TransAm Trucking Employee Reviews about "lease"

Updated Oct 15, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 7 of over 252 reviews

2.9
57%
Recommend to a Friend
83%
Approve of CEO
TransAm Trucking CEO John Jacobson Jr. (no image)
John Jacobson Jr.
98 Ratings

Choose a different language and keep reading other reviews.

Top Review Highlights by Sentiment

Pros
Cons
Pros & Cons are excerpts from user reviews. They are not authored by Glassdoor.

Ratings by Sexual Orientation

This rating reflects the overall rating of TransAm Trucking and is not affected by filters.

Want more demographic options?

Reviews about "lease"

Return to all Reviews
  1. 5.0
    Current Employee, more than 1 year

    Best Truck leasing Program

    Feb 1, 2017 - Owner Operator in Olathe, KS
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    I came to TA after driving 2 years and wanted to lease a truck from TransAm Leasing and drive for TransAm as a Owner Operator. Best decision I ever made !!)

    Cons

    Trucking Driving is a hard job.

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful

    TransAm Trucking Response

    Online Marketing Coordinator

    Thank you for choosing to drive with TransAm Trucking. Truck drivers are very important to not only our company but to the US economy as a whole. Thank you for being a part of this noble profession. We appreciate what you do.

  2. 1.0
    Current Employee, less than 1 year

    Bad pay.

    Oct 15, 2019 - Class A Cdl Truck Driver in Memphis, TN
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Good lease program. Good benefits kind fellow co workers.

    Cons

    No downtime pay for lease operator. Problem with paying drivers. 32 per mile for two years experience.

    Continue reading
    2 people found this review helpful

    TransAm Trucking Response

    Online Marketing Coordinator

    Hi! Thank you for your feedback! We are sorry that your time with us was not up to your expectations. We are confused about your statements. TransAm Trucking does not lease equipment, and currently, our Owner-Operator program starts drivers at $1.04 per mile. Not the $0.32 per mile like you stated. If you feel like you would like to discuss this further, we encourage you to reach out to us! Have a great day!

  3. 1.0
    Current Employee, less than 1 year

    Don't do it

    Jul 27, 2019 - Owner/Operator in Hastings, NE
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Gave me a chance able to lease a truck

    Cons

    Pay sucks, lots of unpaid down time, if I were to stay get paid 100$ one of the 3 checks the rest would be 700-800 max. Waited 17 hours to be unloaded another 24+ to get new load after relay

    Continue reading
    2 people found this review helpful
  4. 1.0
    Former Employee, less than 1 year

    Lease operator

    Nov 15, 2016 - Lease Driver in Olathe, KS
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Pros? I guess they teach you what's like to work for a terrible company. They assured me the truck was in good working condition so I Signed a lease and within 200 miles I broke down and stayed down for 7 days. Had to pay for hotel fees, maintenance, food, and everything else out of pocket before I had made any money with trans am. I came home 5 times in 6 months each time only staying home for 2 days. However that didn't matter I was always in the hole cause they won't give you more than 2800 miles in a week even when u beg for miles.

    Cons

    They lie non stop about everything so they can get freight run basically for free by a driver who is paying their truck payments. You can beg and plead for more miles but you won't get more than 2800 miles. I got 3000 miles in a week 1 time and in my opinion that's just wrong. You should be able to get as many as you can. Dispatch does not care if you get 10 miles or 10000. They don't care about you whatsoever

    Continue reading
    2 people found this review helpful
  5. 4.0
    Current Employee

    If you work hard, don't complain 24/7, and drive like you MEAN it, this is a good company for you.

    Oct 11, 2015 - OTR Driver in Olathe, KS
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Well, all of the non-driver staff I've ever dealt with have been decent people. By that I mean, they're not rude, arrogant, sneaky, etc. They earn a paycheck just like everyone else. They're EXTREMELY helpful when issues arise. A lot of guys get caught up in all the negative hype about T.A. throughout training, and that's honestly their loss. Every company has issues, and judging by my own experiences (here and elsewhere), Trans Am is a lot more willing to fix theirs than most other companies I've seen. The trucks come fully loaded with all the good stuff that makes life away from home more manageable (Refrigerator, Microwave, Direct TV Satellite - Free, etc) . If you're one of those hard-headed old farts that hang out at truck stops and complain about "new fangled ___" you might not like it here because everything about these trucks is tech. lol. Leasing is alright here. No different than any car lot. The trucks usually come with a lot of time left on the warranties, and since you get to pick your own truck, you have the option to say NO to any truck that is undesirable. The leases are all "Walk Away" which means if you don't like it, you can leave with no monetary obligations or hard feelings. Basically, everything here is about a 4/5. Nothing here is absolutely, 110%, holy-crud-this-is-awesome perfect, except for their willingness to fix the things that DO go wrong. On that, they get a 5. :)

    Cons

    In all fairness, I have to name the few things I've had issues with to avoid a lopsided review. So I guess I'll point out that the Treq (mobile communications and log) units are horrible. I think everyone here (drivers and other staff alike) despise the dang Treq. These things are like a $700 smartphone that got hit by a car and currently has amnesia... Slow, bulky, and unreliable. I keep a blank paper log on hand for the day the thing finally "accidentally" goes flying out my window on a bridge. (Totally just kidding, but you get the point.) I think they're looking to upgrade to a new system, but don't hold me to that. That's here-say. The only other thing I have issues with (and this is common in many 7-day a week companies in all industries) is the weekend shifts lack of.... Umph. They're nice, friendly people mind you; they just have a lot more stuff to manage than weekday workers. The handful of them do everything, so they're a little lethargic on occasion, and sometimes their performance and social skills could use... Touching up.

    Continue reading
    16 people found this review helpful
  6. 1.0
    Former Contractor, less than 1 year

    Disappointing Experience - Proceed with Extreme Caution

    Sep 30, 2014 - Driver in Olathe, KS
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Contract drivers get priority in load assignments and will average between 2400 and 3100 miles a week. If you sign a full term lease you can get a brand new truck to drive. A trucks have auxiliary power units, refrigerators, and electronic logs. Nice Kenworth fleet of T700's and T680's. I had a good driver manager.

    Cons

    First, I have read most of the bad reviews on this company and I would boldy confirm that most are true. Even though you get the miles you will not make the money. I'm not sure how they accomplish it, but they do legally by all the waivers and contractual agreements you sign. My first day of getting my brand new 2013 Kenworth T680 was equivalent to my induction day into military basic training. The overall management and policies of the company only benefit the company and not the drivers. There is a ton of smoke and mirrors to paint a pretty picture for new drivers. Also if you are ever a company driver and switch to contract driver you are never allowed to return to company driver status, even if you quit and hire back on. There is a written company policy not allowing it. So don't believe what the recruiters tell you or what you hear at orientation. Upper management and leadership is horrible. You are at there mercy when you drive for them. I must be honest and tell you that I am a very patient and professional driver and had success at TransAm. But it is not a company for the new student, although that's how they market themselves. You must know the industry and proceed with caution if you are to succeed here. Read all the fine print and ask any question you need to make educated decisions. Road assist is very slow should you break down. Forward and rear facing Drivecam cameras are installed in every truck. They record all the time the truck is in motion and up to 4 hours after stopping. However, only a programmed trigger such as an accident, hard break or speeding will trigger it to save a 12 second recording. This recording is only seen by a third party company and TranAm Safety, so they say. Extremely long waits at shippers and receivers with no detention pay for drivers. Long repair times in Olathe. I am college educated, retired and I would not recommend driving for this company unless you have no other options. I am being honest. Beware, the inspection stations I passed through frequently stop TransAm drivers for inspections. I have been told by officers that they pull in most TransAm drivers because of their poor reputation. I never had a write up in an inspection. My equipment and logs were in top shape.

    Continue reading
    8 people found this review helpful
  7. 1.0
    Former Employee, less than 1 year

    Trans Am is the Devil!

    Nov 7, 2013 - OTR Driver in Olathe, KS
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Its a job. If your lucky and dont lease, you may get a check every week.

    Cons

    They cut the balls off the trucks (very slow), and they dont pull worth a hoot in the moutians or any upgrade. The idiots that plan cant find the sky on a sunny day. The dispatch dept. are a bunch of clowns. Always switching loads with no miles.

    Continue reading
    2 people found this review helpful
Viewing 1 - 7 of 7 English Reviews

Popular Careers with TransAm Trucking Job Seekers

JobsSalariesInterviews

Work at TransAm Trucking? Share Your Experiences

or