of shooting them down, the smallest things go a long way

    Towergate Insurance2019-10-11
  4. "Nice place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Insurance Broker in Leeds, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Towergate Insurance full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Left to manage self and not micro managed

    Cons

    Quite a quiet office

    Towergate Insurance2019-10-11
  5. "Enjoyable"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - New Business Representative in Manchester, England
    Recommends
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Towergate Insurance full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Excellent training and progression. Enjoyable working environment and excellent bonus.

    Cons

    Managers favour certain people. No clear structure for the future.

    Advice to Management

    Look at talent

    Towergate Insurance2019-10-07
  6. Helpful (1)

    "Dont believe a word"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Underwriter in Colchester, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Towergate Insurance full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    None none none none none

    Cons

    Promise you the world but will break every promise they make you. Do not trust them an inch

    Advice to Management

    You didn't listen to me when I worked there, why should you listen to me now

    Towergate Insurance2019-09-23
  7. Helpful (1)

    "Dreadful place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Customer Service Advisor in Stevenage, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Towergate Insurance full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    There was nothing good about this company.

    Cons

    The staff were incredibly clicky and as a new starter I was made to feel like an outsider and not much effort was made to make me feel welcome. The management style employed by the company is just bullying staff into submission. My manager took no interest in how I was settling in and the few words she actually said to me mainly consisted of abusive language. It was an incredibly toxic environment to work in and I... felt nothing but relief when I resigned due to the vile treatment I received from my manager and her causing me to cry over the phone.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Actually teach your managers how to manage rather than bully. All of the processes you use are outdated and long winded and the IT equipment is shockingly bad. The training is far too long and drawn out (that amount of e-learning is not necessary especially when they are not actually tailored towards the role someone is doing). The pay is disgraceful - you need to actually value your staff instead of treating them... like a number.

    Show More
    Towergate Insurance2019-09-21
  8. "Good"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Customer Service Representative 

    I have been working at Towergate Insurance full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Support throughout the training progress

    Cons

    Lack of progression in the job

    Towergate Insurance2019-09-19
  9. Helpful (1)

    "dont do it to yourself"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Account Handler in West Byfleet, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Towergate Insurance full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    employee scheme to buy more holidays

    Cons

    salary (they seem to pay a lot under industry standard and seem ok with the constant turnover in staff as a result). Promises on bonus's being made and never fullfilled. Managers barefaced lying because they are not accountable, a simple "sorry its not my call, couldn't get it signed off", so essentially the person who can make decisions on your work and career, is someone you have probably never met before. offices... forever merging together, so dont expect to stay in the same place you start working at. its just filled with in house political boll0cks. Even had a manager annoyed that i had declared a new business win, as it owuld have been better to delay the policy to get it into next years figures.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Invest in training and find a way to bring the company together. Competing branches against each other are actively hurting other branches by not passing leads across as it will affect how they compare.

    Towergate Insurance2019-09-18
  10. "Hard working ethos and supportive MD"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Business Development Manager in Telford, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Towergate Insurance full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Hard work is rewarded and recognised. Opportunities to progress into more diverse roles than you would find in a standard brokerage. Flexible working environment when required and good benefits including access to remote working equipment. When times are tough directors and managers all muck in, even doing the most mundane of tasks.

    Cons

    Heavy workload for some teams but conducive with business success

    Advice to Management

    Keep supporting staff who want to remain in the business and be innovative when hiring talent.

    Towergate Insurance2019-09-11
Found 214 reviews