KEY NOT FOUND: coverImgAlt
Logo
See All Photos

TransAm Trucking

Engaged Employer

TransAm Trucking

Add a Review

TransAm Trucking Employee Reviews about "transam"

Updated Sep 19, 2017

To filter reviews, or .

Found 7 of over 252 reviews

2.9
57%
Recommend to a Friend
83%
Approve of CEO
TransAm Trucking CEO John Jacobson Jr. (no image)
John Jacobson Jr.
98 Ratings

Choose a different language and keep reading other reviews.

Top Review Highlights by Sentiment

Pros
Cons
Pros & Cons are excerpts from user reviews. They are not authored by Glassdoor.

Ratings by Sexual Orientation

This rating reflects the overall rating of TransAm Trucking and is not affected by filters.

Want more demographic options?

Reviews about "transam"

Return to all Reviews
  1. 1.0
    Current Employee, less than 1 year

    Company Driver

    Oct 31, 2015 - Company Driver in Olathe, KS
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    They hired me, recruiting and orientation were streamlined. Trucks have Apus, inverters, directTV. Recruiting told tall tales but there's no accountability for them once you're in orientation, or on the road.

    Cons

    As a driver, I do more waiting for a load than driving. This is a stepping stone, a starter company, a place to build experience. Although low mileage means low income, it also gives you fewer opportunities to get into an accident, the benefit is more about allowing months to pass without incident so better opportunities will become available. A lot of unpaid time is spent by driver to take care of the reefer at the expense to him of covering miles, such as trailer washouts, refueling reefer, and waiting on shipper or receiver to be ready to load or unload. For days at a time I sit in origin and destination cities, without layover pay since I've been dispatched, but at least the clock toward better jobs still ticks. Transam leasing and trucking are two separate companies under the same roof. Leasing exists to hook the driver on a brand new truck payment, trucking gives him just enough miles to squeak by with his bills to leasing paid. The lease cpm is very low, and company drivers clean up the mess of undesirable loads. They screw you any chance you give them, hometime is available if a high enough percentage of the fleet is not already down. I'm hurrying out since they're saying I can't take thanksgiving off, although I'm a month in with no hometime yet. Horrible horrible horrible, except that the driver gets driving experience.

    Continue reading
    6 people found this review helpful
  2. 1.0
    Former Employee, less than 1 year

    bad company to work for

    Jun 29, 2015 - OTR Driver, Contractor in Olathe, KS
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    easy to get in. all new driver qualify.

    Cons

    1. use fake story to let you sign lease and then you take all the consquences, including dispatchers/driver manager's fault. They can send wrong appointment and let you drive additional miles at you cost. If you contact transam because the load will not ready in next day, then never expect anyone respond you. 2. refused to pay detention fee as required by Growth America Act (2014), so dispatcher/driver managers can do whatever to waste drivers' time. such as unnessary swap and sometimes malicious arrangement to let you wait a few days. 3. trailers are always bad condition, had 4 bad trailer in one week. You have to driver additionalk miles to fix the reefer at your own cost as contractor. 4. dispatchor/driver managers are rude and like to lie in order to let you accept bad loads. they also like to make last minute change and force you to accept it because you committed the original plan. 5.steal mileage. there is always big difference between paid mile and shortest route by GPS, some times paid mileage may be shorter than air mile (such as OH to IA, there is always 100+ less miles paid than shortest route). if your home is between destination and next pickup and you want go home, the mileage before your home is not paid.(verified by Paul Jackson, it is company policy)

    Continue reading
    1 person found this review helpful
  3. 1.0
    Former Contractor, more than 1 year

    Very Bad Company!!

    Mar 16, 2017 - Independent Contractor in Olathe, KS
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Nice trucks for Independent Contractors.

    Cons

    Where do I start? They try their best to con you into leasing a truck. If you fall for it, just know that you will never be able to go home without being broke for two weeks. The Lease Payments are too high and you won't get enough miles to cover it unless you NEVER GO HOME. Every truck has a camera in it because they want to put the blame on the drivers for anything and everything that goes wrong. Most of the Driver Managers are clueless. I had to fire two Driver Managers until I found a decent one. They don't pay Detention Pay and you will sit at shippers for 24 or more hours sometimes. Just about every policy they have is designed to take money out of the Driver's pockets. Also, if you lease a truck, just know that you will owe the IRS between $5,000 and $10,000 by the end of the year and that's whether you actually made a profit or not!!! I've been a Truck Driver for 4 years now and TransAm is by far the WORST Company that I have worked for!! BY FAR!!

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful
  4. 2.0
    Current Employee, less than 1 year

    Don't sign Lease

    Apr 12, 2014 - OTR Driver in Olathe, KS
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Constant work, ok company to start with if you have no experience and want to drive an automatic

    Cons

    Most trailers I came across had DOT violations and needed repairs. I lost a lot of time waiting to fix broken equipment. The company is so big that management don't communicate with each other which can leave you stranded in the middle of no were like I was. On that note if there is a problem with your paperwork and they put a hold on your gas card they won't be able to tell you who put the hold on you. You have to wait until you are routed back to Olathe KS and get in there face to get resolution. If you are a minority and want to take a shower at the Olathe KS plan on waiting 20 to 30 mins on the dispatchers to get off there butts and hand you a key or even acknowledge you in the room. Dispatches can and will flood you with never ending message request regardless when you are off or on duty. They will lose paper work and even with conformation numbers you will find yourself stop the truck over and over again to send paperwork even if you are off duty fast asleep. Don't sign the lease you will talk all the risk without the benefit of profit. I was lucky I thought I would be a good person and give 3 weeks notice well on the way to return their truck I had engine problems that had me stuck at Kenworth for 3 days then I ran over something in the road that got a gash in my tire so I had to replace it since it was DOT Blitz was going on. A few weeks later I got stuck with $1,600 bill from TransAm for the tire and low miles. They sent a letter forgiving the debt but resent a letter saying I owe the debt still. Again TransAm too big for its Drivers.

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful
  5. 1.0
    Current Employee, more than 1 year

    Run Away! Better Options Out There!

    Aug 9, 2015 - Customer Service Representative in Olathe, KS
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    They have bathrooms. Seriously, nothing positive to say here.

    Cons

    TransAm Truck is not a good place to work. I was told to do whatever it takes to penalize a driver although is son and wife were killed in a car crash. As a company, we should have done something to help him but instead it's like the saying "beat someone when they are already down." I'm looking for a new job as I type this cause enough is enough!

    Continue reading
    6 people found this review helpful
  6. 1.0
    Former Contractor, less than 1 year

    Disappointing Experience - Proceed with Extreme Caution

    Sep 30, 2014 - Driver in Olathe, KS
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Contract drivers get priority in load assignments and will average between 2400 and 3100 miles a week. If you sign a full term lease you can get a brand new truck to drive. A trucks have auxiliary power units, refrigerators, and electronic logs. Nice Kenworth fleet of T700's and T680's. I had a good driver manager.

    Cons

    First, I have read most of the bad reviews on this company and I would boldy confirm that most are true. Even though you get the miles you will not make the money. I'm not sure how they accomplish it, but they do legally by all the waivers and contractual agreements you sign. My first day of getting my brand new 2013 Kenworth T680 was equivalent to my induction day into military basic training. The overall management and policies of the company only benefit the company and not the drivers. There is a ton of smoke and mirrors to paint a pretty picture for new drivers. Also if you are ever a company driver and switch to contract driver you are never allowed to return to company driver status, even if you quit and hire back on. There is a written company policy not allowing it. So don't believe what the recruiters tell you or what you hear at orientation. Upper management and leadership is horrible. You are at there mercy when you drive for them. I must be honest and tell you that I am a very patient and professional driver and had success at TransAm. But it is not a company for the new student, although that's how they market themselves. You must know the industry and proceed with caution if you are to succeed here. Read all the fine print and ask any question you need to make educated decisions. Road assist is very slow should you break down. Forward and rear facing Drivecam cameras are installed in every truck. They record all the time the truck is in motion and up to 4 hours after stopping. However, only a programmed trigger such as an accident, hard break or speeding will trigger it to save a 12 second recording. This recording is only seen by a third party company and TranAm Safety, so they say. Extremely long waits at shippers and receivers with no detention pay for drivers. Long repair times in Olathe. I am college educated, retired and I would not recommend driving for this company unless you have no other options. I am being honest. Beware, the inspection stations I passed through frequently stop TransAm drivers for inspections. I have been told by officers that they pull in most TransAm drivers because of their poor reputation. I never had a write up in an inspection. My equipment and logs were in top shape.

    Continue reading
    8 people found this review helpful
  7. 1.0
    Current Contractor, less than 1 year

    Bad DMs who don't care about Drivers!

    Sep 19, 2017 - Independent Contractor in Olathe, KS
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Step up in the Trucking industry

    Cons

    Always sending drivers who don't want to go into any East Coast states into to these dang States. They say Contract Drivers can deny a Load, but in reality, they can't. I've been with TransAm for a month and have yet to see a paycheck so I can pay my own bills back home, take a shower, feed myself while out here, and to purchase personal hygiene for myself.

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful

    TransAm Trucking Response

    Online Marketing Coordinator

    TransAm Trucking is a long-haul, refrigerated carrier that runs loads from the middle of the country to the East Coast. We want to keep you moving so you can make money. We want to work with you to help you achieve your goals. Please contact your Driver Manager to discuss how we can better work for you. Thank you and make it a safe day.

Viewing 1 - 7 of 7 English Reviews

Popular Careers with TransAm Trucking Job Seekers

JobsSalariesInterviews

Work at TransAm Trucking? Share Your Experiences

or

Company Updates

Logo

TransAm Trucking

203 days ago

Culture
Today, the U.S. Environmental Protection Agency (EPA) is honoring TransAm Trucking as an industry leader in supply chain, environmental, and energy efficiency with its annual SmartWay Excellence Awards.
Shared image - U.S. EPA Recognizes Freight Industry Leaders for Environmental Performance | US EPA
U.S. EPA Recognizes Freight Industry Leaders for Environmental Performance | US EPA
www.epa.gov

TransAm Trucking Photos

+ Add Photo
TransAm Trucking photo of: Top-of-the-Line Equipment
TransAm Trucking photo of: TransAm Olathe
TransAm Trucking photo of: TransAm Driver
TransAm Trucking photo of: TransAm Training & Development
TransAm Trucking photo of: TransAm Truck
TransAm Trucking photo of: We are proud to announce that company driver Elwin Hines Sr. received first place in the For-Hire Trucking category at the annual Lytx, Inc. Driver of the Year Awards!
TransAm Trucking photo of: We are excited to recognize Bobbie Neal for the 25 years of driving with TransAm Trucking! Thank you, Bobbie, for everything you do.
See All Photos