Trader Joe's Reviews

Updated May 26, 2020

To filter reviews, or .
4.2
84%
Recommend to a Friend
87%
Approve of CEO
Pros
Cons
  • "raise system has changed and it will take new crew members much longer to reach the 25/hr cap(in 191 reviews)

  • "Mates change locations every 1-3 years(in 189 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. Featured Review
    Helpful (11)

    "Great company to work at"

    5.0
    Former Employee - Crew Member 

    I worked at Trader Joe's full-time

    Pros

    Company cares about its employees.

    Cons

    Can't really think of any.

    Trader Joe's2019-06-13
  2. "Flexible and fair employer"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Crew Member in New York, NY
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Trader Joe's part-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    They are very flexible with regards to schedule. They are fair in assigning tasks, and don't assign anyone too much work. They treat their employees fairly.

    Cons

    Sometimes the stores become extremely crowded, which can be stressful.

    Continue reading
    Trader Joe's2020-05-26
  3. "Trader Joe's"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Crew Member in San Diego, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Trader Joe's part-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Product tasting, work/ life balance, great atmosphere.

    Cons

    Retail schedule, cold departments, awkward positions when working

    Trader Joe's2020-05-26
  4. "great enviroment"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Cashier in Philadelphia, PA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Trader Joe's full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Fun, no micromanaging. They are flexible with your work tasks as well as schedule

    Cons

    Corporate is kind of bad to be honest.

    Continue reading
    Trader Joe's2020-05-22
  5. "Amazing!"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Crew Member in San Diego, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I worked at Trader Joe's full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Everything, super friendly work environment

    Cons

    Really not much to say!

    Trader Joe's2020-05-22
  6. "Great Place to Work"

    5.0
    Current Employee - Crew Member 

    I have been working at Trader Joe's part-time

    Pros

    The people and atmosphere are very nice and it is a great company to work for that actually do care about you and it is a great place to work for as a teenager as well.

    Cons

    Very much a customer service oriented job

    Trader Joe's2020-05-16
  7. "Great company to work for"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Crew Member in Austin, TX
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Trader Joe's part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Lenient, understanding, good work life balance, great benefits

    Cons

    Work can be physically extraneous

    Trader Joe's2020-05-13
  8. "wonderful people"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Crew Member in Templeton, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I worked at Trader Joe's full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    fasted pased and fun work environment

    Cons

    no cons to working here

    Continue reading
    Trader Joe's2020-05-12
  9. "Very supportive with good benefits"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Crew Member 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Trader Joe's part-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Great benefits: Health, Dental, 401k matching, paid leave Very supportive work environment, boardering on familial relationships

    Cons

    Work can often feel repetitive, and people are expected to work and shift between all aspects of the store, even if they are not comfortable with them (this can be a pro and a con)

    Trader Joe's2020-05-12
  10. "Great place to work, but with low management accountability."

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Crew Member in Woodbury, MN
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Trader Joe's full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Flexible scheduling, great pay compared with industry average, sizable bi-yearly raise opportunities, fantastic health insurance, bright & colorful atmosphere, upbeat attitude, good balance of having fun and getting work done across most management spheres. I've been able to clock-in and work with my best friends for the last several years, no matter where I've transferred to. Hating your coworkers will not be a problem. Even if there are people you don't get along with, they feel like family. You'll be ushered into an accepting, caring, supportive work environment that carries over into your everyday life outside of the job and will always be grateful for it.

    Cons

    Because the company is still privately owned, each store is subject to be run slightly differently, and with relatively little pressure to conform to a national, or even regional standard. There's very little direct accountability for general managers, assistant managers, or regional managers who exhibit poor behavior. I have never seen genuine, long-term improvement come from upstream reviews. Store managers who've made life a living hell for their crew have gone on to open new stores virtually unscathed, hiring on entirely new crews who have no idea how poorly they're being treated compared to those working at other stores and have no experience with other store managers to compare with their current supervisor. You can transfer to a different store if you don't like your location's management style, but it can take upwards of weeks to months to secure a position in the area you're trying to work out of. Still a great company to work for, but when a bad apple slips through the cracks, it can take forever to get back to a joyful work experience.

    Continue reading
    Trader Joe's2020-05-12
Found 2995 reviews