Towergate Insurance Reviews | Glassdoor

Towergate Insurance Reviews

Updated Sep 21, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 208 reviews

2.6
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
41%
Recommend to a Friend
65%
Approve of CEO
Towergate Insurance CEO David Ross  (no image)
David Ross
19 Ratings
  1. Helpful (1)

    "Sad to leave, Fantastic place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Renewals in Telford, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Towergate Insurance full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    The working environment, friendly staff and management Opportunities to progress within each role. Great company benefits Internal training and support in completing CII training modules

    Cons

    Nothing to say here, sad to be leaving.

    Advice to Management

    Keep up the good work!

    Towergate Insurance2018-09-26
  2. Helpful (1)

    "Unappreciated"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Towergate Insurance

    Pros

    ?? They don't exist at all

    Cons

    Poor management too far out of their depth

    Advice to Management

    Don't forget everyone is human

    Towergate Insurance2018-11-01
  3. Helpful (1)

    "Accountant"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Towergate Insurance full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    There are no pros about this company

    Cons

    The managers are not to geat

    Towergate Insurance2018-10-31
  4. "Somewhat disappointing"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - New Business Advisor in Colchester, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Towergate Insurance full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    - Pay is decent, commission is also a nice bonus. - Laid back attitude in the office, but I must admit that this will depend on the people you work with so it's not a Towergate pro per se. - Coffee and tea at your disposal. - Opportunity for further training, various courses or accrediatations you can apply for. The trainers themselves are actually quite nice and helpful people. - Some employees are... well intentioned and hard working but continuously under-appreciated, even among the managers. Those people will be your friends and make your life much easier, though. I am struggling to find more pros as the rest are personal and not connected to or due to Towergate.

    Show More

    Cons

    - The company insists on all customer services values but when it comes down to it all they seem to care about is the money. People who perform on their target are rewarded even if their behaviour is non-compliant while others will be taxed if they perform very well on everything apart from their target. - Management comes off as very unapproachable. Won't give you the time of the day unless your're part of a... certain clique. - You will be expected to do unpaid over-time and you are not allowed to try to avoid it. - Very difficult to change illogical or unfair day-to-day procedures or lack of procedure altogether. - Outdated systems and poor IT management. The "new" system keeps getting delayed and the company keeps setting deadlines that clearly will not be met. - Very little room for advancement and little career opportunities, people have actually been discouraged from pursuing a change in position. - Other people have spoken about nepotism, which is true. Also very strange considering there is a high staff turn over. People leave...a lot. - Old or improper office equipment. It's amazing what a chair with proper lumbar support can do to your daily productivity.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Review your day to day procedures as they are outdated and could be improved. Office management should also be more open to discussion and approachable. Should also review what you really care about in day to day business rather than giving mixed signals to your staff as questionable behaviour keeps getting rewarded as long as money is coming in. There have been occasions when management has actually been... insulting to the staff but I also think that is up to the individuals to sort out. I can't shake the feeling though that as people we don't really matter when we're at the bottom of the food chain. Probably explains the high staff turn over. Forcing your staff to do unpaid over-time is also unacceptable and results in them developing various ways to try and avoid it at the expense of your customer base and company resources. I can imagine recruiting and hiring new staff all the time is costly. Productivity would probably increase if you treated your staff fairly instead of hounding them and overworking them with no reward in return. I don't shy away from hard work as long as I feel I'm working towards something and is appreciated. I am open to discuss this in more detail should anyone want to contact me, I do not feel like discussing this with the higher-ups of my particular branch is wanted or would bring any results, but I am also of the opinion a company should be given the opportunity to improve. I wouldn't have taken the time to write this review if I didn't care about work ethic and improving things.

    Show More
    Towergate Insurance2018-10-11
  5. ""Great place to work""

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I worked at Towergate Insurance full-time

    Pros

    Great company benefits Good pension package Flexible Good training and development

    Cons

    None, I really can't complain.

    Advice to Management

    Keep up the Good Work!

    Towergate Insurance2018-09-12
  6. Helpful (2)

    "The worst business I have ever worked for"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Towergate Insurance full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great at selling the dream Good benefits package (although I think that has gone now for anyone joining)

    Cons

    A culture of lies - so many promises and declarations yet none of it seems to be based on action or truth Whiplash from the number of changes. Just when you think the business is moving in one direction they do a complete U-turn and tell you not to ask questions A management team that instills fear - I have never known a business where speaking your mind is so frowned upon

    Advice to Management

    Start trusting your staff and stop worrying about your ego

    Towergate Insurance2018-09-04
  7. "Not great working in their finance department unless you all came across together from another company."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Finance 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Towergate Insurance full-time

    Pros

    When the day ends and you get to leave

    Cons

    Rife nepotism, questionable values demonstrated in some cases

    Advice to Management

    NA

    Towergate Insurance2018-08-30
  8. "Terrible Redundancy Package/Notice"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Client Services Consultant in Leeds, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Towergate Insurance full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Location, No one cares what your doing so you can do what you like!

    Cons

    They have zero interest in their staff or what they do on a daily basis. All they care about is targets

    Advice to Management

    Management are unable to manage people properly because they are constantly being lied to by people above them.

    Towergate Insurance2018-08-20
  9. "Great place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Commercial Account Handler in Manchester City Centre, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Towergate Insurance full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great company benefits Good pension package Flexible Access to CII training modules

    Cons

    None really, can't complain.

    Towergate Insurance2018-07-12
  10. "Terrible Employee Culture"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Towergate Insurance full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    They talk a good game Some of the management seem to care and want to do well

    Cons

    Terrible HR Treat staff poorly and use them Seem to ignore bad news (redundancies) and only focus on positives

    Advice to Management

    Stop treating staff like they're just a number

    Towergate Insurance2018-07-18
Found 208 reviews