TransferWise Reviews

Updated Jun 3, 2020

To filter reviews, or .
4.6
89%
Recommend to a Friend
94%
Approve of CEO
TransferWise CEO Kristo Käärman
Kristo Käärman
252 Ratings
Pros
  • "Fast paced work environment teaches skills that may otherwise take much longer(in 51 reviews)

  • "Great people that you get to work with(in 22 reviews)

Cons
  • "Autonomous teams means that often you need to "lobby" with other teams to get things done(in 30 reviews)

  • "Cross-team efforts are not so easy to coordinate as all teams are autonomous(in 10 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "A Special Place to Work"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Customer Support in Tampa, FL
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at TransferWise full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great place to work, very supportive, everyone is willing to help out when you need help.

    Cons

    Pay, but buoyed by advancement opportunity if you work hard.

    TransferWise2020-05-12
  2. Helpful (3)

    "Great in the beginning but..."

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Customer Support Associate in Tampa, FL
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at TransferWise full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Lots of PTO Great insurance Fun people

    Cons

    Micro-management Just another call center job Too much emphasis on numbers not results

    Continue reading
    TransferWise2020-05-27
  3. Helpful (2)

    "Please increase salary overall"

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Customer Support in Tampa, FL
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at TransferWise full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    PTO, STOCKS, Medical are amazing.... But unfortunately they don't pay bills

    Cons

    You start at 14/ hour hard to believe but is true... after tax and 401k + medical goes to 10....

    Continue reading
    TransferWise2020-05-25
  4. Helpful (5)

    "Good Company...But Happy To Be Out!"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Manager in New York, NY
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at TransferWise full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    international travel mission driven startup great and smart employees

    Cons

    Bad management. TransferWise has given all of the top opportunities to the wrong people. Ones who have been with the company since it's early days but really have no idea what they are doing. Leadership and management are threatened by scrappy smart colleagues and will do anything to push them out and have them get fired. I was fired and was one of the top performing individuals in the marketing department. All because my boss didn't like me as a person after being initially obsessed with me in the interview/early months of me being there. Major turnover in the NYC and London offices. Experienced sexual harassment during Summer Days. Reported it and nothing happened or was addressed. Racist CEO and leadership team from Eastern Europe who have never seen black, gay or any diverse people in their life. LOW SALARY. Get with the times - this isn't a nonprofit, so stop acting like it.

    Continue reading
    TransferWise2020-04-29

    TransferWise Response

    April 30, 2020Chief People Officer

    Hi, thanks for your review. I’m really sad to hear this was your experience with us. We absolutely don’t tolerate bullying, harassment or any behaviour, of any kind, that makes our people feel excluded and unwelcome. I would really like to hear more about your particular experiences, so we can get to the bottom of what happened. If you’re up for a confidential chat, please email employerbrand@transferwise.com and the team will connect us. When it comes to salary, we review salary ranges globally at least every 12 months and for some roles more often. As you know, in addition to salary we offer competitive stock options for all employees to share in the long term success of our company. There are many teams in TransferWise that work as a team rather than a group of individuals, and it's sad to hear you left without that experience. I do hope you were able to pass on your feedback before you left. As I said, if you're up for a conversation, I’d like to hear more about your particular experience. Please do get in contact. Thanks, Ross

  5. Helpful (4)

    "What's it like working at Transferwise?"

    2.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Senior KYC Specialist in Tampa, FL
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook

    I worked at TransferWise full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Limitless positive energy from executive management. Free trip to Estonia every summer.

    Cons

    Imagine working in the same role for two years, only to learn that your wage increases were only the result of the entry level pay for your role being raised. Imagine training new employees who are being paid the same wage as you, after having been with the company for years. Imagine having no immediate manager to champion your concerns. You have to handle it yourself and pray that middle management remembers you, amidst their own dysfunction. What's it like working at Transferwise? Just like working anywhere else.

    Continue reading
    TransferWise2020-05-06

    TransferWise Response

    May 12, 2020Chief People Officer

    Thanks for sharing your honest feedback, it's really important to us and helps us as we continue to build TransferWise for the future. I'm sorry to hear you felt this way about your time at TransferWise. We're regularly reviewing our salary ranges to ensure they continue to be competitive and we review salary ranges for all employees globally at least every 12 months. As you know in addition to salary we offer competitive stock options for all employees to share in the long term success in the company. We have an open feedback culture so we hope you felt able to share this feedback with your team lead or a member of the People Team when you were with us. Any other info or feedback you'd like to share with us can help us improve our culture and would be much appreciated. If you’re up for a confidential chat, please email employerbrand@transferwise.com and the team will connect us. Thanks, Ross

  6. Helpful (1)

    "ops specialist"

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Operations Specialist in Tampa, FL
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at TransferWise full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    No micromanaging on the office

    Cons

    Management with no direction or outlook

    TransferWise2020-04-28
  7. Helpful (3)

    "Good benefits, but don't motivate their employees"

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Compusa in Tampa, FL
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at TransferWise full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Health insurance, stocks, PTOs, free food (snacks and lunch - once a week)

    Cons

    Bad salaries, horrible management, full and noisy office

    TransferWise2020-02-03
  8. "Compliance"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Compliance Officer 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at TransferWise full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Strong compliance program, collaborative work environment, high opportunity for self- and career development, smart coworkers with great personalities

    Cons

    Not really a con, but I'm required. Environment is fast-paced--mastering work requires subject matter expertise, good problem-solving skills, great communication skills, instinct for process development, and facility for relationship building. Challenging, but very engaging and fun.

    TransferWise2020-01-23
  9. Helpful (5)

    "Not as good as it once was"

    2.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Kyc Specialist in Tampa, FL
    Negative Outlook

    I have been working at TransferWise full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Health and dental benefits International travel to Estonia

    Cons

    Has become more corporate with hierarchy like any other company and offering less flexibility, but with low to average compensation in the industry

    Continue reading
    TransferWise2020-01-28
  10. "Excellent learning environment"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Public Relations in New York, NY
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at TransferWise part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Smart co-workers Helpful atmosphere Thoughtful, inclusive team

    Cons

    Lack of direction at times as they believe in 'autonomous teams' and self-starters People can work in silos

    Continue reading
    TransferWise2019-12-18
Found 429 reviews