Trace One Reviews | Glassdoor

Trace One Reviews

Updated Jun 19, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 29 reviews

3.2
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
59%
Recommend to a Friend
78%
Approve of CEO
Trace One CEO Christophe Vanackere (no image)
Christophe Vanackere
10 Ratings
  1. "medium software company with big ideas"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Trace One full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Operates in a niche market that is of interest to us all.... food manufacturer and retail. Professional approach to sales and marketing. Big plans for the coming 5 years in terms of new solutions that, if successful, will make the company and its products the global industry standard. Worldwide foot print with offices in UK, France, and USA, and the opportunity to travel or work in any of these locations. Very high... level of industry and market expertise that the management team encourage to be shared. Anyone working with Trace One will gain a great amount of knowledge and experience. Hard work and commitment is rewarded.

    Show More

    Cons

    Complex organisational structure. Needs more employees to reduce the workload. Customer base means this is a high pressure environment and 100% commitment is expected (and rewarded). Could invest more in training.

    Trace One2015-01-08
  2. Helpful (1)

    "Misleading, lack of work, no challenge"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Trace One full-time

    Pros

    Travel opportunities to London/Paris

    Cons

    Massive issues with knowledge transfer and cross-training

    Trace One2017-02-13
  3. "To succeed here, be a self-learner, be ready to commit to a niche, and wear more than one hat."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Project Manager 
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Trace One full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Great company events 1-2x a year that allow the team not just to relax but to work together in fun, memorable ways. Strong dental and medical benefits.

    Cons

    Staff turnover is above average generally but probably typical for younger software companies. Employees wear multiple hats and job descriptions are fluid. Market size is limited. Not a high-growth market. slow and steady in good times.

    Trace One2014-11-27
  4. "Hopeless"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Trace One full-time

    Pros

    Still a few colleagues who try hard.

    Cons

    No promotion possibility Salaries are below average Strange decisions No salary increases apart from the Sporadic 3% each year. No development opportunities. No fair treatment

    Advice to Management

    The company crumbles and the point to save something is already over

    Trace One2019-05-17

    Trace One Response

    June 12, 2019C E O

    Cher collègue, nous regrettons sincèrement votre commentaire. - Concernant les opportunités de développement et les promotions : nous avons mis en place une politique permettant à chacun de nos collaborateurs de se développer et d’évoluer dans sa carrière par le biais de la mobilité interne, ouverte à tous, qui est notre priorité et par le biais de notre plan de formation. - S’agissant des rémunérations : nous conduisons des benchmarks internes et externes tous les ans et avons à cœur de mettre en place une politique salariale juste et équitable. - L’entreprise continue à se moderniser et de nombreux projets d’innovation sont sur les rails, ce qui va nous permettre de gagner de nouveaux marchés.

    Show Less
  5. Helpful (2)

    "Customer Support Team collapsing"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Product Support Specialist in Saint Albans, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Trace One full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Some fantastic colleagues within the company, and also some great benefit schemes provided. Potential is there in the company, however with the current Managment and structure, this potential is becoming less obvious.

    Cons

    Terrible mnagament team, poor wages, poor retention of current customer base, big cuts throughout the company. Management team need to work together to restructure Trace One in a way that both focuses on the future and also keeps current clients happy. Trace One must also ensure they appreciate and reward key colleagues who are keeping the company going.

    Advice to Management

    Change processes, tools, management, appreciate employees more. Listen to colleagues who have been there for many years and have valid ideas to improve the company.

    Trace One2018-03-29
  6. Helpful (4)

    "Good people leaving the company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Saint Albans, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Trace One full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Nice office location, multi-culture, some good people to work with or work for, however many of them have already left.

    Cons

    Since acquisition, the new executives successfully demotivated employees and created a chaotic environment. The new C-level executives are improving communications by only holding monthly company-wide meetings, however the meetings themselves were misleading, real issues were covered or sugar-coated. At technology, the executives are indecisive on strategies, unappreciative to employees, creating confusions... and conflicts instead of fixing real problems. Between the extended company executives, which they call COMEX, various organization heads do not work with each other, there are disrespectful comments and pointing fingers from professional services, it is disruptive and chaotic from the top. It's a pity that the once enjoyable work environment has become a chaotic and depressing place to work.

    Show More
    Trace One2017-04-03
  7. Helpful (3)

    "Customer support department - brink of collapse"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Customer Support in Saint Albans, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Trace One full-time

    Pros

    ideal job as a first time office job with the intentions of moving on within a year. opportunities to move departments to gain new skills. opportunities to go abroad to visit customers.

    Cons

    The customer support team are Ill-equipped to deal with customers issues due to poor or total lack of training. management and directors have no idea how to help the customer support team to achieve the targets that they themselves set. The department is unable to cover support hours agreed in customer contracts due to being understaffed. The management/Directors attitude towards this is "hopefully they'll just... stop" ringing' The company will say or do anything in order to get a customer contract signed without consulting any other departments of the business to ensure what they have promised is actually deliverable. Pay gaps between employees are huge even when they are doing the same job. The customer support department for UK is literately being held together by 2 people currently.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    More staff is needed in most departments such as developers, QA and customer support. New managers and directors are needed with more key skills that can help the customer support department. Pay reviews should be done to ensure those doing the same job do not have a huge paygap.

    Trace One2017-02-22
  8. Helpful (1)

    "useless"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Senior Software Developer in Paris
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Trace One

    Pros

    the office in Paris is really nice, the people are pretty cool too, the office in Paris is really nice, the people are pretty cool too

    Cons

    badly managed, The COMEX team are all inpet, HR is non-esistant or worse useless.

    Trace One2017-02-15
  9. Helpful (1)

    "The place is a mess"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     
    Doesn't Recommend
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Trace One

    Pros

    the location is the only advantage that i can think of

    Cons

    Management have no clue what is going on in the company

    Trace One2016-11-20
  10. Helpful (3)

    "QA Analyst"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Quality Assurance in Saint Albans, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Trace One full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Trace Ones new innovative product could really be a game changer. Global Company working with offshore teams. If you want to do some travelling to the likes of France, USA, Romania (depending on your team) it's likely you can go with little persuasion. Company events - 2 years ago the whole company got taken to Meribel. One of my best holidays let alone company events. I have personally loved working here. Not... only have I developed my skills and career but also myself as a person however.

    Show More

    Cons

    Management can often be an issue but I believe this has been recognised and is being targeted. Personally the biggest con for me has always been communication between France and UK. As an example - decisions are often taken in France late at night without involving the global team which results in terrible consequences / frustration for all parties. I feel that I am closer to the 'outsourced' team in Romania... then 'onshore' France.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    My advice would be to show progress on focus groups and goals that have been put in place so many times. Better disciplinary actions and fairer working policies. Can't speak for some of the offices but for the UK some of the employees work the strangest hours. For example not coming in for 5 months then rolling up at 11:30 and leaving at 2?

    Trace One2015-12-04
Found 29 reviews