KEY NOT FOUND: coverImgAlt
Logo
See All Photos

TransAm Trucking

Engaged Employer

TransAm Trucking

Add a Review

TransAm Trucking Employee Reviews about "company driver"

Updated Jul 31, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 7 of over 226 reviews

3.2
64%
Recommend to a Friend
74%
Approve of CEO
TransAm Trucking CEO John Jacobson Jr. (no image)
John Jacobson Jr.
94 Ratings
Pros
  • "I averaged 2600 to 3000 miles a week(in 17 reviews)

  • "Newer equipment all with automatic transmission and APU(in 10 reviews)

  • Cons
  • "Night dispatch is a little rough but can’t complain when everyone else talking crazy just makes it hard for others(in 25 reviews)

  • "Breakdowns, pressured to take smaller loads, hold time for dispatch, the hidden itemized deductions, glorified company driver,(in 8 reviews)

  • More Pros and Cons
    Pros & Cons are excerpts from user reviews. They are not authored by Glassdoor.

    Choose a different language and keep reading other reviews.

    Ratings by Sexual Orientation

    This rating reflects the overall rating of TransAm Trucking and is not affected by filters.

    Want more demographic options?

    Reviews about "company driver"

    Return to all Reviews
    1. 3.0
      Current Employee, less than 1 year

      Ok first time CDL position

      Jul 31, 2019 - Company Driver in Rockwall, TX
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      The bonds and friendships that you build through your the orientation process will be priceless!!!! The trainers and work staff at the Texas location are nothing short of awesome. The trucks are usually later model kenworth T680. I’ve felt with several DM’s and I’ve been happy with only 1 Marco is great !

      Cons

      Dispatch could be enlarged to handle the amount of truckers. I regularly have to wait several hours to get a call back which can result in wasted time and as a trucker that’s just money down the drain. The pay is horridly but again you don’t want to come to this company with the intentions to get rich as a company driver you really want to get as much experience as possible. The lease option is given but due to the way dispatch is I would highly be against it. If you still decide to do lease I would go company for about a month or two just to make sure that you are familiar with the process as to not dig yourself in a bigger hole. A lot of down time it seems like some driver mangers don’t take into consideration that a lot of the drivers are new and may need more assistance than others.

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    2. 1.0
      Current Employee, less than 1 year

      Company Driver

      Oct 31, 2015 - Company Driver in Olathe, KS
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      They hired me, recruiting and orientation were streamlined. Trucks have Apus, inverters, directTV. Recruiting told tall tales but there's no accountability for them once you're in orientation, or on the road.

      Cons

      As a driver, I do more waiting for a load than driving. This is a stepping stone, a starter company, a place to build experience. Although low mileage means low income, it also gives you fewer opportunities to get into an accident, the benefit is more about allowing months to pass without incident so better opportunities will become available. A lot of unpaid time is spent by driver to take care of the reefer at the expense to him of covering miles, such as trailer washouts, refueling reefer, and waiting on shipper or receiver to be ready to load or unload. For days at a time I sit in origin and destination cities, without layover pay since I've been dispatched, but at least the clock toward better jobs still ticks. Transam leasing and trucking are two separate companies under the same roof. Leasing exists to hook the driver on a brand new truck payment, trucking gives him just enough miles to squeak by with his bills to leasing paid. The lease cpm is very low, and company drivers clean up the mess of undesirable loads. They screw you any chance you give them, hometime is available if a high enough percentage of the fleet is not already down. I'm hurrying out since they're saying I can't take thanksgiving off, although I'm a month in with no hometime yet. Horrible horrible horrible, except that the driver gets driving experience.

      Continue reading
      6 people found this review helpful
    3. 3.0
      Current Contractor, less than 1 year

      Lease program

      Apr 28, 2018 - Lease Driver in Olathe, KS
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Pretty trucks, clean facility in Olathe, they have freight, friendly people,

      Cons

      Breakdowns, pressured to take smaller loads, hold time for dispatch, the hidden itemized deductions, glorified company driver,

      Continue reading
      1 person found this review helpful
    4. 1.0
      Former Contractor, less than 1 year

      Disappointing Experience - Proceed with Extreme Caution

      Sep 30, 2014 - Driver in Olathe, KS
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Contract drivers get priority in load assignments and will average between 2400 and 3100 miles a week. If you sign a full term lease you can get a brand new truck to drive. A trucks have auxiliary power units, refrigerators, and electronic logs. Nice Kenworth fleet of T700's and T680's. I had a good driver manager.

      Cons

      First, I have read most of the bad reviews on this company and I would boldy confirm that most are true. Even though you get the miles you will not make the money. I'm not sure how they accomplish it, but they do legally by all the waivers and contractual agreements you sign. My first day of getting my brand new 2013 Kenworth T680 was equivalent to my induction day into military basic training. The overall management and policies of the company only benefit the company and not the drivers. There is a ton of smoke and mirrors to paint a pretty picture for new drivers. Also if you are ever a company driver and switch to contract driver you are never allowed to return to company driver status, even if you quit and hire back on. There is a written company policy not allowing it. So don't believe what the recruiters tell you or what you hear at orientation. Upper management and leadership is horrible. You are at there mercy when you drive for them. I must be honest and tell you that I am a very patient and professional driver and had success at TransAm. But it is not a company for the new student, although that's how they market themselves. You must know the industry and proceed with caution if you are to succeed here. Read all the fine print and ask any question you need to make educated decisions. Road assist is very slow should you break down. Forward and rear facing Drivecam cameras are installed in every truck. They record all the time the truck is in motion and up to 4 hours after stopping. However, only a programmed trigger such as an accident, hard break or speeding will trigger it to save a 12 second recording. This recording is only seen by a third party company and TranAm Safety, so they say. Extremely long waits at shippers and receivers with no detention pay for drivers. Long repair times in Olathe. I am college educated, retired and I would not recommend driving for this company unless you have no other options. I am being honest. Beware, the inspection stations I passed through frequently stop TransAm drivers for inspections. I have been told by officers that they pull in most TransAm drivers because of their poor reputation. I never had a write up in an inspection. My equipment and logs were in top shape.

      Continue reading
      8 people found this review helpful
    5. 1.0
      Former Employee, less than 1 year

      Avoid At All Costs!!!

      Jul 29, 2015 - Professional Truck Driver in Olathe, KS
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      They truly have some of the nicest equipment I have seen from a large trucking company. As a result, the living conditions were much better than most other trucking gigs I've done. I drove a 2014 Kenworth T680. It was brand spanking new with only 14 miles on the odometer. It made you feel like you had arrived at your final destination, like you'd never want to work for someone else again until...

      Cons

      The dispatchers were more than incompetent at their jobs. At first, I got some decent loads with some really good miles. After the first week though, I started getting regional-haul loads that were constantly load swapped on me. This made it very difficult to make a decent living while paying hefty fees to own/operate that beautiful truck. Even though they told us that we are independent contractors they still treated us like a company driver. In fact, I'd say that the company drivers got some of the better treatment around there. You were able to perform your own trip planning but the loads did not allow for ANY delays at ALL!!! Also when-ever you had any technical problems, ie the reefer unit or flat tires on the trailer, the support was very slow to get your problems resolved. Day and night dispatchers do not communicate with one another so when the sun goes down, your miles will likely change because they really don't have a clue whats going on during the day at all!!! So, to sum it all up for ya, DO NOT WORK FOR THIS COMPANY!!!!! THEY WILL ROB YOU BLIND AND SEND YOU TO THE POOR HOUSE WITH OUT A CARE IN THE WORLD!!! I am not just a disgruntled previous employee who worked there. I'm actually telling you how it REALY is to work for them. I know I'd appreciate it if someone warned me ahead of time. Thank you for reading.

      Continue reading
      3 people found this review helpful
    6. 1.0
      Current Employee, more than 3 years

      do not lease a truck

      Aug 12, 2012 - Anonymous Employee in Olathe, KS
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      i am single and have leasesd a truck from trtansam 3 years. it sucks; worst decision i ever made.

      Cons

      trucks breakdown due to corrosion and repairs not covered by warranty. the e log turns you into a company driver with no benefits. the staff lies constantly. it is a terrible deal.

      Continue reading
      2 people found this review helpful
    7. 2.0
      Current Employee, less than 1 year

      A Total Nightmare...RUN!

      Feb 24, 2015 - Company Driver of 20 Years in Olathe, KS
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      MOST dispatchers and administrative personnel are very cordial

      Cons

      Swaps, in cab cameras, 62 mph, poor communication, lease drivers are treated like gold while company drivers are given the dirty work.

      Continue reading
      1 person found this review helpful
    Viewing 1 - 7 of 7 English Reviews

    Popular Careers with TransAm Trucking Job Seekers

    JobsSalariesInterviews

    Work at TransAm Trucking? Share Your Experiences

    or