Trade Secret Reviews | Glassdoor

Trade Secret Reviews

Updated Jul 23, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 40 reviews

2.8
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
40%
Recommend to a Friend
64%
Approve of CEO
Doug Warren
10 Ratings
  1. "Receptionist"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I worked at Trade Secret full-time

    Pros

    I have a great bubbly personality awesome with people firm always efficient have great time management skills Iam a fast learner

    Cons

    I tend to be alittle too particular

    Continue reading
    Trade Secret2018-08-01
  2. Helpful (1)

    "Worst Company to Work For"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Stylist in Grand Forks, ND
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Trade Secret full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    - Flexible schedule - Variety of backbar options

    Cons

    - Pay is terrible - Company/management doesn't care about their stylists - Very little clientele

    Continue reading
    Trade Secret2019-01-03
  3. "A dying breed"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Salon Manager in Portland, OR
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Trade Secret full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Great product knowledge for staff. Fun environment to work in.

    Cons

    Salon hidden and not advertised makes the stylist struggle to reach goals. Without service sales, the products will no longer be available from the companies to even have retail which is the main source of revenue.

    Continue reading
    Trade Secret2018-06-13
  4. "cool company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Negative Outlook

    I worked at Trade Secret part-time

    Pros

    worked alone so you were your own boss

    Cons

    not a lot of customers... got boring at times

    Continue reading
    Trade Secret2018-04-23
  5. "Cosmetologist"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Cosmetologist in Rapid City, SD
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Trade Secret part-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Great place to buy nearly any professional hair care. I learned and retained a ton of product knowledge.

    Cons

    Retail hours, minimum pay. Need more continuing education

    Continue reading
    Trade Secret2018-02-07
  6. "Good company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - General Manager in San Antonio, TX
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Trade Secret full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    I had a good location and great staff. Decent pay but could be better. Good employee discount and lots of interaction with customers.

    Cons

    Management was very hard on my location. The company is constantly in bankruptcy and closing locations so do not work here because you will not have job security. Management will not tell you when your store will close. You will come to work and the doors will be locked. I have seen this happen with 3 locations.

    Continue reading
    Trade Secret2017-11-15
  7. "Not worth it to work there as a beauty advisor"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Beauty Advisor in Terre Haute, IN
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Trade Secret part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Learned a lot about products and now know what not to use If your salon stylists are nice you can be their guinea pig.

    Cons

    Management was crappppppy Talked down to employees, wouldn't promote from within

    Continue reading
    Trade Secret2017-03-23
  8. "Sad they closed"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Hair Stylist in Louisville, KY

    I worked at Trade Secret

    Pros

    This salon offers a commission or booth rent option. It was a great to build and become independent without ever leaving. Had great management and benefits.

    Cons

    Salon closed due to a bankruptcy. The cooperation premier salons was horribly unorganized and cost a lot of people jobs.

    Continue reading
    Trade Secret2016-08-03
  9. "Never work here."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales Associate in White Marsh, MD
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Trade Secret full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    There aren't really any pros to this job. There is room for a lot of overtime if you want more hours.

    Cons

    Overworked, underpaid, poor management, understaffed, small employee discount, use and abuse you, no room for advancement, expect to work 12 hours or more per day.

    Continue reading
    Trade Secret2016-08-24
  10. "Beauty advisor"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends

    I worked at Trade Secret

    Pros

    Easy part time job during school. Fun place to work

    Cons

    None. Great place to work

    Continue reading
    Trade Secret2016-01-20
Found 40 reviews