Toyota Tsusho "working environment" Reviews | Glassdoor

Toyota Tsusho Employee Reviews about "working environment"

Updated Sep 30, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

3.3
58%
Recommend to a Friend
57%
Approve of CEO
Toyota Tsusho CEO Jun Karube
Jun Karube
35 Ratings
Pros
Cons
  • "Lot of responsibility, not enough support, little formal training, long hours if you are good at your job(in 11 reviews)

  • "Structure is very rigid, no room for flexibility (though they said they would like to listen for more ideas)(in 9 reviews)

More Pros and Cons

Reviews about "working environment"

Return to all Reviews
  1. "Manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Manager in New York, NY
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I worked at Toyota Tsusho full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    I had a good work environment with very cooperative cocworkers. The company have been continuously growing. The benefit package is well above than industry average.

    Cons

    The company could be more aggressive in developing business. Because its business is mostly secured by Toyota Motor related business, you will rarely see agressive attitude in workplace.

    Advice to Management

    Younger generation in the company could be more motivated if the management can offer more promoted positions. It is nothing bad to respect seniority but it may be too much in this company.

    Toyota Tsusho2015-08-05
  2. "Good benefits, few opportunities for advancement"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Sales and Marketing Representative in Miami, FL
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Toyota Tsusho full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Stable work environment, peer support

    Cons

    Zero flexibility, outdated processes and tools

    Toyota Tsusho2019-09-30
  3. "TAI"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Toyota Tsusho full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Good benefits, peaceful working environment, nice co-workers.

    Cons

    Lack of vision & strategy from upper management.

    Advice to Management

    Corporate strategy???

    Toyota Tsusho2017-01-24
  4. Helpful (1)

    "HR"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I worked at Toyota Tsusho full-time

    Pros

    I enjoyed more of my time on the distribution floor than in the office setting. The work environment on the floor was less stressful and I was able to connect with the base line employees. Was not the case within the "office".

    Cons

    Lack of training/support from management (Corp and Facility) Co-workers were not helpful during the"training" process while learning company specific procedures Office dynamics in facility were hostile

    Advice to Management

    Focus on a training program and implement it effectively Randomly drop in and spend time at the facilities, some of the office dynamics are not conducive to a healthy work environment.

    Toyota Tsusho2016-11-29
  5. "Good Company/Poor Management"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Team Leader in Georgetown, KY
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Toyota Tsusho full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Great benefits and a clean work environment

    Cons

    Lack of accountability and clear instructions

    Advice to Management

    Improve communication and working culture

    Toyota Tsusho2016-08-24
  6. Helpful (3)

    "Toyota Tsusho"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Credit Analyst in New York, NY
    Recommends
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Toyota Tsusho

    Pros

    Toyota Tsusho is still growing. It has a dynamic working environment. It has been in business over 50yrs and its growth story is amazing. Management at Head office in Japan continues to come up with new ideas about conducting business and communicating with all the emoployees all over the world. Toyota Tsusho not only trades metals and car accessories but it is also involved in food industry, real estate and many... other areas. I think Toyota Tsusho offers top of the line compensation package to its employees. 401K match is excellent we have benefit sharing program and management is really understaning of personal needs.

    Show More

    Cons

    Sometimes Senior management is reluctant to change. As it is the usual case with big organizations it is very hard to comminicate from the bottom up. We get instructions from the top and when you voice your concerns i'm not really sure if they listen to you. Many middle managers are either japanese or come over from Japan to U.S. to work. i think there is a limited career opportunities and it's very hard to move up... the ladder. Raise is very minimal. I heard some middle managers complain that for the yearly review top management doesn't even consider immediate manager's feedback.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    They should be more open to listen to other suggstions and ideas from employees. Communication and instructions always come from the top but I do not see many opportunities from bottom employees to suggest new ideas. I think overall they are doing a good job leading business.

    Toyota Tsusho2008-08-06
  7. "TTIPL - Intern"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Intern - Anonymous Intern 
    Recommends
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Toyota Tsusho for less than a year

    Pros

    Work Environment & Culture Technical Expertise Good Canteen Food

    Cons

    Distance from City Work Timings

    Toyota Tsusho2019-09-27
  8. "Work Experience"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Intern - Work Experience in London, England
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Toyota Tsusho for less than a year

    Pros

    Amicable & relaxed work environment; felt integrated as a company

    Cons

    Division desks weren't very clear, hard to tell who works for which

    Toyota Tsusho2019-01-28
  9. "good working environment"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Contractor - Sales Coordinator in Singapore
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Toyota Tsusho for more than a year

    Pros

    good working environment, many restaurant around your working place

    Cons

    multitask and more work load

    Toyota Tsusho2018-11-13
  10. "Good for those who want to have exposure in trading business"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Toyota Tsusho full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Professional working environment, Colleagues, Company location, Compensation

    Cons

    Many politics, Management system

    Advice to Management

    NIL

    Toyota Tsusho2018-10-22
Found 12 reviews