KEY NOT FOUND: coverImgAlt
Logo
See All Photos

TransAm Trucking

Engaged Employer

TransAm Trucking

Add a Review

TransAm Trucking OTR Driver Reviews

Updated Mar 26, 2021

To filter reviews, or .

Found 26 of over 231 reviews

2.0
72%
Recommend to a Friend
80%
Approve of CEO
TransAm Trucking CEO John Jacobson Jr. (no image)
John Jacobson Jr.
16 Ratings

Ratings by Sexual Orientation

This rating reflects the overall rating of TransAm Trucking and is not affected by filters.

Want more demographic options?
  1. 5.0
    Current Employee, more than 1 year

    Great place

    May 8, 2017 - OTR Truck Driver (Over the Road Truck Driver) in Olathe, KS
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Great place to work and great people to work with

    Cons

    Need to try harder to get to know driver

    Be the first to find this review helpful

    TransAm Trucking Response

    Online Marketing Coordinator

    Thank you for choosing to drive for TransAm Trucking. Our motivation behind the noble purpose is to recognize truck drivers for their hard work and sacrifice. We believe what you do is important. As our program grows, our goal is to continue implementing ways to show our company drivers and independent contractors our appreciation. Truck drivers are noble people.

  2. 3.0
    Former Employee, less than 1 year

    Get your experience and find something else

    Mar 26, 2021 - OTR Truck Driver in Olathe, KS
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    If you have a messed up criminal background or whatever it's a second chance company to get started with!

    Cons

    Low pay! Lack of communication with dispatchers and some of them can be rude to you

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful
  3. 3.0
    Former Employee, less than 1 year

    Don't listen to all the reviews, the place is not as bad as people say

    Jun 30, 2020 - OTR Driver in Tampa, FL
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Excellent trucks, DM very helpful and communicated well. I averaged 2600 to 3000 miles a week. The miles are there. Very safety oriented.

    Cons

    Just like all large trucking companies contacting anyone by phone is near impossible Trailers are not in the best of shape. Pay could be better but that is a statement you will hear no matter how much money you make. .

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful
  4. 1.0
    Former Employee, less than 1 year

    If your new. Go if your experience collect unemployment. At least your money will be right everytime.

    Jan 11, 2021 - OTR Driver in Rockwell, TX
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    None to speak of. It sucks

    Cons

    Everything. Please don’t go if you value a pay check.

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful
  5. 1.0
    Former Employee, less than 1 year

    Bad business!

    Nov 10, 2020 - OTR Driver in Olathe, KS
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Nice truck, nothing else is good

    Cons

    Everything else is a con

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  6. 2.0
    Current Employee, less than 1 year

    Saddening

    Jan 22, 2020 - OTR Truck Driver in Olathe, KS
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Will hire you immediately because they can't keep drivers

    Cons

    Your pay will be jerked around along with your routes. Can't get you on vacation when requested weeks in advance. Shotti equipment will leave you freezing or burning up.

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful

    TransAm Trucking Response

    Social Media Coordinator

    Hello and thank you for your feedback. We are sorry that your time with us hasn’t been up to your expectations, but as a current employee we encourage you to reach out to us as soon as you can so we can attempt to improve your situation. We look forward to hearing from you!

  7. 4.0
    Current Employee

    If you work hard, don't complain 24/7, and drive like you MEAN it, this is a good company for you.

    Oct 11, 2015 - OTR Driver in Olathe, KS
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Well, all of the non-driver staff I've ever dealt with have been decent people. By that I mean, they're not rude, arrogant, sneaky, etc. They earn a paycheck just like everyone else. They're EXTREMELY helpful when issues arise. A lot of guys get caught up in all the negative hype about T.A. throughout training, and that's honestly their loss. Every company has issues, and judging by my own experiences (here and elsewhere), Trans Am is a lot more willing to fix theirs than most other companies I've seen. The trucks come fully loaded with all the good stuff that makes life away from home more manageable (Refrigerator, Microwave, Direct TV Satellite - Free, etc) . If you're one of those hard-headed old farts that hang out at truck stops and complain about "new fangled ___" you might not like it here because everything about these trucks is tech. lol. Leasing is alright here. No different than any car lot. The trucks usually come with a lot of time left on the warranties, and since you get to pick your own truck, you have the option to say NO to any truck that is undesirable. The leases are all "Walk Away" which means if you don't like it, you can leave with no monetary obligations or hard feelings. Basically, everything here is about a 4/5. Nothing here is absolutely, 110%, holy-crud-this-is-awesome perfect, except for their willingness to fix the things that DO go wrong. On that, they get a 5. :)

    Cons

    In all fairness, I have to name the few things I've had issues with to avoid a lopsided review. So I guess I'll point out that the Treq (mobile communications and log) units are horrible. I think everyone here (drivers and other staff alike) despise the dang Treq. These things are like a $700 smartphone that got hit by a car and currently has amnesia... Slow, bulky, and unreliable. I keep a blank paper log on hand for the day the thing finally "accidentally" goes flying out my window on a bridge. (Totally just kidding, but you get the point.) I think they're looking to upgrade to a new system, but don't hold me to that. That's here-say. The only other thing I have issues with (and this is common in many 7-day a week companies in all industries) is the weekend shifts lack of.... Umph. They're nice, friendly people mind you; they just have a lot more stuff to manage than weekday workers. The handful of them do everything, so they're a little lethargic on occasion, and sometimes their performance and social skills could use... Touching up.

    Continue reading
    16 people found this review helpful
  8. 1.0
    Former Employee, less than 1 year

    bad company to work for

    Jun 29, 2015 - OTR Driver, Contractor in Olathe, KS
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    easy to get in. all new driver qualify.

    Cons

    1. use fake story to let you sign lease and then you take all the consquences, including dispatchers/driver manager's fault. They can send wrong appointment and let you drive additional miles at you cost. If you contact transam because the load will not ready in next day, then never expect anyone respond you. 2. refused to pay detention fee as required by Growth America Act (2014), so dispatcher/driver managers can do whatever to waste drivers' time. such as unnessary swap and sometimes malicious arrangement to let you wait a few days. 3. trailers are always bad condition, had 4 bad trailer in one week. You have to driver additionalk miles to fix the reefer at your own cost as contractor. 4. dispatchor/driver managers are rude and like to lie in order to let you accept bad loads. they also like to make last minute change and force you to accept it because you committed the original plan. 5.steal mileage. there is always big difference between paid mile and shortest route by GPS, some times paid mileage may be shorter than air mile (such as OH to IA, there is always 100+ less miles paid than shortest route). if your home is between destination and next pickup and you want go home, the mileage before your home is not paid.(verified by Paul Jackson, it is company policy)

    Continue reading
    1 person found this review helpful
  9. 4.0
    Former Employee, less than 1 year

    Lease

    Jul 27, 2015 - OTR Driver in Olathe, KS
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Had freedom to do as I pleased. Had a good coach so I was one of the lucky people that knew how to gain success from the company. You do get your home time as long as you put it in in the allotted time. Everything you need to know is given to you. It's up to you to read and understand it though.

    Cons

    Night dispatch wasn't as great as day dispatch had a lot of issues in that department. Truck broke down the same week I got it

    Continue reading
    4 people found this review helpful
  10. 3.0
    Current Employee, less than 1 year

    Good way to gain experience...Relays suck-_-

    Apr 9, 2016 - OTR Driver in Olathe, KS
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Good place to gain experience. Good money considering my lack of experience. There Always loads . Company is really safety conscious.

    Cons

    The Major Negative for me is the Relays,Dispatch doesn't seem to care that meeting up with another truck after 8pm at a truck stop is really difficult ;mainly because there no place to properly park to drop the trailer.

    Continue reading
    4 people found this review helpful

    TransAm Trucking Response

    Online Marketing Coordinator

    We are disappointed to learn about your negative experience. The appropriate department will be notified of the situation.

Viewing 1 - 10 of 26 Reviews

Popular Careers with TransAm Trucking Job Seekers

JobsSalariesInterviews

Work at TransAm Trucking? Share Your Experiences

or