Towson University Adjunct Professor Reviews | Glassdoor

Towson University Adjunct Professor Reviews

Updated Mar 31, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 13 reviews

4.8
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
93%
Recommend to a Friend
100%
Approve of CEO
Towson University CEO Timothy Chandler
Timothy Chandler
2 Ratings
  1. "Towson"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    Current Employee - Adjunct Professor 

    I have been working at Towson University for more than 3 years

    Pros

    An amazing place to work

    Cons

    The construction is never ending. Parking is a struggle.

    Towson University2019-03-31
  2. "Teaching"

    StarStarStarStarStar
      Former Employee - Adjunct Professor in Baltimore, MD

      I worked at Towson University part-time for less than a year

      Pros

      Good faculty Good facilities Great peoples

      Cons

      It 's a great place for teaching

      Towson University2019-03-21
    • "Great atmosphere to work in"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Adjunct Professor in Towson, MD
      Recommends
      Positive Outlook
      Approves of CEO

      I have been working at Towson University for more than 3 years

      Pros

      - Professional colleagues - Opportunity for professional development and advancement - Great benefits - Good parking

      Cons

      Some inconvenient construction around campus

      Advice to Management

      Communicate what's going around campus better. It's good for the right hand to know what the left hand is doing.

      Towson University2018-08-23
    • "There was very little assistance or supervision given to me as a new employee."

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Adjunct Professor in Towson, MD
      Doesn't Recommend
      Positive Outlook
      No opinion of CEO

      I worked at Towson University part-time for more than a year

      Pros

      I was given a fair amount of autonomy in how to teach the content. Other teachers were willing to lend suggestions.

      Cons

      The pay is low and in addition they charge you for parking, which us also difficult to find on campus. The department administration was not very helpful in getting started.

      Advice to Management

      Give some additional support to new adjuncts who don't know the routines.

      Towson University2017-08-22
    • Helpful (2)

      "Adjunct Professor"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Adjunct Professor in Baltimore, MD
      Doesn't Recommend
      Negative Outlook

      I have been working at Towson University full-time for more than a year

      Pros

      Freedom and opportunity to do what you want as a professional.

      Cons

      No benefits No parking No care at all about part-time employees

      Advice to Management

      Stop the adjunct paradigm

      Towson University2016-08-01
    • Helpful (1)

      "Nine place to work if you are interested in teaching a class"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Adjunct Professor in Towson, MD
      Recommends
      Positive Outlook
      No opinion of CEO

      I have been working at Towson University part-time for more than 3 years

      Pros

      Nice environment and good students, supportive staff. I feel included and valued.

      Cons

      An adjunct teacher does not have the resources to help students as much as I would like.

      Towson University2016-07-06
    • Helpful (1)

      "Adjunct Professor"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Adjunct Professor in Woodbine, MD
      Recommends
      Positive Outlook
      Approves of CEO

      I worked at Towson University part-time for more than a year

      Pros

      Excellent academic and program facilities

      Cons

      Large organization so easy to get lost in the numbers

      Advice to Management

      Pay faculty better

      Towson University2016-04-15
    • Helpful (1)

      "Teaching at Towson"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Adjunct Professor in New Freedom, PA
      Recommends
      Neutral Outlook
      No opinion of CEO

      I have been working at Towson University for more than 5 years

      Pros

      I work with some great people and the schedule is flexible. The students are for the most part nice and easy to work with. There are always exceptions, of course.

      Cons

      The pay is not very good. You have to pay for parking and that can be expensive. It's a public university so you have to be concerned about the state budget.

      Advice to Management

      I wish they would do more to keep good people. It would also be helpful if they offered more professional development.

      Towson University2015-11-18
    • "It was a good experience for low pay."

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Adjunct Professor in Baltimore, MD
      Recommends
      Neutral Outlook
      No opinion of CEO

      I worked at Towson University part-time for more than a year

      Pros

      You had good hours, and good coworkers. The people were friendly and always accommodating. They made a point to help out new individuals and make sure you understood what was going on.

      Cons

      Very low pay, inconsistent work. You never knew when you would have classes the next semester and they scheduled late.

      Advice to Management

      Increase pay for adjunct

      Towson University2014-07-16
    • "Would have loved to work for them as a Full Time with benefits employee. However, not as an Adjunct Faculty"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Adjunct Professor in Towson, MD
      Doesn't Recommend
      Neutral Outlook
      No opinion of CEO

      I worked at Towson University for more than 5 years

      Pros

      Great colleagues, clean and technologically up to date working environment

      Cons

      It's like Rodney Dangerfield said, "I can't get no respect!" That's what it feels like to be an adjunct faculty. No guarantee of courses from term to term, no benefits, no retirement, basically financial insecurity. No health... Heck, they wouldn't even pay for parking. I had to pay for an annual parking pass. And don't try to not pay for parking. Towson is a POLICE STATE. They are everywhere ticketing the...

      Show More

      Advice to Management

      My advice is to the students. Demand more from your tuition. You spend big bucks to attend Towson. Instead of the administration building a "really cool" climbing wall and offering Pizza Hut in the cafeteria, demand more. Demand they put the money towards hiring more full time instructors. An adjunct who is paid well, stays longer and contributes to meaningful relationships between faculty and students. However,...

      Show More
      Towson University2013-10-15
    Found 13 reviews