Towson University Reviews | Glassdoor

Towson University Reviews

Updated Jul 8, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 240 reviews

4.0
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
82%
Recommend to a Friend
78%
Approve of CEO
Towson University CEO Timothy Chandler
Timothy Chandler
69 Ratings
  1. "Great experience"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Towson University full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Towson has great benefits Most people on campus are genuinely pleasant to work with The university sees intent on listening to the campus community and improving A lot of people stick around for their full career - great relationships

    Cons

    Employees pay a fairly hefty sum of money for parking A lot of people stick around for a long time - so upward mobility can be stifled During economic downturns compensation can be affected by political decisions

    Advice to Management

    Continue to promote from within Although parking is considered a revenue stream, consider easing some of the burden on the faculty and staff

    Towson University2016-10-28
  2. "Adjunct"

    StarStarStarStarStar
      Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

      I worked at Towson University

      Pros

      Great resources and opportunities to grow!

      Cons

      Location was occasionally a bit of a challenge.

      Towson University2016-10-08
    • "Lab technician"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Software Engineer in Minneapolis, MN
      Recommends
      Positive Outlook

      I worked at Towson University part-time for more than 3 years

      Pros

      Best place to work for. Nice environment, good collegues.

      Cons

      Pay and benefits are pretty less compared.

      Towson University2016-09-14
    • "great"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Class Monitor in Perry Hall, MD
      Recommends
      Approves of CEO

      I worked at Towson University for more than a year

      Pros

      Yeah, if you are a student, they will work around your schedule and they are very understanding.

      Cons

      I have none at the moment.

      Advice to Management

      The administration could use some improvement.

      Towson University2016-07-27
    • "SFA"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      Former Employee - Student Consultant in Owings Mills, MD

      I worked at Towson University for less than a year

      Pros

      GREAT, Loved it, couldnt ask for more, very organized and well managed place to be at

      Cons

      None whatsoever, It would be nice if they had a little more diversity but other than that, amazing place to be.

      Towson University2016-04-24
    • Helpful (1)

      "Adjunct Professor"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Adjunct Professor in Woodbine, MD
      Recommends
      Positive Outlook
      Approves of CEO

      I worked at Towson University part-time for more than a year

      Pros

      Excellent academic and program facilities

      Cons

      Large organization so easy to get lost in the numbers

      Advice to Management

      Pay faculty better

      Towson University2016-04-15
    • "Great On Campus Jobs"

      StarStarStarStarStar
        Current Employee - Student Worker in Towson, MD
        Recommends
        Approves of CEO

        I have been working at Towson University part-time for more than a year

        Pros

        - flexible schedule - good way to meet people on campus - friendly coworkers - good pay for an on campus job

        Cons

        - not really any, some locations lack in hours availability based on their hours of operation

        Towson University2016-03-30
      • "Computer Lab Monitor"

        StarStarStarStarStar
          Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Towson, MD

          I worked at Towson University for more than a year

          Pros

          The work environment is pretty relaxing, the staff are friendly

          Cons

          No cons when I was working there

          Advice to Management

          Add more technical work to the position

          Towson University2016-02-24
        • "Student Worker"

          StarStarStarStarStar
          • Work/Life Balance
          • Culture & Values
          • Career Opportunities
          • Compensation and Benefits
          • Senior Management
          Current Employee - Student Worker 

          I have been working at Towson University part-time for more than a year

          Pros

          Great job to have while in college.

          Cons

          I don't have any cons.

          Towson University2016-02-03
        • "Positive Department and Environment"

          StarStarStarStarStar
          • Work/Life Balance
          • Culture & Values
          • Career Opportunities
          • Compensation and Benefits
          • Senior Management
          Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Towson, MD
          Recommends
          Positive Outlook
          Approves of CEO

          I worked at Towson University

          Pros

          They allow non tenure track faculty to be an integral part of projects and research

          Cons

          I have no cons to date

          Advice to Management

          No advice to date

          Towson University2016-01-26
        Found 240 reviews