TransUnion Reviews | Glassdoor

TransUnion Reviews

Updated September 9, 2017
332 reviews

Filter

Filter

Current Employees

3.8
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
Recommend to a friend
Approve of CEO
TransUnion President Jim Peck
Jim Peck
188 Ratings

332 Employee Reviews

Sort: PopularRatingDate

Pros
Cons
  • Work life balance can be a challenge this had led to working long hours at times but we are defiantly rewarded (in 26 reviews)

  • Abusive languages are used by middle and senior management towards their counterparts (in 17 reviews)

More Pros and Cons

  1. Featured Review

    Helpful (14)

    "Positive culture and amazing benefits"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at TransUnion full-time (More than 3 years)

    Pros

    After spending my early career at small and mid-size companies, I'm so appreciative of the kind of benefits a company the size of TransUnion can offer. Our health insurance covers virtually everything I need, I got 12 weeks of maternity leave fully paid, the 401k plan is great. They even offer pet insurance!

    Beyond the benefits plan, I'm legitimately happy here. My colleagues are fun and respectful, my manager is supportive, I rarely work more than 40 hours, and I truly feel that my contributions are recognized and appreciated.

    Cons

    It's challenging to think of any besides some of the "red tape" associated with working through processes at a large company. Certain processes like getting contracts signed or budget approvals are very formal and time consuming

    TransUnion Response

    Apr 19, 2017 – Global Talent Attraction and Engagement Manager

    We love seeing your positive experience as a TU associate - thank you for sharing a review! TransUnion values your opinion and takes feedback seriously.


  2. "Best company to work for!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Analyst in Boca Raton, FL
    Current Employee - Analyst in Boca Raton, FL
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at TransUnion full-time (Less than a year)

    Pros

    They care about the employees, benefits are wonderful, managers are involved and always ready to help. The work is interesting and the people/ culture makes me feel right at home. I LOVE working at TransUnion!

    Cons

    None- best company I have ever worked for.

    Advice to Management

    None- management is wonderful and is always working hard to keep employees engaged and happy.

    TransUnion Response

    Sep 1, 2017 – Global Talent Attraction and Engagement Manager

    It’s exciting to hear how passionate you are about working at TU! Thanks for sharing your review.

  3. "Good workplace environment"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at TransUnion full-time

    Pros

    A good team leadership and executive leadership

    Cons

    Based on work, Slow growth in organization

    TransUnion Response

    Sep 1, 2017 – Global Talent Attraction and Engagement Manager

    Thank you for sharing your review – TransUnion values your feedback.


  4. "Sales Support Rep"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Sales Support Representative in Crum Lynne, PA
    Current Employee - Sales Support Representative in Crum Lynne, PA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at TransUnion full-time (Less than a year)

    Pros

    The positive atmosphere, sense of teamwork

    Cons

    I can give no cons

    Advice to Management

    Keep up the great work, continue to value your employees the way you do it truly does make a difference and it matters.

    TransUnion Response

    Sep 1, 2017 – Global Talent Attraction and Engagement Manager

    We love seeing your positive experience as a TransUnion associate! Thank you for finding time to write a review.


  5. "Five years at TransUnion and very happy."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at TransUnion full-time

    Pros

    Great Benefits and people are resourceful

    Cons

    There is no exact structure to career developement, but there is a lot of opportunity if you search for the structure that supports your development.

    TransUnion Response

    Sep 1, 2017 – Global Talent Attraction and Engagement Manager

    Thank you for sharing your review – TransUnion values your feedback.


  6. Helpful (1)

    "Not a bad place to work but I can't say its the best either."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at TransUnion full-time (More than 10 years)

    Pros

    The benefits are pretty good, and I believe you're eligible after 30 days. They do try to do a good amount of events, both business related and socially. The current CEO is the best we've had since I've been here. No matter the department I've always loved the people I work with.

    Cons

    Depending on the department you are in you could feel micromanaged and like you're being treated like a child. HR is not here for the employee they are here for the company so it doesn't matter if your manager is clearly treating you different and unfairly in comparison to your coworkers and you go to them to report it, the manager will always come out on top.

    Advice to Management

    Offer more incentives, treat the associates the way you expect them to treat you. Set an example, if you tell an associate not to do something, then dont do it yourself. The do as i say not as i do attitude does not help morale.


  7. "Transforming every day"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Director in Chicago, IL
    Current Employee - Senior Director in Chicago, IL
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at TransUnion full-time (More than 10 years)

    Pros

    Amazing tech, great leadership, solid culture.

    Cons

    So. Much. Change.

    TransUnion Response

    Sep 1, 2017 – Global Talent Attraction and Engagement Manager

    Thanks for sharing your feedback!

  8. "Sr. Director"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at TransUnion full-time

    Pros

    Good medical and dental benefits
    Competitive salary

    Cons

    Continual stress of resource constraints

    TransUnion Response

    Aug 11, 2017 – Global Talent Attraction and Engagement Manager

    Thank you for sharing your review – TransUnion values your feedback.


  9. Helpful (2)

    "Great place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Process Consultant in Chicago, IL
    Current Employee - Process Consultant in Chicago, IL
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at TransUnion full-time (More than 10 years)

    Pros

    I've been at TU for almost 14 years now, and my overall experience has been very positive. Yes, I've had to take on a few roles in the past that I wasn't fond of, but that's part of being an employee of a large company. Mostly though, I've been given great opportunities to expand my skillset, advance my career, all while working with some really fun and amazing people. I also love all of the Networking Resource Groups that have started up over the past few years, allowing us to network with more associates, take part in fun activities, learn new skills, attend special guest speaker events, while also getting the opportunity to be part of their Leadership Teams; talk about a great way to gain valuable management / leadership experience.

    Cons

    Like any large company, communication and collaboration could be improved. TU has taken on a lot of initiatives lately to address this, which has really positively impacted our overall communication between teams, creating a more 'teamwork'-type mindset.

    At times, being asked to step in and fill other roles outside your responsibilities, to fill a gap; and usually that role is not a 'fun' one.

    I'd also say, right now, a lot of us are overwhelmed with our workloads, due to all of the (great) initiatives we're undertaking. This has made our jobs more stressful, and more difficult to create a stable work / life balance.

    Advice to Management

    Better resource planning as we embark on new initiatives; need to hire additional resources sooner to allow adequate time for new-hire ramp-up

    Leverage NRG training (e.g. Excel, Strategic Thinking) programs for roll-out to the entire organization to enhance our skillsets

    TransUnion Response

    Aug 11, 2017 – Global Talent Attraction and Engagement Manager

    Thank you for 13 years at TransUnion. It’s exciting to hear how passionate you are about working at TU! Your feedback is important to TU, so thank you for taking time to write a review.


  10. "Amazingly empowering place to be!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Vice President in Chicago, IL
    Current Employee - Vice President in Chicago, IL
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at TransUnion full-time (More than 3 years)

    Pros

    Great and smart people who can make work fun
    Very interesting work
    Opportunities to influence both big and small
    Impact to the world in how we support information for good!
    Company shares the financial results with employees in extra days off and company performance based bonuses, profit sharing and regular benefit upgrades!

    Cons

    So much to do and still try to integrate work and life - but it is possible with wfh, optimizing resources, innovating and connecting to purpose!

    Advice to Management

    Thank you for your leadership! Keep it going!

    TransUnion Response

    Aug 11, 2017 – Global Talent Attraction and Engagement Manager

    Wow! What a positive review. TransUnion works hard to give its associates meaningful work, so I’m glad to hear it listed as a pro. Thank you for sharing your experience!


Showing 332 of 528 reviews
Reset Filters