KEY NOT FOUND: coverImgAlt
Logo

TranSystems

Is this your company?

TranSystems

Add a Review

TranSystems Employee Reviews about "transystems"

Updated Feb 4, 2020

Verify your email to use filters. Having problems? Resend email
Found 146 of over 146 reviews
3.5
61% Recommend to a Friend
91% Approve of CEO

Found 20 of over 146 reviews

3.5
61%
Recommend to a Friend
91%
Approve of CEO
TranSystems Chief Executive Officer Rick Morsches (no image)
Rick Morsches
42 Ratings

Top Review Highlights by Sentiment

Pros
Cons
Pros & Cons are excerpts from user reviews. They are not authored by Glassdoor.

Ratings by Demographics

This rating reflects the overall rating of TranSystems and is not affected by filters.

Want more demographic options?

Reviews about "transystems"

Return to all Reviews
  1. 5.0
    Current Employee

    Great Place to Work

    Dec 10, 2014 -  
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Since I have been with TranSystems, I have been very impressed with structure and management of the company. The system of checks and balances allows for tight control and monitoring of projects - this along with a good PM can allow for any project to run quite smoothly. There is structured employee mentoring along with training programs where with hard work, dedication, and the necessary skills and abilities, growth within the company is readily attainable (and encouraged). Big ships are hard to steer. TranSystems, however, has been quite nimble in addressing change as it may be required relative to employee feedback and the marketplace.

    Cons

    The website must have been designed by an engineer. Although marketplace sector info, data, and narrative can be informative (if needed), a picture is worth a thousand words, and beautiful images of projects is what will draw-in and help sell the company. I only wish that the website would be redesigned to show off what beautiful work we do and are capable of... let the viewers get drawn in by the images first (my opinion).

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  2. 4.0
    Former Contractor, less than 1 year

    Project Surveyor Review

    Feb 4, 2020 - Project Surveyor 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    The best part of working at TranSystems was my coworkers.

    Cons

    The worst part of working at TranSystems was the pay.

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  3. 4.0
    Current Employee, more than 1 year

    Not A Fake Review

    Nov 17, 2017 - Anonymous Employee in Kansas City, MO
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Great location in Crown Center area with free parking, flex time, ability to work from home, decent benefits, friendly atmosphere.

    Cons

    While there are some truths to negative reviews (we have been through a couple rounds of layoffs recently and I don't think they were very well executed), TranSystems is not a 'zoo' and potential new hires shouldn't be scared away by horrible reviews made by disgruntled employees. I think a positive mindset goes a long way in the workplace.

    Continue reading
    5 people found this review helpful
  4. 1.0
    Current Employee, more than 1 year

    TranSystems is the bottom of the barrel

    Nov 15, 2017 - Anonymous Employee in Kansas City, MO
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Free donut Fridays. Table Tennis in the break room. Free Keurig coffee. Some nice people, not all bad. Fun and games all day, every day if you are in the HQ office.

    Cons

    TranSystems is teetering on the brink of complete economic failure, and has been drawing ever nearer to this end for a very long time. They currently  have somewhere between 700-750 employees, but they have terminated well over 300 employees over the last three years. They keep hiring to backfill emptied positions, while terminating still more. What's more is they are constantly opening and closing office locations around the continental US in similar fashion. Each time they close an office there is a spate of employee dismissals. This practise of continually dismissing staff to keep their overall performance numbers aloft has plunged the entire organization into chaos, as institutional knowledge is repeatedly lost, and work responsibilities are reassigned to those who remain. Work processes are created, lost, and recreated over and over by each successive group of workers. As you can imagine, this results in a continuing erosion of operational effectiveness, overall. The aftermath of these dismissals force employees to spend much wasted time in confusion and attempting to recover lost or misplaced information. This obviously leads to a great deal of frustration for new employees hired to replace the former employees. The culture in the HQ office overall is one of emotional immaturity and dysfunction, coupled with very low morale. The HR staff try to over-compensate for this environment with even more childish behavior, and cliquey high school antics, where they frequently say things in a loud voice that would normally be considered inappropriate in a normal, healthy business environment. They seem to want to offend anyone nearby that they can, if possible. This causes a sort of inversion of what is deemed valuable or appropriate behavior. That is, the more obnoxious the talk (and the volume at which it's delivered), the better. Working here for me is more like working in a three ring circus, or on a busy street corner rather than in an office. And this is not just for part of the day; it's typically all day, everyday. However, the noise around me is not from others engaging in work related discussions, this is all completey unrelated to work. It's typically a lot of laughing, screaming (yes, screaming) and playing around, and thus creates an environment of continual distraction for anyone who might want or need to focus his or her efforts on accomplishing work. So, you might imagine what a problem this is when I am on the phone with someone, as I frequently am. Persons on the other end of the phone are likely to overhear anything. Coworkers located near me spend up to 2-3 hours per day taking extended walk breaks, and doing other things like chatting, and playing ping-pong in the break room. This behavior all seems to go completely unnoticed by management. As such, unless you are a motivated person with a strong personal work ethic, there is no incentive to perform well, and your efforts will likewise go unnoticed. Overall, I would say there is no basic respect for the individual employee at TranSystems. The company does what it must to cover itself legally, and that is all. Many of the HQ staff are incredibly immature in their behavior and less than professional in their dress and demeanor, but no one seems to care, as HR sets a very poor example for everyone. They are, in fact, the worst offenders. And so you can forget about approaching them if you have any kind of real issue, such a harassment claim. They do not care about helping you, they only care about covering their rear-ends legally, and getting you quiet. TranSystems' President will tell you how important his employees are to himself and the rest of the company, but easily observable facts state the opposite is true. Over the last year they have dismissed nearly the entire IT department, including the CTO. The person they replaced him with seemed to be a stand-up kind of guy when he first arrived, but has made promises to his staff only to turn back on those promises later. When I say promises, I mean promises of titles, pay, and positions. I am talking about the old bait and switch, here. It seems to me TranSystems refuses to learn from its mistakes and change its course. They refuse to acknowledge that their business model of specializing in transportation engineering (a market that's been depressed in the US for decades now) is essentially flawed. They should be diversifying, rather than turning away potential projects. There are other CE firms headquartered in Kansas City that are flourishing. So, what's the deal with TranSystems? According to themselves, they are bent on being seen as the leaders in the transportation design market, but oops . . . TranSystems is actually like number 18 on that list. Why are they so low on the list? Because they have earned it with poor project performance across the board. This is due to the fact that they continually make bad business decisions, and treat their best employees like garbage. If you work here, and you frequently make sacrifices to deliver your best work, you will likely go unrecognized. In fact, your chances are much better at being thrown out in the street with the trash. I am currently looking for another company to work for but have not found anything yet, but I am hoping to get out very soon.

    Continue reading
    29 people found this review helpful
  5. 1.0
    Former Employee, more than 10 years

    Inspector

    Apr 5, 2017 - Inspector III in Wichita, KS
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    None now, decent benefits. Used to be interested in employees

    Cons

    Horrible decisions at the extremely top heavy corporate level. Need to recoup some losses? Lay off and then fire an employee of 14 years on the job (who just happens to be over 60 years of age) sound good? Then definitely go with transystems, a company you can invest 14 years of your life for nothing, Your direct supervisors will lie to obtain the results they need. It's ALL about the bucks.

    Continue reading
    1 person found this review helpful
  6. 3.0
    Former Employee, more than 5 years

    TranSystems Review

    Aug 24, 2016 - Team Leader in Kansas City, MO
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    in Kansas City the location is great being at Crown Center. It can be everything you make out of it, as long as you are nearly 100% billable.

    Cons

    If your individual utilization drops below 90% you need to have your head on a swivel. TranSystems will pile on sales to non-sales personnel, production management and projects until you crash. There is a terrible work/life balance. It never feels comfortable to take a vacation. Lots of political disputes between the Rail Sector and the Local/County/State Sector Archaic technology - Timesheets are nearly impossible to fill out when you are out of the office or out of town

    Continue reading
    9 people found this review helpful
  7. 3.0
    Former Employee, more than 3 years

    Good Because of the People

    Feb 2, 2016 - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    The best part about TranSystems is the people. I met some of my best friends through working there.

    Cons

    Unfortunately, I did not have trust in upper management. Even with my limited career thus far, I understand that decisions with significant impact need to be evaluated thoroughly. I did not feel this was the case - management jumped to conclusions on things they felt were good ideas. For more than one, the decision was "undone" a year or two later. TranSystems keeps saying they want to be "Employer of Choice", but does nothing to inspire even core employees to believe that mantra. Turnover is not particularly examined and runs rampant throughout the company. The tendency here is to backfill with current employees as opposed to actually hiring, which burns out employees and damages work-life balance. As far as I know, their only hope is Rick Morsches - he is an inspiring leader, who makes time to communicate to all levels of employees and make them feel like there's a reason for doing things...unlike other leaders in the company, including the former CEO. It is unfortunate that TranSystems has lost incredible talent due to their lack of defined direction.

    Continue reading
    4 people found this review helpful
  8. 2.0
    Former Employee, more than 1 year

    Transystems review

    Jan 6, 2016 - Technician in Philadelphia, MS
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Transystems is located pretty much all over the united states. So there are offices everywhere. This company is ideal for civil, bridge, aviation and rail people. Architects and interior designers will not thrive here.

    Cons

    Little room for advancement in growing out of the role you are currently in. No work and home life balance. All advancement training has to be done on your own. Though they say they encourage advancement it's really hard to get them to pay or reimbursement training.

    Continue reading
    5 people found this review helpful
  9. 4.0
    Current Employee, less than 1 year

    Excellent Company

    Dec 16, 2015 -  in Philadelphia, PA
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    I have been with TranSystems just over a month and I'm happy I made the move. Onboarding was well organized and seemless and training started almost immediately. The company is well organized and has standard practices that are well thought out and easy to understand. One thing I have particularly noticed is the focus TranSystems places on the employee and the employees personal development goals and the companies desire that everyone advance in their chosen career path. Supervisors and management are supportive and realistic with their expectations.

    Cons

    As a mid-sized engineering firm, TranSystems doesn't have the depth of resources in the local offices I am use to. Networking throughout the company is needed to tap into these resources

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful
  10. 3.0
    Former Employee, more than 5 years

    Freelancing was great!

    Nov 9, 2015 - Marketing Communications Writer in Kansas City, MO
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Great working conditions - mostly from home - but also had a cube in the marketing department room which had a panoramic view. The VP writer who worked with me was always coming up with fun assignments such as newsletter stories that were beyond my official scope of work, which was writing project descriptions.

    Cons

    There was a lot of friction when acquired companies were expected to totally submerge their identities in TranSystems'. They felt they were losing the goodwill they had earned over previous years.

    Continue reading
    2 people found this review helpful
Viewing 1 - 10 of 20 Reviews
</>Embed

Popular Careers with TranSystems Job Seekers

JobsSalariesInterviews

Work at TranSystems? Share Your Experiences

or

TranSystems Photos

+ Add Photo
TranSystems photo of: Indian River Inspection
TranSystems photo of: Margaret Hunt Hill Bridge Inspection
TranSystems photo of: Margaret Hunt Hill Bridge Inspection
TranSystems photo of: Houston Ship Channel Inspection
TranSystems photo of: Boston Tunnel Inspection
TranSystems photo of: Daily Safety Briefing
TranSystems photo of: Hugh Leatherman Terminal and Navy Base Intermodal
See All Photos

Glassdoor has 146 TranSystems reviews submitted anonymously by TranSystems employees. Read employee reviews and ratings on Glassdoor to decide if TranSystems is right for you.