Towson University Reviews | Glassdoor

Towson University Reviews

Updated Jul 8, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 240 reviews

4.1
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
86%
Recommend to a Friend
84%
Approve of CEO
Towson University CEO Timothy Chandler
Timothy Chandler
69 Ratings
  1. "Student Worker - Study Abroad"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Towson University

    Pros

    Flexible hours around class schedule Fun atmosphere

    Cons

    A lot of work for minimum wage

    Towson University2018-08-27
  2. "Student Worker"

    StarStarStarStarStar
      Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

      I worked at Towson University

      Pros

      Inclusive environment, flexible, built professional relationships

      Cons

      Some staff were difficult to work with

      Towson University2018-07-09
    • "Graduate Assistantship"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Graduate Assistant in Towson, MD
      Recommends
      Neutral Outlook
      Approves of CEO

      I worked at Towson University part-time for more than a year

      Pros

      --Friendly, supportive staff. Want to see you succeed. --Grad students working 20 hrs/week in a grad assistantship can get 12credits of tuition waived, plus a stipend of $5000 for the year. --Check ins with senior staff on a semesterly basis

      Cons

      --Due to the size of the institution, it can take time to make connections across departments. I met someone toward the end of my 2 year GA position who could have helped a lot had I known them sooner!

      Towson University2018-07-06
    • "Great Part-Time Employment"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
      Recommends
      Positive Outlook

      I have been working at Towson University part-time

      Pros

      Great coworkers, easy task load

      Cons

      Managers can be overbearing, micromanaging occurs frequently

      Towson University2018-06-25
    • "Education Professor"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Assistant Professor in Towson, MD
      Doesn't Recommend
      Negative Outlook
      No opinion of CEO

      I worked at Towson University full-time for more than 5 years

      Pros

      Much of the faculty/staff has social justice attitudes but their hands are often constrained by the narrow thinking administration.. There is a diversity among the student body but sadly, more outside of the College of Education. Great library and staff to assist student bodies.

      Cons

      LOW salaries! Old buildings. Poor parking. UN"WOKE" administration. Too much funds going to sports and not to academics.

      Advice to Management

      GET PROGRESSIVE. Listen to your staff. Act on what you learn/hear from them. Pay your faculty competitive rates.

      Towson University2018-06-21
    • "Pretty Good"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Baltimore, MD

      I worked at Towson University part-time for more than a year

      Pros

      Flexible schedule in between classes

      Cons

      Not enough hours for students

      Towson University2018-06-18
    • "Towson University Childcare Center"

      StarStarStarStarStar
        Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

        I have been working at Towson University part-time

        Pros

        Experience with young children at the age from 2 to 5.

        Cons

        Sometimes the children do not listen.

        Towson University2018-06-17
      • "Great place to work"

        StarStarStarStarStar
        • Work/Life Balance
        • Culture & Values
        • Career Opportunities
        • Compensation and Benefits
        • Senior Management
        Current Employee - Maryland in Towson, MD
        Recommends
        Neutral Outlook

        I have been working at Towson University full-time for more than 8 years

        Pros

        The work life balance and work community is strong. Benefits are amazing

        Cons

        Less base compensation that private sector

        Advice to Management

        Develop career pathing for better retention.

        Towson University2018-06-05
      • "Orientation Leader"

        StarStarStarStarStar
          Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

          I worked at Towson University part-time

          Pros

          Great Staff, Free summer housing

          Cons

          too many workers not enough hours

          Towson University2018-06-05
        • "Anonymous"

          StarStarStarStarStar
          • Work/Life Balance
          • Culture & Values
          • Career Opportunities
          • Compensation and Benefits
          • Senior Management
          Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
          Recommends
          Positive Outlook
          Approves of CEO

          I have been working at Towson University part-time

          Pros

          People are very nice, positive, and helpful

          Cons

          None. The company is a great place to work at.

          Towson University2018-05-29
        Found 240 reviews