Towson University Reviews | Glassdoor

Towson University Reviews

Updated Jul 8, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 240 reviews

4.0
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
82%
Recommend to a Friend
78%
Approve of CEO
Towson University CEO Timothy Chandler
Timothy Chandler
69 Ratings
  1. "Supportive work environment"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Faculty 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Towson University full-time

    Pros

    Great health benefits as state of Maryland employee. Tuition benefits for employee and dependents. Supportive environment for working family

    Cons

    Will depend on the department you work in. Some department chairs and deans may be more difficult than others.

    Towson University2019-01-07
  2. "Corporate Business"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Professor in Towson, MD
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Towson University full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Location, small campus, relatively small classes. Good state benefits.

    Cons

    Miserly pay, infrequent and tiny cost of living adjustments, ever increasing student population but state support remains constant. Most importantly-no academic freedom, they micromanage you like a puppet.

    Advice to Management

    Leave.

    Towson University2018-12-25
  3. "Tutor"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Tutor 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Towson University part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Easy going work space, Directors are great to talk to and concerned about your overall success.

    Cons

    Occassionally have to share workspace with others, but not often

    Towson University2018-12-11
  4. "Student Network Engineer"

    StarStarStarStarStar
      Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

      I worked at Towson University part-time

      Pros

      Flexible hours, hours created around your school schedule

      Cons

      Not much to learn on the job

      Towson University2018-11-15
    • "FINANCIAL SERVICES ASSISTANT"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Baltimore, MD

      I worked at Towson University part-time for less than a year

      Pros

      Best place to work, I enjoyed myself.

      Cons

      There is nothing negative about working here.

      Towson University2018-11-11
    • "Typical University Job"

      StarStarStarStarStar
        Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

        I worked at Towson University part-time

        Pros

        No taxes taken out of paycheck.

        Cons

        Really minimize hours and you you usually get payed minimum wage.

        Advice to Management

        Students are trying to make a living too.

        Towson University2018-11-10
      • "I’ve been very impressed by the faculty."

        StarStarStarStarStar
        • Work/Life Balance
        • Culture & Values
        • Career Opportunities
        • Compensation and Benefits
        • Senior Management
        Former Employee - Student in Towson, MD
        Recommends
        Positive Outlook
        Approves of CEO

        I worked at Towson University full-time for more than a year

        Pros

        small class sizes, lots of individual attention

        Cons

        academic advisors are difficult to work with

        Advice to Management

        to more closely monitor and oversee academic advisors

        Towson University2018-10-25
      • "Event Greater"

        StarStarStarStarStar
        • Work/Life Balance
        • Culture & Values
        • Career Opportunities
        • Compensation and Benefits
        • Senior Management
        Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Baltimore, MD
        Recommends
        Positive Outlook
        Approves of CEO

        I worked at Towson University part-time for less than a year

        Pros

        Good supervisors for the transportation department

        Cons

        bad hours--some shifts were at bad times and some were mandatory.

        Towson University2018-10-16
      • "A great experience"

        StarStarStarStarStar
        • Work/Life Balance
        • Culture & Values
        • Career Opportunities
        • Compensation and Benefits
        • Senior Management
        Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
        Recommends
        Positive Outlook
        No opinion of CEO

        I worked at Towson University part-time for more than a year

        Pros

        It was a great place to be an undergraduate researcher, it was insightful and full of experiences that will assist in my future endeavors and understanding.

        Cons

        There were no downsides to working at Towson (professors and fellow students were positive and helpful).

        Advice to Management

        Keep being awesome.

        Towson University2018-10-11
      • "Decent"

        StarStarStarStarStar
          Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

          I worked at Towson University part-time

          Pros

          A convenient part-time job, especially for students.

          Cons

          A large amount of time standing in varying weather conditions

          Towson University2018-10-03
        Found 240 reviews