KEY NOT FOUND: coverImgAlt
Logo
See All Photos

TransAm Trucking

Engaged Employer

TransAm Trucking

Add a Review

TransAm Trucking Company Driver Reviews

Updated Aug 25, 2021

To filter reviews, or .

Found 7 of over 233 reviews

4.8
98%
Recommend to a Friend
97%
Approve of CEO
TransAm Trucking CEO John Jacobson Jr. (no image)
John Jacobson Jr.
5 Ratings

Choose a different language and keep reading other reviews.

Ratings by Sexual Orientation

This rating reflects the overall rating of TransAm Trucking and is not affected by filters.

Want more demographic options?
  1. 5.0
    Current Employee, less than 1 year

    Training and Development is Awesome

    Aug 25, 2021 - Company Driver in Tampa, FL
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Bubba, Paul, Tucker, and all in between are amazing. They care and contribute 150% to all who give all. Thanks Team;

    Cons

    I wish we had a couple of more day's in the training. But overall. A++

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful
  2. 3.0
    Current Employee, less than 1 year

    Ok first time CDL position

    Jul 31, 2019 - Company Driver in Rockwall, TX
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    The bonds and friendships that you build through your the orientation process will be priceless!!!! The trainers and work staff at the Texas location are nothing short of awesome. The trucks are usually later model kenworth T680. I’ve felt with several DM’s and I’ve been happy with only 1 Marco is great !

    Cons

    Dispatch could be enlarged to handle the amount of truckers. I regularly have to wait several hours to get a call back which can result in wasted time and as a trucker that’s just money down the drain. The pay is horridly but again you don’t want to come to this company with the intentions to get rich as a company driver you really want to get as much experience as possible. The lease option is given but due to the way dispatch is I would highly be against it. If you still decide to do lease I would go company for about a month or two just to make sure that you are familiar with the process as to not dig yourself in a bigger hole. A lot of down time it seems like some driver mangers don’t take into consideration that a lot of the drivers are new and may need more assistance than others.

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful
  3. 1.0
    Current Employee, less than 1 year

    Company Driver

    Oct 31, 2015 - Company Driver in Olathe, KS
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    They hired me, recruiting and orientation were streamlined. Trucks have Apus, inverters, directTV. Recruiting told tall tales but there's no accountability for them once you're in orientation, or on the road.

    Cons

    As a driver, I do more waiting for a load than driving. This is a stepping stone, a starter company, a place to build experience. Although low mileage means low income, it also gives you fewer opportunities to get into an accident, the benefit is more about allowing months to pass without incident so better opportunities will become available. A lot of unpaid time is spent by driver to take care of the reefer at the expense to him of covering miles, such as trailer washouts, refueling reefer, and waiting on shipper or receiver to be ready to load or unload. For days at a time I sit in origin and destination cities, without layover pay since I've been dispatched, but at least the clock toward better jobs still ticks. Transam leasing and trucking are two separate companies under the same roof. Leasing exists to hook the driver on a brand new truck payment, trucking gives him just enough miles to squeak by with his bills to leasing paid. The lease cpm is very low, and company drivers clean up the mess of undesirable loads. They screw you any chance you give them, hometime is available if a high enough percentage of the fleet is not already down. I'm hurrying out since they're saying I can't take thanksgiving off, although I'm a month in with no hometime yet. Horrible horrible horrible, except that the driver gets driving experience.

    Continue reading
    6 people found this review helpful
  4. 1.0
    Current Employee, less than 1 year

    Believe what you read!

    Mar 1, 2015 - Company Driver in Olathe, KS
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Their trucks exterior is pretty.

    Cons

    I read all the reviews here and on a couple of other sites. Well I guess I thought my experience would be different, boy am I wrong. I work here now and this company is horrible. Dispatch never answers the phones no matter what day it is. If the equipment is broken it stays that way. No telling what will happen if your truck breaks down.you spend tons of money on faxes they don't do transflo. Advances are 50$ a week so make sure you have money to do until your first pay check. Long story short believe all you read here if there is a good review its not from a driver. They just don't care about their drivers.

    7 people found this review helpful
  5. 1.0
    Former Employee, less than 1 year

    This place is Garbage

    Jun 27, 2017 - Company Driver in Olathe, KS
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    I love the Kenworth trucks I stand by them, they are awesome

    Cons

    This place has a MEAN SWAP GAME I was at a truck stop in Birmingham Alabama for two days with plenty driving time left waiting for someone to come from Indiana to swap loads no sit pay or nothing after doing this a few times I packed my stuff up

    Continue reading
    4 people found this review helpful

    TransAm Trucking Response

    Online Marketing Coordinator

    At TransAm Trucking, we value truck drivers and the noble profession of truck driving. Listening to our company drivers, independent contractors, and regional drivers helps us make TransAm Trucking a better trucking company. We want to keep our drivers moving so they can continue to make money. We want to work with them to help them achieve their goals. We are disappointed to learn about your negative experience.

  6. 2.0
    Former Employee, less than 1 year

    what can i say that has not been told.

    Apr 5, 2018 - Company Driver in Rockwall, TX
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    dispatcher will work with you to try to keep you moving. have lots of 200 mile jobs. good place to start.

    Cons

    look out for the quick fire. lots of turn over. new workers ever week, willing to take your truck.

    Continue reading
    2 people found this review helpful

    TransAm Trucking Response

    Online Marketing Coordinator

    Thank you for voicing your concerns. Listening to our company drivers and independent contractors helps us make TransAm Trucking a better trucking company.

  7. 2.0
    Current Employee, less than 1 year

    A Total Nightmare...RUN!

    Feb 24, 2015 - Company Driver of 20 Years in Olathe, KS
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    MOST dispatchers and administrative personnel are very cordial

    Cons

    Swaps, in cab cameras, 62 mph, poor communication, lease drivers are treated like gold while company drivers are given the dirty work.

    Continue reading
    1 person found this review helpful
Viewing 1 - 7 of 7 English Reviews

Popular Careers with TransAm Trucking Job Seekers

JobsSalariesInterviews

Work at TransAm Trucking? Share Your Experiences

or