TransAm Trucking Reviews | Glassdoor

TransAm Trucking Reviews

Updated June 23, 2017
109 reviews

Filter

Filter

Full-time Part-time

3.8
Star Star Star Star Star
Rating Trends Rating Trends
Recommend to a friend
Approve of CEO
(no image)
John Jacobson Jr.
69 Ratings

109 Employee Reviews

Sort: Popular Rating Date

Pros
Cons
  • Even though they told us that we are independent contractors they still treated us like a company driver (in 6 reviews)

  • If you fall for it, just know that you will never be able to go home without being broke for two weeks (in 5 reviews)

More Pros and Cons

  1. "Diesel Tech"

    Star Star Star Star Star
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Kansas City, MO
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Kansas City, MO
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at TransAm Trucking full-time

    Pros

    Trans Am was a good company to work for. The hours were reasonable as a technician and the amenities for the shop were great. it's clean, everything is in working order, and generally speaking you have everything you need.

    Cons

    The pay is not the greatest for the industry for a tech, but overtime is plentiful.
    Moving up in the company is a set path that everyone that wants to be more than a regular tech (i.e. become a service writer or a shop manager of some sort) has to take. I don't think it needs to be like that.

    Advice to Management

    Raise the base pay and I would imagine more quality techs would stay. I know I would have.

    TransAm Trucking Response

    Jun 8, 2017 – Online Marketing Coordinator

    Thank you for taking the time to write your review. We appreciate the time you spent with us at TransAm and we thank you for your suggestion. We wish you luck in your future endeavors.


  2. "Truck Retreiver"

    Star Star Star Star Star
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Truck Retriever in Olathe, KS
    Former Employee - Truck Retriever in Olathe, KS
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at TransAm Trucking full-time (Less than a year)

    Pros

    None that I can think of with this company

    Cons

    This company especially the recruiters don't have a clue in what there doing or don't care about the drivers enough to send them out in a truck k that's in the yard.

    Advice to Management

    Find recruiters that care about the drivers and give the drivers a truck that's in the yard and not go and retrieve trucks for the company. That's exactly what I did.

    TransAm Trucking Response

    Jun 26, 2017 – Online Marketing Coordinator

    We are disappointed to learn about your negative experience. At TransAm Trucking, we value truck drivers and the noble profession of truck driving. Listening to our company drivers and independent ... More


  3. "Great company to work for"

    Star Star Star Star Star
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Driver in Olathe, KS
    Current Employee - Driver in Olathe, KS
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at TransAm Trucking full-time (More than a year)

    Pros

    Driver managers are great (Randall is the best), g reat miles, great home time, they listen to your request and care about what you have to say they alsocare about your safalso, no force dispatch, Kansas has good facilities

    Cons

    Texas facilities need to be updated

    Advice to Management

    Fix up Texas location

    TransAm Trucking Response

    May 26, 2017 – Online Marketing Coordinator

    We appreciate you choosing to be a part of the TransAm Trucking team. Working by our noble purpose is important to our company. Thank you for being a part of it.


  4. "Great place"

    Star Star Star Star Star
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - OTR Truck Driver (Over the Road Truck Driver) in Olathe, KS
    Current Employee - OTR Truck Driver (Over the Road Truck Driver) in Olathe, KS
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at TransAm Trucking full-time (More than a year)

    Pros

    Great place to work and great people to work with

    Cons

    Need to try harder to get to know driver

    TransAm Trucking Response

    May 9, 2017 – Online Marketing Coordinator

    Thank you for choosing to drive for TransAm Trucking. Our motivation behind the noble purpose is to recognize truck drivers for their hard work and sacrifice. We believe what you do is important. As ... More


  5. "Great place to work"

    Star Star Star Star Star
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Safety Lane Tech in Olathe, KS
    Former Employee - Safety Lane Tech in Olathe, KS
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    Pros

    Great people to work with bosses are awesome. The gob was pretty simple for the most part. If you are interested in doing some mechanic work you will learn it quick

    Cons

    I really don't have any cons for this place. Maybe getting to work at 5am, but it was so nice getting off at 2pm.

    TransAm Trucking Response

    Mar 6, 2017 – Online Marketing Coordinator

    Thank you for sharing your experience with TransAm Trucking. We’re glad you had a positive experience and we wish you luck in your future endeavors.


  6. "Great Company"

    Star Star Star Star Star
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Olathe, KS
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Olathe, KS
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at TransAm Trucking full-time (More than 10 years)

    Pros

    TransAm has been a wonderful company to work for. They are constantly trying to improve and do what is right for the employees and their Noble drivers.

    Cons

    There no no cons to mention

    TransAm Trucking Response

    Feb 8, 2017 – Online Marketing Coordinator

    We appreciate you taking the time to write a review. Thank you for choosing to pursue your career with TransAm Trucking. You contributions help us continue our noble purpose.


  7. "Great company to work for."

    Star Star Star Star Star
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Olathe, KS
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Olathe, KS
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at TransAm Trucking full-time (More than a year)

    Pros

    Locally owned. Founded in KCMO, now headquartered in Olathe, KS. Growth has been great, 4 locations total. 3 in South Olathe, 1 in Rockwall, TX. 2 subsidiaries grown from TransAm. Good benefits, casual work environment. Good work life balance. Work hard, prove yourself, the managers notice. Those that don't do their job, are let go. You don't have to carry you coworkers workload.

    Cons

    The office furniture. Pink cubicles.

    Advice to Management

    Keep up the good work!

    TransAm Trucking Response

    Feb 13, 2017 – Online Marketing Coordinator

    Thank you for sharing the synopsis of TransAm’s history. We are very glad to have you as part of it. Keep up the good work!


  8. "Great Company!"

    Star Star Star Star Star
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - General Manager in Rockwall, TX
    Current Employee - General Manager in Rockwall, TX
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at TransAm Trucking full-time (More than 10 years)

    Pros

    The people are knowledgeable, friendly and always helpful. It is a positive and professional work environment.

    Cons

    nothing negative to say at this time.

    Advice to Management

    keep doing what you are doing! It works.


  9. "A Great Place to Work"

    Star Star Star Star Star
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Olathe, KS
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Olathe, KS
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at TransAm Trucking full-time (More than 10 years)

    Pros

    Positive Culture, Multiple Career Paths with Multi-Company Structure, Commitment to Excellence

    Cons

    I have no negative comments

    TransAm Trucking Response

    Feb 13, 2017 – Online Marketing Coordinator

    Thank you for your tenure with TransAm Trucking. We appreciate all your years of dedication.


  10. "Great place to build a career"

    Star Star Star Star Star
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Planner in Olathe, KS
    Current Employee - Planner in Olathe, KS
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at TransAm Trucking full-time (More than 3 years)

    Pros

    Truly cares about their people, both in operations and our noble drivers over the road
    Wants to see everyone succeed and pushes for growth
    Working in operations I see how important it is to the company to see our drivers succeed. The whole company is dedicated that one mission: helping drivers get the miles they need to be successful.

    Cons

    Job does require a lot of hours as it is a truly 24/7 industry, both over the road and operationally. No major complaints though.

    TransAm Trucking Response

    Feb 8, 2017 – Online Marketing Coordinator

    Thank you for sharing your experience with TransAm Trucking. We are glad you have made your career with us. Together, we hope to continue to support our company drivers and independent contractors ... More


Showing 109 of 124 reviews
Reset Filters