Trader Joe's Reviews

Updated May 6, 2021

To filter reviews, or .
4.3
88%
Recommend to a Friend
86%
Approve of CEO
Pros
  • "great benefits including retirement(in 296 reviews)

  • "I can truly say from my own experience that it was such a great work environment and truly the best people work there and made great coworkers(in 236 reviews)

  • Cons
  • "Sometimes not enough crew members working(in 204 reviews)

  • "If captain changes, different team not so good(in 155 reviews)

  • More Pros and Cons
    Pros & Cons are excerpts from user reviews. They are not authored by Glassdoor.

    Ratings by Demographics

    This rating reflects the overall rating of Trader Joe's and is not affected by filters.

    Want more demographic options?
    1. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 3 years
      Featured Review

      Best Company I’ve worked for!!

      Feb 1, 2021 - Crew Member in Temecula, CA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Culture like no other! Great benefits!

      Cons

      None! Other than retail hours.

      Continue reading
      2 people found this review helpful
    2. 5.0
      Former Employee, more than 1 year

      Absolutely amazing! Great team members and leadership!

      May 5, 2021 - Anonymous Employee 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Very supportive of all team members.

      Cons

      None, they are a great company!

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    3. 3.0
      Current Employee, less than 1 year

      Could be worse

      Apr 26, 2021 - Trader Joe's Crew Member in Milpitas, CA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      The pay is pretty decent, especially now that they're more or less forced to give us $2 extra in hazard pay. Getting a discount on the food is good too, but unfortunately the discount is going back down to 10 % starting May 1st. Management definitely steps up to defend crew members from verbally abusive customers. Camaraderie amongst crew members, even if we aren't all friends.

      Cons

      The culture and core of Trader Joe's is very Customer First oriented, which makes sense as a company. But it puts the wants of the individual customer over the well-being of the crew members, and while they definitely care about us, it is upsetting that our management seems to be expected to hold this line instead of being able to keep out anti maskers who put us at a greater risk for infection. Also if having a labor union at your place of work is important, you need to look elsewhere. Unions are actively discouraged by management and corporate.

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    4. 5.0
      Former Employee, more than 3 years

      Trader Joe's Review

      May 2, 2021 - Sales Associate 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Trader Joe's offers some of the best interactions between coworkers and managers. People are understanding and work hard to help each other out. We are consistently pushed to try company product so that we might be able to sell better ourselves. Shifts are designed in a way that every hour you are tasked to do something different, removing a lot of monotony from a regular grocery store job.

      Cons

      Hours are very flexible for parents and long-time workers but expect standard closing shifts for the majority of working (this is at least, prior to any negotiation one might make with a Captain).

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    5. 5.0
      Current Employee, less than 1 year

      The perfect job for anyone

      Apr 29, 2021 - Crew Member in Wayne, NJ
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      The moment I step into this store I can't help but be in a good mood. My coworkers and managers are amazing, and I've made friends here that I'm sure I'll have for life. The work is split up by the hour so you aren't always doing the same thing, and you are treated with respect no matter your age, background, etc. The shifts go fast and the customers are great, too. I love it here and I come home from work everyday with a smile on my face.

      Cons

      Not going to lie, the Christmas music they play during the holidays is SO BAD so hopefully that's not a deal breaker.

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    6. 4.0
      Former Employee, less than 1 year

      The most fun place I have worked!

      May 6, 2021 - Crew in Ithaca, NY
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Great staff, great customers, pay is really good. They care about their employees which motivates you. Most staff truly enjoys working there. The mates (managers) are awesome and fun!

      Cons

      Horrible schedule and hours. Back breaking work. The excuse ‘it’s retail’ is BS. One week your starting at 5am the next week you’re ending at midnight. All over the place, no set days off. All weekends you’re working. Breaking down 15-20 pallets a night.

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    7. 5.0
      Current Employee, less than 1 year

      Great company

      May 3, 2021 - Photographer in Nashville, TN
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      I get paid to be kind to people, give people flowers or chocolate or their favorite item. I get benefits and paid time off and sick leave. I also get great retirement benefits

      Cons

      If you are weak physically this job can make your body hurt.

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    8. 5.0
      Current Employee, less than 1 year

      Working as a Crew Member: Why all the people at TJ's are so happy

      Apr 15, 2021 - Crew Member 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Trader Joe's has curated an environment that is extremely positive, upbeat, fun, fast-paced, and unique! Everyone works together to help one another and every employee is truly special. Management is extremely kind, caring, flexible and wants the best for you.

      Cons

      The job can be physically demanding, so if you are unable to be on your feet and physically able to move and lift products this could be a con. However management works so well with you that hours can be shorter or you can perform tasks less demanding.

      2 people found this review helpful
    9. 5.0
      Former Employee, less than 1 year

      Great Books

      May 5, 2021 - Bookseller 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Money is great and is green

      Cons

      have to work hard and come in on time

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    10. 5.0
      Current Employee, less than 1 year

      Great place to work

      May 5, 2021 - Crew 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Amazing benefits, people to work with, and plenty of career opportunities.

      Cons

      Standing on concrete and lifting items all day can take a toll.

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    Viewing 1 - 10 of 4,140 Reviews

    Popular Careers with Trader Joe's Job Seekers

    Part Time Crew Member
    Learn About the Job
    JobsSalariesInterviews

    Work at Trader Joe's? Share Your Experiences

    or