Transamerica Reinsurance Reviews | Glassdoor

Transamerica Reinsurance Reviews

Updated Aug 25, 2016

To filter reviews, or .

Found 8 reviews

3.8
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
72%
Recommend to a Friend
100%
Approve of CEO
Paul E. Rutledge III
2 Ratings
  1. "Freelance agent"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Freelance Agent in San Jose, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Transamerica Reinsurance for more than a year

    Pros

    Flexible time Good Pay Helpful knowledge base

    Cons

    Too many products Marketing can help agents

    Transamerica Reinsurance2016-08-25
  2. "Snnette Kim Singletary - Administrative Assistant to SVP"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Administrative Assistant in Harrisburg, NC
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Transamerica Reinsurance full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    A strong and stable organization under the management of Paul Rutledge. II was employed in 2007. The working environment comforting, rewarding, enjoyable n upon the company relocation from California under

    Cons

    With our society advancing into the new millennium and technology changing dramatically, WE as individuals, companies, organizations, financial institutions, political officials, government, to Senate, House of Representative and Congress need to bring back COMPANY LOYALTY to ALL fellow man, women, worker and citizens who give of their loyalty to help improve status, rating, or revenue of organizations with years of...

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Sadden by the sale of Transamerica Reinsurance Co. to SCOR Global Life in 2012. I continued on as Administrative Assistant and due to corporate restructure along with 15 of my other co-workers not under the management of Mr.Paul Rutledge.

    Transamerica Reinsurance2016-03-11
  3. "Director"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Director in Charlotte, NC
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Transamerica Reinsurance full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Very good company. Very nice people to work with. Get appreciation always.

    Cons

    Job seems to be boring and there are not a lot of new stuff to learn. Low cost of living area.

    Advice to Management

    Continue treating people well. Try to have two way annual performance review. Promotion should be given more often.

    Transamerica Reinsurance2015-08-21
  4. "Analyst"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Senior Analyst in Charlotte, NC
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I worked at Transamerica Reinsurance full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    They pay well for the demanding workload and rotating priorities you will have heaped on your desk. The managers past and present are sharp, driven professionals and the level of skill and will goes up a level from the division C suite to the headquarters in Paris. If you're already an experienced finance/actuarial professional with a very thick skin and no fear of mixing it up, you will thrive.

    Cons

    It's an anxious environment to start your career, or segue into the life (re)insurance segment. If you are an actuarial student you will get support but you will get an immediate preview of the work of assigning risk-adjusted dollar value to human life. Turnover among my colleagues was insane; I probably know more ex-Transamerica/SGLA people than incumbents at this point. Historically, middle managers have all the...

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Be consistent in both expectations and consequences. Actually have consequences, both rewards and sanctions. Last bit: Follow one of the better pieces of both Sun Tzu's and Machiavelli's counsels: Don't delay an inevitable confrontation; it's just another form of wasting everyone's time. Other than that, keep producing great services as I know you will.

    Transamerica Reinsurance2015-04-30
  5. "Small decentralized business unit of larger insurer"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Manager in Charlotte, NC
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Transamerica Reinsurance full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    very good benefits, (401k, pension, healthcare, bonus), salary good, nice location - great to be able to walk around uptown at lunch.

    Cons

    small unit, so not much room for advancement

    Advice to Management

    too micromanaged, employees need more freedom to act

    Transamerica Reinsurance2014-01-19
  6. "run away"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Consultant in New York, NY
    Doesn't Recommend
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Transamerica Reinsurance

    Pros

    Fexible work hours and free tea

    Cons

    Very poor communication skill from managers leaves lots to be desire Never see such a poor directive and lack of skills If you work in IT stay away

    Advice to Management

    Teach your management some skills Very poor communication skill from managers leaves lots to be desire Never see such a poor directive and lack of skills

    Transamerica Reinsurance2011-11-23
  7. Helpful (1)

    "A Stepping Stone"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Charlotte, NC
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Transamerica Reinsurance

    Pros

    - opportunity to work alongside very experienced and accomplished people - summer hours (if we're not in a recession) - good place to start off a career and gain experience - fair to employees

    Cons

    - little training is given to new hires - poor communication amongst departments - be prepared to get involved in office politics if you want to advance within the company - often feels as though one person is making all of the decisions - for a company with as many brilliant minds as TARe they fall short on mentoring and teaching - HR department not very in touch with the employees

    Advice to Management

    Take the time to assess the strengths of the employees and harness those strengths as well as provide support for weaknesses. Set realistic expectations instead of unrealistic ones which set people up for failure.

    Transamerica Reinsurance2010-05-12
  8. "fine"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Data Analyst in
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Transamerica Reinsurance

    Pros

    it is a convenient place to work

    Cons

    reinsurance is a changing environment

    Advice to Management

    n/a

    Transamerica Reinsurance2011-06-09
Found 8 reviews