TransAm Trucking Reviews | Glassdoor

TransAm Trucking Reviews

Updated September 10, 2017
114 reviews

Filter

Filter

Full-timePart-time

3.8
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
Recommend to a friend
Approve of CEO
(no image)
John Jacobson Jr.
72 Ratings

114 Employee Reviews

Sort: PopularRatingDate

Pros
Cons
  • Even though they told us that we are independent contractors they still treated us like a company driver (in 6 reviews)

  • If you fall for it, just know that you will never be able to go home without being broke for two weeks (in 5 reviews)

More Pros and Cons

  1. Helpful (2)

    "Growth and Success"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at TransAm Trucking full-time

    Pros

    TransAm offered me an entry-level position that turned into a promotion doing a job I really enjoy. The benefits are competitive, the management cares about your success, and you are given opportunities for growth if you are willing to take them on. Plus there was a Snow Cone truck in the parking lot last week.

    Cons

    Some of my snow cone fell on the ground.

    TransAm Trucking Response

    Jul 19, 2017 – Online Marketing Coordinator

    Thank you for the positive review. We are glad to hear TransAm Trucking is able to provide you with a career you really enjoy. We hope to continue to grow together in the future.


  2. "Lube Tech"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at TransAm Trucking full-time

    Pros

    Good learning start to trucks.

    Cons

    long hours of nothing but pm's . poor management

    TransAm Trucking Response

    Sep 1, 2017 – Online Marketing Coordinator

    We are sorry that TransAm Trucking was not a good fit. We’re glad we helped you get the experience you needed to continue your career. We wish you luck in your future undertakings.

  3. "Bad Company to work for"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Truck Driver in Olathe, KS
    Former Employee - Truck Driver in Olathe, KS
    Doesn't Recommend
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at TransAm Trucking full-time (Less than a year)

    Pros

    There's nothing good I can say about this company

    Cons

    The company needs to stop there DM's from sending out the people from orientation to retrieve trucks for the company. When I worked there for two months my so called DM kept sending me out retrieving trucks for the company and every single one was in the shop for that two months and I probably was out making money for maybe two weeks. This company wouldn't even give me a truck that was in the yard. I would not work for this company again nor would I recommend to my friends.

    Advice to Management

    Stop sending drivers out retrieving trucks for the company unless u intend to pay the drivers for doing so. Don't take it out of the drivers pay like it's the drivers truck.

    TransAm Trucking Response

    Sep 12, 2017 – Online Marketing Coordinator

    Thank you for voicing your concerns. At TransAm Trucking, we value truck drivers and the noble profession of truck driving. We want to work with our independent contractors and company drivers to... More


  4. Helpful (2)

    "Diesel Tech"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Kansas City, MO
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Kansas City, MO
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at TransAm Trucking full-time

    Pros

    Trans Am was a good company to work for. The hours were reasonable as a technician and the amenities for the shop were great. it's clean, everything is in working order, and generally speaking you have everything you need.

    Cons

    The pay is not the greatest for the industry for a tech, but overtime is plentiful.
    Moving up in the company is a set path that everyone that wants to be more than a regular tech (i.e. become a service writer or a shop manager of some sort) has to take. I don't think it needs to be like that.

    Advice to Management

    Raise the base pay and I would imagine more quality techs would stay. I know I would have.

    TransAm Trucking Response

    Jun 8, 2017 – Online Marketing Coordinator

    Thank you for taking the time to write your review. We appreciate the time you spent with us at TransAm and we thank you for your suggestion. We wish you luck in your future endeavors.


  5. "This place is Garbage"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Company Driver in Olathe, KS
    Former Employee - Company Driver in Olathe, KS
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at TransAm Trucking full-time (Less than a year)

    Pros

    I love the Kenworth trucks I stand by them, they are awesome

    Cons

    This place has a MEAN SWAP GAME I was at a truck stop in Birmingham Alabama for two days with plenty driving time left waiting for someone to come from Indiana to swap loads no sit pay or nothing after doing this a few times I packed my stuff up

    Advice to Management

    Clean up your act and give drivers who want miles some miles. This company does have force dispatch if you are a company driver and in some instances I've seen them try to force lease owners on dispatch. They clear out there com syst3ms and put new load in if they deny it they don't put the old load back in

    TransAm Trucking Response

    Jun 28, 2017 – Online Marketing Coordinator

    At TransAm Trucking, we value truck drivers and the noble profession of truck driving. Listening to our company drivers, independent contractors, and regional drivers helps us make TransAm Trucking a... More


  6. "Great company to work for"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Driver in Olathe, KS
    Current Employee - Driver in Olathe, KS
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at TransAm Trucking full-time (More than a year)

    Pros

    Driver managers are great (Randall is the best), g reat miles, great home time, they listen to your request and care about what you have to say they alsocare about your safalso, no force dispatch, Kansas has good facilities

    Cons

    Texas facilities need to be updated

    Advice to Management

    Fix up Texas location

    TransAm Trucking Response

    May 26, 2017 – Online Marketing Coordinator

    We appreciate you choosing to be a part of the TransAm Trucking team. Working by our noble purpose is important to our company. Thank you for being a part of it.


  7. "Great place"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - OTR Truck Driver (Over the Road Truck Driver) in Olathe, KS
    Current Employee - OTR Truck Driver (Over the Road Truck Driver) in Olathe, KS
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at TransAm Trucking full-time (More than a year)

    Pros

    Great place to work and great people to work with

    Cons

    Need to try harder to get to know driver

    TransAm Trucking Response

    May 9, 2017 – Online Marketing Coordinator

    Thank you for choosing to drive for TransAm Trucking. Our motivation behind the noble purpose is to recognize truck drivers for their hard work and sacrifice. We believe what you do is important. As... More

  8. "Crooks"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at TransAm Trucking full-time (More than a year)

    Pros

    I can say my dispatcher was good, shop mechanics very knowledgable and payroll was good. That is about all i can say about these goofy people.

    Cons

    Finding loads to get home seemed to always been a problem...got sick and had to go home and they had another driver throw my things out and wouldnt reimburse me for it...but i ended up getting more than what my things was worth...dont go lease purchase

    Advice to Management

    Actually get people who care

    TransAm Trucking Response

    Jun 13, 2017 – Online Marketing Coordinator

    We are disappointed to learn about your negative experience. At TransAm Trucking, we value truck drivers and the noble profession of truck driving. We would like to address your specific concerns in... More


  9. "Great place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Safety Lane Tech in Olathe, KS
    Former Employee - Safety Lane Tech in Olathe, KS
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    Pros

    Great people to work with bosses are awesome. The gob was pretty simple for the most part. If you are interested in doing some mechanic work you will learn it quick

    Cons

    I really don't have any cons for this place. Maybe getting to work at 5am, but it was so nice getting off at 2pm.

    TransAm Trucking Response

    Mar 6, 2017 – Online Marketing Coordinator

    Thank you for sharing your experience with TransAm Trucking. We’re glad you had a positive experience and we wish you luck in your future endeavors.


  10. "A great place to work. I hope to retire here someday."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at TransAm Trucking full-time

    Pros

    Working with lots of great people. If you work hard, you can advance quickly.

    Cons

    I have no cons to list.

    TransAm Trucking Response

    Feb 22, 2017 – Online Marketing Coordinator

    Thank you for your dedication to TransAm Trucking. We appreciate you making your career with us.


Showing 114 of 129 reviews
Reset Filters