TransAm Trucking Reviews | Glassdoor

TransAm Trucking Reviews

Updated June 18, 2018
127 reviews

Filter

Filter

Full-timePart-time

3.6
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
Recommend to a friend
Approve of CEO
(no image)
John Jacobson Jr.
84 Ratings

127 Employee Reviews

Sort: PopularRatingDate

Pros
Cons
  • "Even though they told us that we are independent contractors they still treated us like a company driver" (in 7 reviews)

  • "Some of the driver managers are great some not so good with people skills" (in 5 reviews)

More Pros and Cons

  1. Featured Review

    "GREAT COMPANY"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Truck Driver in Olathe, KS
    Former Employee - Truck Driver in Olathe, KS
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at TransAm Trucking full-time (More than 3 years)

    Pros

    They treat people with respect and are always willing to listen.

    Cons

    I don't have any cons.

    Advice to Management

    Keep up the GREAT Work.

    TransAm Trucking Response

    Apr 10, 2018 – Online Marketing Coordinator

    Thank you for taking the time to share your experience! Trucking is a noble profession and it is full of noble people. We appreciate the time you spent with us and we wish you luck in the future!


  2. "Great Place"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Olathe, KS
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Olathe, KS
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at TransAm Trucking full-time

    Pros

    Great work/life balance, room for growth, pay is good, benefits, employees treated with care and respect

    Cons

    Communication sometimes lacks in areas but any company you work for it will not be 100%

    TransAm Trucking Response

    May 2, 2018 – Online Marketing Coordinator

    Thank you for your review! Receiving feedback is how we continue to improve as a company. Thank you for choosing TransAM Trucking!

  3. "Hard getting home Time"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at TransAm Trucking full-time (Less than a year)

    Pros

    Great equipment newer trucks good trailers

    Cons

    Hard getting home time and miles

    TransAm Trucking Response

    Jun 19, 2018 – Online Marketing Coordinator

    At TransAm Trucking, we understand that your time at home is important to you. For company drivers, all we need is an eight-day notice and upon approval, we will get you home when you want. If you... More


  4. "Reply"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Over the Road Driver in Cleveland, OH
    Former Employee - Over the Road Driver in Cleveland, OH
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at TransAm Trucking full-time (More than 10 years)

    Pros

    Their is no reason to work for this company

    Cons

    Listen boys and girls, regarding the recent post, what Trans Am does, I.E.: hidden costs, putting 8 new drive tires on so they all " match" at about $3,000.00 cost to the driver because he don't know any better, swapping loads to put the driver where they want him ( they don't care about your miles,....period) Lying, on and on and on. Trans Am has all the bases covered, "legally". Take advise of a 30 year driver, and one that has hard core inside information about how Trans Am operates. ( Yes management, you have a leak) Don't walk away, run, as fast as you can.

    Advice to Management

    Get a concience before something bad happens.

    TransAm Trucking Response

    May 2, 2018 – Online Marketing Coordinator

    We thank you for the 10 years you spent with us and we’re sorry to see you leave on a sour note. We would like to address your specific concerns in more detail. Please email us... More


  5. "what can i say that has not been told."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Company Driver in Rockwall, TX
    Former Employee - Company Driver in Rockwall, TX
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at TransAm Trucking full-time (Less than a year)

    Pros

    dispatcher will work with you to try to keep you moving. have lots of 200 mile jobs. good place to start.

    Cons

    look out for the quick fire. lots of turn over. new workers ever week, willing to take your truck.

    Advice to Management

    have more training. not just one week.

    TransAm Trucking Response

    Apr 9, 2018 – Online Marketing Coordinator

    Thank you for voicing your concerns. Listening to our company drivers and independent contractors helps us make TransAm Trucking a better trucking company.


  6. "Great employer"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at TransAm Trucking full-time

    Pros

    Casual work environment, fast paced, never a dull moment.

    Cons

    Could require long hours and odd schedules

    TransAm Trucking Response

    Mar 14, 2018 – Online Marketing Coordinator

    Thank you for your feedback! The trucking industry is a very exciting place to be and we’re glad you enjoyed your time with us at TransAm Trucking.


  7. "Driver Manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Driver Manager in Olathe, KS
    Current Employee - Driver Manager in Olathe, KS
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at TransAm Trucking full-time (Less than a year)

    Pros

    Very good benefits plus nice vacations

    Cons

    The hours need to be better manageable

    Advice to Management

    I don't think there is alot of connections and communications between managers and employees. I have not gotten that good vibe. Email is great but being personable is the best.

    TransAm Trucking Response

    Mar 12, 2018 – Online Marketing Coordinator

    Thank you for your feedback. We believe listening to our employees helps us create a better working environment.

  8. "Terror"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at TransAm Trucking full-time

    Pros

    None it's all bad at TransAm.

    Cons

    Not about the driver well being.

    Advice to Management

    Stop robbing drivers.

    TransAm Trucking Response

    Apr 17, 2018 – Online Marketing Coordinator

    TransAm Trucking’s mission is to further the noble purpose of truck driving. Trucking is a noble profession and truck drivers are noble people. TransAm strives to deliver the best driver, employee... More


  9. "Prior company driver"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at TransAm Trucking full-time

    Pros

    Company is big on safety, good starter company

    Cons

    Pay isn't good for beginners

    Advice to Management

    Pay your drivers

    TransAm Trucking Response

    Mar 21, 2018 – Online Marketing Coordinator

    We appreciate your feedback. At TransAm Trucking we want to keep our company drivers and independent contractors moving so they can make money. We want to work with them to help them achieve their... More


  10. "One of the best"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Technical Writer in Olathe, KS
    Current Employee - Technical Writer in Olathe, KS
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at TransAm Trucking full-time (Less than a year)

    Pros

    Very friendly co-workers and management. A very strong team atmosphere. Encouraging management who are the "help you push" instead of the "tell you to push" kind of people.

    As the saying goes, "employees don't leave businesses, they leave management". If this is an accurate statement, I don't believe I'll ever leave TransAm.

    I honestly love my job, I love the people I work with, both directly and indirectly. My bosses and generally just everybody I speak with at TransAm are always very encouraging, knowledgeable and inspiring.

    I was told that this business was started by a trucker to wanted to create a business that was more trucker oriented; to build a business from the mind of a trucker and not just a businessman or woman. I think they took it one step further and not only make the truckers feel at home but also every employee who works at TransAm.

    Cons

    Skinny parking spaces in the parking lot. Nothing pertaining to the job itself. This job is honestly fantastic.

    Advice to Management

    Keep doing what you're doing. You've always been friendly and supportive to me. You've always been friendly and supportive to people I've seen you interact with. You are one of the reasons this business is as awesome as it is.

    TransAm Trucking Response

    Nov 21, 2017 – Online Marketing Coordinator

    Thank you for the positive review! A strong company culture creates a solid, teamwork-driven work environment. One of our core values is that trucking is a noble profession; every person in the... More


Showing 127 of 149 reviews
Reset Filters