Town of Oyster Bay Reviews | Glassdoor

Town of Oyster Bay Reviews

Updated Sep 23, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

3.9
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
69%
Recommend to a Friend
  1. "lifeguard"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I worked at Town of Oyster Bay part-time

    Pros

    Great job. You meet tons of people your age. Lots of down time to swim.

    Cons

    not the best pay. Sometimes hard to get coverage. If people don't show up you get screwed over.

    Advice to Management

    pay more and provide more sun protective equipment.

    Town of Oyster Bay2017-01-10
  2. "Gap Camp Counselor"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Gap Camp Counselor in Massapequa, NY
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook

    I worked at Town of Oyster Bay part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Easy Hours, good summer job

    Cons

    little pay, long days, stressful

    Advice to Management

    Better compensation

    Town of Oyster Bay2016-03-31
  3. Helpful (1)

    "Meh"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Lifeguard 
    Recommends
    Negative Outlook

    I worked at Town of Oyster Bay part-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Worked as lifeguard, it was great hours, good pay and a steady job for the summers when I was younger.

    Cons

    As I got older I realized that the town was really corrupt. Hiring was stunted by politics, my job was hindered by politics. I had upper town management, elected officials, come to my pool and lie straight to my face. only to undermine me when they get to their office.

    Advice to Management

    Fire everyone and start over

    Town of Oyster Bay2016-03-22
  4. "Meh"

    StarStarStarStarStar
     

    I have been working at Town of Oyster Bay

    Pros

    Decent overall job, lots of hours

    Cons

    Very corrupt town politics weigh in

    Town of Oyster Bay2016-03-23
  5. "Nice experience. Greatly depends upon which Commissioner you workfor."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Recreational Aide in Massapequa, NY
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook

    I worked at Town of Oyster Bay full-time

    Pros

    Friendly people, opportunity to use brain, again dependent upon the commissioner to whom you report.

    Cons

    Bad experience with Deputy Commissioner. She enjoyed messing with people, preferring that to just letting us do our work! Ensure Deputies do not have free range to destroy morale and needle people based on her unsubstantiated personal problems (mainly regarding unsubstantiated feelings, not business related)!

    Advice to Management

    Review authority provided to Deputies! Have Commissioners be more hands-on!

    Town of Oyster Bay2015-04-29
  6. "Worth it while in college"

    StarStarStarStarStar
     

    I worked at Town of Oyster Bay

    Pros

    Brainless job. Not overly taxing and hardly any stress. Everything is very laid back and hardly any deadlines for work

    Cons

    Brainless job where nobody has any idea of how to make things work better. If older employees with hardly any education would listen to young employees that are educated things would run more smoothly

    Town of Oyster Bay2014-09-24
  7. "i worked as a lifeguard for 6 years"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Lifeguard 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook

    I worked at Town of Oyster Bay full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    easy work, decent pay, fun environment. Good people to work with. they are young and we usually hung out on our time off.

    Cons

    You have to work long hours, often 9am - 9pm. The town has gotten increasingly strict with its workers after a few scandals.

    Advice to Management

    Hire more employees

    Town of Oyster Bay2014-08-22
  8. Helpful (1)

    "My experience at the Town of Oyster Bay varied greatly from department to department."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Recreational Aide in Massapequa, NY
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook

    I worked at Town of Oyster Bay full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Lot of departments! Easy to move around "til you find that perfect fit. Nobody wants to spend their entire day surrounded by old, gossiping women, which could easily happen here. Thankfully, I was able to check out three of four different spots, when I finally found a perfect fit. Of course, there's always one person, but I can honestly say that (besides that one), I honestly enjoyed working with everyone in my... last position. I would definitely have stayed if personal circumstances didn't dictate that I move to another state.

    Show More

    Cons

    Very politically ruled. It's all about who you know!!! Additionally (and because of this), too many of the wrong people have too much power. They seem to attract mean, spiteful, immature supervisors, who like flexing their muscles and disrupting work more than overseeing a smooth flow of operation.

    Advice to Management

    Watch your Deputies! I know of one in particular who went rogue. Ruined my experience with the Town until I was fortunate enough to move to a different department and a much more mature Deputy.

    Town of Oyster Bay2014-04-28
  9. "I was a Seasonal worker and they don't pay us enough"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Seasonal Employee 

    I worked at Town of Oyster Bay part-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Pretty easy work, I cleaned up a park

    Cons

    Lost a bunch of days I use to work 40hrs a week and they cut us down to 24

    Advice to Management

    Pay your employees more

    Town of Oyster Bay2012-12-06
Found 19 reviews