Towson University Reviews | Glassdoor

Towson University Reviews

Updated Jul 8, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 240 reviews

4.0
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
82%
Recommend to a Friend
78%
Approve of CEO
Towson University CEO Timothy Chandler
Timothy Chandler
69 Ratings
  1. "Lack of growth potential"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Administrative Assistant in Towson, MD
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Towson University full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    You can attend night classes while working by tuition remission

    Cons

    It is difficult to earn a degree because supervisors are not flexible. Also it is difficult to move around because of favoritism with other employees or just hiring friends and family to help elevate their growth potential instead of the employees with seniority and experience.

    Advice to Management

    Be fair and equitable because everyone deserves a chance to excel especially those employees that earned degrees and still could not advance into other jobs to earn more money toward their potential retirement. I think it is sad and short sided.

    Towson University2019-07-09
  2. "Overall Good"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Coordinator 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Towson University full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Good People- Flexible Hours-Nice Campus

    Cons

    Salary Compression is a real thing

    Towson University2019-07-05
  3. "Unorganized and unprofessional"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Resident Assistant in Towson, MD
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Towson University full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Provide students with the opportunity to go to school and work free room and board stipend

    Cons

    Supervisors that have been there for a long time do not care about the job anymore and it shows as they have little drive to do good things for the department and students. unfriendly and entitled attitudes from supervisors treat employees as if they are disposable during some of the most trying times in their lives.

    Advice to Management

    If you ask your staff to have a better attitude towards training and other aspects of the job please make sure you are also doing this.

    Towson University2019-06-17
  4. "Great Employer with Limited Opportunities for Advancement"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Towson University full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Great work/life balance and supportive coworkers

    Cons

    Limited room for advancement avaiable

    Towson University2019-06-13
  5. "Neat place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Not Too Good in Towson, MD
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Towson University part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    The students and colleagues are nice and respectful.

    Cons

    The salary is very small for the adjuncts.

    Advice to Management

    Treat the adjunct lecturers well.

    Towson University2019-06-11
  6. "Towson University"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Academic Advisor 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Towson University full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    collegial staff with common goal of student support, commitment to diversity & inclusion, very generous leave policy, great health and retirement benefits

    Cons

    salaries not as high as at private institutions

    Towson University2019-05-11
  7. "An Admin - Need more but overall a good experience"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Administrative Assistant in Towson, MD
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Towson University full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Flexibility, Low-stress, Free time, Consistency

    Cons

    Pay, Politics, Lack of need

    Advice to Management

    A lot of admin assistants, capable ones, if you pay them a more competitive wage (say around the $50k mark) they could easily do the job of 3 admin assistants. You would have to train them and offer better supports, but cutting out two salaries to increase one by 15k... well you could save a lot of money. As technology advances the demands of admin assistants are less and there needs to be more engagement.

    Towson University2019-05-08
  8. "A great place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Student Associate in Towson, MD
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Towson University part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Flexible Hours Understanding Willing to teach what you don't know

    Cons

    No cons that I can think of

    Towson University2019-04-26
  9. "It's okay"

    StarStarStarStarStar
      Current Employee - Multimedia Specialist 
      Recommends
      Positive Outlook

      I have been working at Towson University full-time for more than a year

      Pros

      I like it, I had to learn a lot of things on my own which made me feel pressure and anxious at times, but now I know what I am doing and it's great.

      Cons

      Having to learn a lot myself.

      Advice to Management

      Give everyone hands on training.

      Towson University2019-03-30
    • "Great place to work."

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Community Center Manager in Towson, MD
      Recommends
      Positive Outlook
      Approves of CEO

      I have been working at Towson University part-time for more than a year

      Pros

      You choose when to work. There is a sense of flexibility in the position that will prepare you to handle anytime.

      Cons

      There are times where you are unsure of what to do in the position

      Towson University2019-03-29
    Found 240 reviews