TranscribeMe Transcriptionist Reviews | Glassdoor

TranscribeMe Transcriptionist Reviews

Updated 18 Sep 2019

To filter reviews, or .

2.8
53%
Recommend to a Friend
90%
Approve of CEO
TranscribeMe CEO Alexei Dunayev (no image)
Alexei Dunayev
15 Ratings
  1. Helpful (12)

    "Transcriptionist"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Transcriptionist in Front Royal, VA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at TranscribeMe full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Flexible schedule, great environment, room to grow

    Cons

    Low pay AT FIRST, need the motivation to get great pay

    TranscribeMe2018-06-27
  2. Helpful (2)

    "No work available to me to this day"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Freelancer - Transcriptionist in San Francisco, CA
    Doesn't Recommend

    I worked at TranscribeMe for less than a year

    Pros

    I wish I had some pro's, but no.

    Cons

    I passed my tedious transcribe me exam about two months ago, on my second attempt. I was thrilled to have passed, but since then till today, I have no had one single piece of work made available to me. Every time I've logged in, there's a message that says all work is currently assigned please try again later. After millions of tries, at different times, different days, different instances, I still haven't got any... work at all. Truly disappointing. I have since moved on to another transcription company, no tedious exam, and I had work the very first day and every other time I've wanted to work.

    Show More
    TranscribeMe2019-09-18
  3. "Good side job!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Freelancer - Transcriptionist 

    I have been working at TranscribeMe for more than a year

    Pros

    Kept me keen on English grammar and typing, good review for humanities grads

    Cons

    Not much work on a basic level

    TranscribeMe2019-07-29
  4. "No Jobs"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    Current Freelancer - Transcriptionist 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at TranscribeMe for less than a year

    Pros

    Can't think of any because I've been signed up for over a week now and still haven't seen any jobs available.

    Cons

    See above. Also, for a place that is so strict on perfection (so much that they'll fail your exam if you miss ONE question), you'd think they'd give their transcriptionists an incentive to do better work by paying decently but no. This place seems almost as bad as Rev.

    TranscribeMe2019-07-14
  5. "Three Months Without Getting Paid"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Freelancer - Transcriptionist in Denver, CO
    Doesn't Recommend

    I worked at TranscribeMe for less than a year

    Pros

    Transcription itself can be fun

    Cons

    I MADE LESS THAN $5. Which means I made $0, because there's a minimum amount necessary to actually cash out. There aren't ever any files to work on. I think there is a $20 minimum to cash out, and I never made it to $5. IN THREE MONTHS. I would check with the site several times a day and maybe once a week I would get four minutes of audio to transcribe. I tried to take more tests so that I could qualify for other... files, but I just couldn't get the 100% accuracy you need to pass (you have to wait two days before re-testing). You can't access some tests without passing others, which seems kind of silly because people have different familiarity levels with different varieties of English. The audio you're given is broken into four-minute pieces, so you can't make more than a few cents on a piece. Which would be fine if you could work on like 10 in a row, but I never got more than four. It's impossible to make money here. I wasted time here that I could have used making money with a different online transcription company.

    Show More
    TranscribeMe2019-07-13
  6. "Not worth it."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Freelancer - Transcriptionist 

    I have been working at TranscribeMe

    Pros

    It's easy to sign up for literally anyone.

    Cons

    The exam process is excessive and long, and you get paid by how much you transcribe, not how long you work.

    TranscribeMe2019-06-03
  7. "Good for college students and to improve typing skills."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Freelancer - Transcriptionist 

    I worked at TranscribeMe

    Pros

    Easy money Can work at anytime

    Cons

    Hard to advance to QA level

    TranscribeMe2019-04-16
  8. "Needs to gauge when Transcription help is needed"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Culture & Values
    Current Freelancer - Transcriptionist 
    Doesn't Recommend

    I have been working at TranscribeMe for less than a year

    Pros

    No pros as yet

    Cons

    I spent over 5 hours studying and taking their exam, only to pass and not have any jobs/work for over a week now. They need to more accurately gauge when they need more staff...

    Advice to Management

    Update website when Transcriptionists are really needed -

    TranscribeMe2019-01-31
  9. Helpful (8)

    "Ridiculous Policy"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Transcriptionist 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at TranscribeMe part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    I can't think of any honestly

    Cons

    Refused to work with me when I accidentally created a second account five years after creating my first one. Wouldn't even deactivate the first one, just refused to ever work with me again. Their loss, plenty companies pay much more believe me.

    Advice to Management

    Actually work with potential employees that are trying very hard to be a part of your team instead of outright refusing to.

    TranscribeMe2019-02-14
  10. Helpful (1)

    "Flexibility, nice people"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Contractor - Transcriptionist in Olympia, WA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at TranscribeMe for more than a year

    Pros

    The biggest plus is the flexibility, and the second biggest is the community of supportive people who connect via Yammer.

    Cons

    It's very difficult to make even as much as minimum wage doing this job. If you're very good at transcribing, you can get on special teams or be promoted to QA and Reviewer and make more money that way.

    Advice to Management

    No advice, really. This is a small niche service (low-cost transcription) and it serves its customer base by charging very low rates, hence low cost of labor.

    TranscribeMe2018-08-15
Found 37 reviews