KEY NOT FOUND: coverImgAlt
Logo
See All Photos

TransAm Trucking

Engaged Employer

TransAm Trucking

Add a Review

TransAm Trucking Employee Reviews about "miles"

Updated Oct 31, 2020

To filter reviews, or .

Found 13 of over 226 reviews

3.2
64%
Recommend to a Friend
74%
Approve of CEO
TransAm Trucking CEO John Jacobson Jr. (no image)
John Jacobson Jr.
94 Ratings
Pros
  • "I averaged 2600 to 3000 miles a week(in 17 reviews)

  • "Newer equipment all with automatic transmission and APU(in 10 reviews)

  • Cons
  • "Night dispatch is a little rough but can’t complain when everyone else talking crazy just makes it hard for others(in 25 reviews)

  • "Breakdowns, pressured to take smaller loads, hold time for dispatch, the hidden itemized deductions, glorified company driver,(in 8 reviews)

  • More Pros and Cons
    Pros & Cons are excerpts from user reviews. They are not authored by Glassdoor.

    Ratings by Sexual Orientation

    This rating reflects the overall rating of TransAm Trucking and is not affected by filters.

    Want more demographic options?

    Reviews about "miles"

    Return to all Reviews
    1. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 1 year

      Great company to work for

      May 8, 2017 - Driver in Olathe, KS
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Driver managers are great (Randall is the best), g reat miles, great home time, they listen to your request and care about what you have to say they alsocare about your safalso, no force dispatch, Kansas has good facilities

      Cons

      Texas facilities need to be updated

      Continue reading
      1 person found this review helpful

      TransAm Trucking Response

      Online Marketing Coordinator

      We appreciate you choosing to be a part of the TransAm Trucking team. Working by our noble purpose is important to our company. Thank you for being a part of it.

    2. 2.0
      Current Employee, less than 1 year

      Much Potebtial

      Oct 31, 2020 - Owner Operator in Olathe, KS
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Newer Equipment APU Units Plenty of miles

      Cons

      Low Pay Too many deductions Lack of direct communication Takes too long to reach office staff directly Trucks Governed below average highway speed limit

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    3. 3.0
      Former Employee, less than 1 year

      Don't listen to all the reviews, the place is not as bad as people say

      Jun 30, 2020 - OTR Driver in Tampa, FL
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Excellent trucks, DM very helpful and communicated well. I averaged 2600 to 3000 miles a week. The miles are there. Very safety oriented.

      Cons

      Just like all large trucking companies contacting anyone by phone is near impossible Trailers are not in the best of shape. Pay could be better but that is a statement you will hear no matter how much money you make. .

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    4. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 3 years

      Great place to build a career

      Feb 8, 2017 - Planner in Olathe, KS
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Truly cares about their people, both in operations and our noble drivers over the road Wants to see everyone succeed and pushes for growth Working in operations I see how important it is to the company to see our drivers succeed. The whole company is dedicated that one mission: helping drivers get the miles they need to be successful.

      Cons

      Job does require a lot of hours as it is a truly 24/7 industry, both over the road and operationally. No major complaints though.

      Be the first to find this review helpful

      TransAm Trucking Response

      Online Marketing Coordinator

      Thank you for sharing your experience with TransAm Trucking. We are glad you have made your career with us. Together, we hope to continue to support our company drivers and independent contractors and further our noble purpose.

    5. 1.0
      Former Contractor, more than 1 year

      should be put out of business for unfair wages.

      Feb 25, 2017 - Owner Operator in Olathe, KS
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      people say they didnt receive miles. i received more than enough miles and worked my butt off. the pay compensation for miles was not worth the time. read my cons below to get the real truth about this company.

      Cons

      no pros with this company. as a contractor owner op. you will be force dispatched or terminated, they will tell you in orientation that people like me who make these reviews are lazy and not determind. i ran 2600 plus miles a week. i did get miles, but the pay never added up. i always drove my 10 hours a day, so after 70 hours a week doing the math out right i made 6-9$ an hour total and that was without minusing my taxes at the end of the year. after taxes i made 3-5$ an hour. do not, i repeat do nottt! work for this company. when the company says you get a fuel surcharge per mile they really mean they pay for some of your fuel but claim on there tax return that they pay for fuel as a tax cut and company expense causing your tax payment at the end of the year to almost be 20% higher and theres to be 20% lower

      Continue reading
      1 person found this review helpful
    6. 5.0
      Current Employee, less than 1 year

      Regional

      Nov 21, 2016 - Regional Driver in Rockwall, TX
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      New equipment and pay is great for the amount of miles driven.

      Cons

      I have been with Trans Am since March of 2016. I came from Swift, so I don't see any Cons. I love Trans Am.

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful

      TransAm Trucking Response

      Online Marketing Coordinator

      Thank you for the feedback. We appreciate you choosing to drive with TransAm Trucking! Make it a safe day.

    7. 1.0
      Former Employee, less than 1 year

      Lease operator

      Nov 15, 2016 - Lease Driver in Olathe, KS
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Pros? I guess they teach you what's like to work for a terrible company. They assured me the truck was in good working condition so I Signed a lease and within 200 miles I broke down and stayed down for 7 days. Had to pay for hotel fees, maintenance, food, and everything else out of pocket before I had made any money with trans am. I came home 5 times in 6 months each time only staying home for 2 days. However that didn't matter I was always in the hole cause they won't give you more than 2800 miles in a week even when u beg for miles.

      Cons

      They lie non stop about everything so they can get freight run basically for free by a driver who is paying their truck payments. You can beg and plead for more miles but you won't get more than 2800 miles. I got 3000 miles in a week 1 time and in my opinion that's just wrong. You should be able to get as many as you can. Dispatch does not care if you get 10 miles or 10000. They don't care about you whatsoever

      Continue reading
      2 people found this review helpful
    8. 1.0
      Current Employee, more than 1 year

      DO NOT SIGN A LEASE AGREEMENT

      Dec 22, 2015 - OTR Driver in Olathe, KS
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Consistent miles of 2500+ per week.

      Cons

      No home time and the lease is not suited for beginner drivers, which the company targets.

      1 person found this review helpful

      TransAm Trucking Response

      Online Marketing Coordinator

      Thank you for voicing your concerns. Input from our company drivers and independent contractors help us keep moving forward.

    9. 1.0
      Former Employee, less than 1 year

      Avoid At All Costs!!!

      Jul 29, 2015 - Professional Truck Driver in Olathe, KS
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      They truly have some of the nicest equipment I have seen from a large trucking company. As a result, the living conditions were much better than most other trucking gigs I've done. I drove a 2014 Kenworth T680. It was brand spanking new with only 14 miles on the odometer. It made you feel like you had arrived at your final destination, like you'd never want to work for someone else again until...

      Cons

      The dispatchers were more than incompetent at their jobs. At first, I got some decent loads with some really good miles. After the first week though, I started getting regional-haul loads that were constantly load swapped on me. This made it very difficult to make a decent living while paying hefty fees to own/operate that beautiful truck. Even though they told us that we are independent contractors they still treated us like a company driver. In fact, I'd say that the company drivers got some of the better treatment around there. You were able to perform your own trip planning but the loads did not allow for ANY delays at ALL!!! Also when-ever you had any technical problems, ie the reefer unit or flat tires on the trailer, the support was very slow to get your problems resolved. Day and night dispatchers do not communicate with one another so when the sun goes down, your miles will likely change because they really don't have a clue whats going on during the day at all!!! So, to sum it all up for ya, DO NOT WORK FOR THIS COMPANY!!!!! THEY WILL ROB YOU BLIND AND SEND YOU TO THE POOR HOUSE WITH OUT A CARE IN THE WORLD!!! I am not just a disgruntled previous employee who worked there. I'm actually telling you how it REALY is to work for them. I know I'd appreciate it if someone warned me ahead of time. Thank you for reading.

      Continue reading
      3 people found this review helpful
    10. 1.0
      Former Contractor, less than 1 year

      Misdirected like hell !!!

      May 4, 2015 - Truck Driver in Holiday, FL
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Nice trucks and you're rolling with no one in your ear constantly . You'll drive plenty of miles .

      Cons

      I should have listened to the warnings about this company and YOU should too !!! I'm not angry though ... #LessonLearned

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    Viewing 1 - 10 of 13 Reviews

    Popular Careers with TransAm Trucking Job Seekers

    JobsSalariesInterviews

    Work at TransAm Trucking? Share Your Experiences

    or