TrainingPeaks Reviews | Glassdoor

TrainingPeaks Reviews

Updated 17 Sep 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 23 reviews

3.4
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
61%
Recommend to a Friend
74%
Approve of CEO
TrainingPeaks CEO Gear Fisher (no image)
Gear Fisher
16 Ratings
  1. Helpful (1)

    "Great company with major growth potential"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Software Engineer in Boulder, CO
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at TrainingPeaks full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Lots of flexibility. A LOT of opportunity to learn with an environment built for learning. They truly believe and invest in their employees. It's a team effort and it shows.

    Cons

    Growing pains - But that is an opportunity to come in and help with the growth

    TrainingPeaks2019-09-10
  2. Helpful (1)

    "A Great Team With Much Improved Leadership In '19!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - TrainingPeaks Software Engineering Lead in Boulder, CO
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at TrainingPeaks full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    - A passionate team. - Great strides in leadership, communication and employee engagement in '19. - A very communicative CEO. - An engaged customer base. - The start-up culture in a secure company. - Fun office vibe! - Most excellent bicycle culture and riding location. - A quiet office bordering open spaces. - Solid compensation and benefits. - Employee access to premium subscriptions and products.

    Cons

    - Process changes are very frequent, but to be fair the company is working hard to improve and incorporate feedback from the employees.

    Advice to Management

    Continue to engage employees and further demonstrate how feedback from prior years has improved the organization. Also, focus clearly on improving the core product and engagement with existing customers while carefully balancing that with market expansion and new features.

    TrainingPeaks2019-09-10
  3. Helpful (2)

    "Great place to work for work life balance"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Marketing in Boulder, CO
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at TrainingPeaks full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Shared interest, flexibility, great people, time for life and work

    Cons

    Leadership could use some more direction

    TrainingPeaks2019-09-05
  4. "Listen to your employees and customers"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Multiple Positions in Boulder, CO
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at TrainingPeaks full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Good gym, locker room, and awesome coworkers

    Cons

    As mentioned by many former employees, TrainingPeaks higher ups tend to shrug off suggestions by their customer base and lower employees. Instead they come up with "features" that no one asked for and never address simple issues with the platform that people have been asking to get added/fixed for years. Most high reviews on this site are either from execs, or people who haven't worked there long enough to see that... TP is literally their own undoing. Turnover is high and the workload is too great for individual employees given their low rate of pay. Would not recommend if looking for job security or position advancement.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Would recommend management to focus on what made TP great to begin with and how to improve that. Focus on employees by giving them a livable and competitive wage, and also listen to customers, because they know more about the app than most of you do.

    TrainingPeaks2019-09-18
  5. Helpful (5)

    "Look elsewhere"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Software Engineer in Boulder, CO
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at TrainingPeaks full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    - Pro deals on gear - The ability to work from home on Tuesdays - Reasonably flexible work schedule, meaning you have the ability to work from home when needed - Onsite gym, yoga, typical tech offerings

    Cons

    - Toxic work environment in the engineering department. There is a lot of talk about "agile" and "collaboration", typical buzzwords but in practice not so much. Everything that you do or work on trickles down from the Chief Engineer. If you question anything or put out your own ideas, you just get moved off to the side and dismissed. This person is also very good at belittling and making you very uncomfortable with... their behavior. - I also very clearly remember during a stand being berated and insulted by the person above, all this was done in front of my peers. Very humiliating experience. - Although they say a lot about work-life balance, I didn't find it to be true. More often than not people were working late into the evening and on the weekends. I would routinely receive work related emails late at night (past 10pm) and/or early in the morning. It seemed like there was an unwritten expectation to work even in your supposed "free" time. - They pay subpar for the area and compared to other tech companies. Talking with peers of mine in the area, I made anywhere from $10,000 to $20,000 dollars less than people in comparable roles and years of experience. - The company has "restructured" several times over the past year, it makes one wonder what is going on at the top.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    If you really want to achieve your long term goals and stave off the competitors, focus on hiring for culture. Remove the bad apples from the team. There is a saying, "If you want to go far go together, if you want to go fast go alone.".

    TrainingPeaks2019-05-07

    TrainingPeaks Response

    July 31, 2019Recruiting Manager

    As an organization, we recognize that as we continue to scale and grow, team and company structural changes occur as a result. While we do our best to keep employees informed on these changes, we understand that changes can impact their day-to-day experience, occasionally causing ...

    Show More
  6. "Great Place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Customer Success in Boulder, CO
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at TrainingPeaks full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Good benefits, like minded people, good atmosphere

    Cons

    pay could be slightly higher

    TrainingPeaks2018-06-11
  7. Helpful (2)

    "Excellent work life balance"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at TrainingPeaks full-time

    Pros

    Challenging work, technology leader, responsive management, work life balance emphasis, exciting interesting product. Great teams, high performing employees. Profitable company, industry leader.

    Cons

    No regular raises, but good profit sharing.

    Advice to Management

    I have worked at TrainingPeaks for a number of years, it seems that management has recently made great strides in helping guide the company and provide leadership and vision! Employees are noticing these efforts and responding positively. The company is on the right track, I would just say management should keep doing what they are doing.

    TrainingPeaks2017-03-25
  8. Helpful (1)

    "Alfred Music Owner"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Grunt in Los Angeles, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at TrainingPeaks full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Some very good people is Sales, marketing, and particularly accounting and office services. Benefits have been improved with Peaksware but salaries are not equitable with similar LA type businesses.

    Cons

    Peaksware bought Alfred Music in 2016. Alfred was dying as a brand. They had invested themselves over the years in a number of dubious business ventures that finally caught up with them to the point that the company, founded in 1922, had to seek for a paltry sum of money to keep their doors open. Peaksware also owns MakeMusic which, now that they own Alfred hope to pillage for their music education platform.... Meanwhile at Alfred, nepotism and duplicity run rampant. Don't apply here. Wait another year until Peaksware cleans house. Good people are fired for no just cause. Anyone new coming in probably has more experience and education as current management and for that, you will be a threat. My advice, stay far, far away.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Doesn't matter as they don't care.

    TrainingPeaks2017-03-21
  9. "Customer Success"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Customer Support in Boulder, CO
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at TrainingPeaks full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Offers a flexible work schedule, great benefits, fun coworkers, and the company is small enough to remain agile and open to feedback.

    Cons

    It's a growing company in a volatile industry so it's often difficult to keep all the teams on the same page.

    Advice to Management

    Keep at it. I hope communication between teams continues to grow and we can expand into international markets.

    TrainingPeaks2016-03-26
  10. Helpful (8)

    "TP is losing it's way"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Customer Support Specialist in Lafayette, CO
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at TrainingPeaks full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Great gym, fun coworkers and the group rides were always a lot of fun

    Cons

    As many reviewers have mentioned, the company fires people suddenly, leading to an atmosphere where people wonder where their coworkers disappeared to. Also, from talking to some of those that were let go, they were never really given any sort of feedback that would lead them to have thought they would be fired. Lastly, management really seem to look down on their end users. Behind closed doors, they... definitely shrug off a lot of complaints on the forums and in e-mail.

    Show More
    TrainingPeaks2015-01-24
Found 23 reviews